We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and safe walk to Fatima Shrine”
Review of Lux Fatima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lux Fatima Hotel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easy and safe walk to Fatima Shrine”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

For those of you there to see the Fatima Shrine, it was a pleasantly short walk. This made it easy to go to all the activities, especially the night procession. I felt very safe. I stayed for two nights on the second floor. I was with a pilgrimage group (of 40) from the United States. The front desk wasn't very friendly upon arrival and throughout the stay. It was difficult for them to handle such a large group. They did give us instructions on how to use the shower, otherwise it would have been impossible to turn on. Also, in this hotel you must leave your room key in a defined slot for the lights to come on. Needless to say I left my key in the room (locked myself out), and the front desk was not happy. Size of the room was good for a short stay and the bed was very comfortable. If you are rooming with another person, the twin beds are together. The cleaning crew was excellent, keeping the room always squeeky clean! We had breakfast and dinner at this hotel each day of our stay. Breakfast was pretty standard with scrambled eggs and bacon - very good for a traveler. Dinner was excellent with a Cod casserole that was exceptional. Service in the dining room was very good overall. The best part of this hotel was location, location, location! The front desk personnel need additional training on how to greet and treat their hotel guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
38
46
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fareham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for only one night as part of a coach trip. If you are of a pilgrim and of religious mind, this hotel is ideally situated, being a very easy five to ten minutes walk from the main shrine square and church area. The hotel seems newish.
We had a buffet breakfast and evening meal. These were adequate, no more, served up along one side of the dining area in a rather cramped, unappealing sort of way.
The hotel ( and hence reception ) were situated a little way back from the main road amongst a shopping area. For us, as part of a coach trip, this presented no problems with cases, but I'm not too sure how independant travellers would cope. There was a lot for road work and re-development going on in and around. This seemed to make parking difficult. We experienced some slight problems getting ourseleves and our bags onto the coach in the morning. I am unsure if the hotel has a car park.
The room was was a fair size and reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Lux is one of a rash of new hotels in Fatima near the shrine. It felt as though it had been built to a very tight budget. Our room was very small (one of those where you both had to breath in before contemplating squeezing past each other). The walls were very thin as you could hear clearly any conversation going on in the corridor outside even if no voices were raised.

We were told by our driver (Shearings coach tour) that we couldn't check in before 4pm which I found strange as usual check in time is 2pm or before. Didn't query when we got there but it might be worth checking if you intend to arrive early.

There was a good choice at dinner and at breakfast too even if the food itself wasn't up to 4 star standard.

Noting earlier comments I would say that it was well located in relation to the shrine even if some of the footpaths were hazardous due to work going on to complete them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Overall I am happy with my stay at this hotel. The room was always clean -- the bathroom very nice and clean. Food was very good in the restaurant. Good breakfast included. My only minor complaint -- they charge you to use the computer in the business center. (Seriously? They can't just let us use that computer for free??) It is a short walk to the sanctuary. (Not a hard walk but older folks or those who have trouble walking, or those pushing someone else in a wheelchair may prefer some of the closer hotels that are literally across the street from the entrance to the sanctuary.) Also a short 5 or 10 minute walk to the train stop. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBeagle1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is quite modern with clean and comfortable rooms. There's free WiFi in the lobby and it works quite well with Skype, so you can save a lot on long distance charges. You don't have to buy the expensive hotel internet card unless you want to surf in your room. The breakfast buffet was really good with jamon, cheeses, fresh fruits, pastries, cereals and good coffee. It's a bit of a walk though from the old cathedral and you really need to take the tram to go to the home of St Lucia. It's only a par 3 to the new underground cathedral, so it was quite convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the road, higher floor facing the cathedral If it inspires you to hear relig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FilipinoBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were a family of 7: 4 seniors + 1 couple + 1 child (10 years). We went to Fatima to visit, pray and finish the year in a warm and friendly atmosphere. We have made it!
Hotel Lux team provided one of the best moments of 2010: a peaceful and enjoyable place to be with our dearest ones. The food was great, the rooms are modern and comfortable as well as the other amenities.
We have felt home to enjoy the New Year eve!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHPPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a fairly new hotel which means it is in very good condition. Our superior room was fairly large, very clean with a very good bathroom. It is a short walk to the Shrine of Fatima and there are plenty inexpensive restauramts in the area. When we visited in September there were lots of roadworks around the hotel which could make it difficult to find for the first time. As the hotel allows bus parties, breakfast was chaotic. No-one seemed to be in charge and it was almost impossible to find a table. Food was soon gone without it being replenished. Tables were not cleared quickly enough.

May I suggest that independent travellers are allowed to use a different part of the dining room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelexpert60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fatima
Hotel Fatima
#10 of 39 in Fatima
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Amaro
Hotel Santo Amaro
#12 of 39 in Fatima
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Fatima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Fatima Hotel

Property: Lux Fatima Hotel
Address: Avenida Dom Jose Alves Correia da Silva, Fatima 2495-402, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lux Fatima Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lux Fatima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing