We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Just back from a 10 night stay in the Palacio and it was wonderful. we got a taxi from the airport for €45.

All the staff are extremely nice, helpful and courteous. We needed an adapter to charge a phone and were able to get one from the Concierge

Our room was on the 5th floor - with a balcony with a lovely view overlooking the pool, Cascais and the Casino Gardens. Room was spacious with plenty storage space - drawers and hanging. There was a safe in the room. Bathroom great size with slippers and dressing gowns provided. Lovely Molton Brown toiletries provided. Hairdryer provided. Turndown service each evening - chocolates left on pillow together with next days forecast

Breakfast had a huge choice - there was a healthy option table with cereals, cheese, yogurts etc. There were juices, cereals, breads, cold meats, smoked salmon, cheese, bacon, scrambled eggs, potato cakes, sausages etc, cakes, fruit etc - something for everyone. If you want fried eggs or an omelette - just ask and no problem

The pool area was very nice - fine size pool with plenty loungers, umbrellas and towels provided. Usually there was no problem getting a spot - on a few days during our stay it was however very busy and all chairs gone before midday - they allow people to reserve loungers by putting towels on them - not really a problem for us as we don't mind getting up early. It was a little annoying however for people looking for somewhere to sit and chairs reserved and no one on them until after lunch! there was also a nice garden area to lie out if all else failed! Must say however that this was only for 3/4 days - the rest of the time no problem

The beach is very close but we preferred the pool area

There is a shop in the hotel - sells cigarettes/ papers etc - open about 9am. Around the corner from the hotel there is a little cafe/bar called Piccadilly Circus if you want to stop in for a coffee/ beer. next to it there is a little shop selling a good choice of newspapers - french, german, english etc

The train station is just across the road and we used to get the train into Cascais most evenings - at the start we bought a ticket with ten trip on it - less than €12 each. Train about every 20 minutes and after half nine seemed to be every half hourly. Walk only about 15/20 minutes. Plenty dining options in Cascais. in Estoril we ate in Al Fresco one evening and very nice italian

There is a business centre behind reception where there is free internet access - handy if you want to check emails or check in online etc

We were contiuing our holiday with a short stay in Lisbon so were able to get the train to Lisbon for €1.70 each. I think that there is a bus from Esotril to Sintra - but we made this trip from Lisbon

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate staying again or recommending it to anyone

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    176
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
145
444
23
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Just back from a week at this wonderful hotel. We booked two rooms – a twin room for my partner’s two ‘children’ (boy and girl aged 22 and 19 respectively) and a double room for us which on arrival we found had been upgraded to a suite with the most capacious bed I’ve ever slept in.

The place really does deserve its five star rating. What really stood out for me was the courtesy and friendliness of all of the staff – no matter which member of the staff you spoke to or came into contact with there was always a nod and a smile and a friendly greeting. They seemed to go out of their way to make you feel welcome at every opportunity.

Luxury without being stuffy – the staff seemed perfectly at ease with my partner’s offspring turning up for breakfast wearing either the most outrageous t-shirts and shorts or looking like refugees we’d hauled off the street (backwards through a hedge along the way) for a decent feed - most mornings they quite literally tumbled out of bed and down the stairs directly to the breakfast table.

The pool-side area is lovely with loungers, towels and sunshades – a great place to stretch out and relax with a drink and a book.

Plenty of places to visit nearby – good regular train service into Lisbon – hourly bus service to nearby Sintra – nearby Cascais is a pleasant seafront stroll away.

I regret that we didn’t get to use the Four Season’s restaurant – tending to favour more informal al-fresco places round and about Estoril (Jona’s Bar on the promenade was very good (much better than the nearby Azimut) Italian restaurant “Al-Fresco” up by the casino also worth a visit. The Chinese restaurant by the casino (the Mandarin) had excellent food but was very expensive and the service desultory at best).

This is a place we’d love to return to and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We recently had a great visit at Palacio Estoril. It is a beautiful, vintage hotel with 21st century amenities. I felt like I was in a old James Bond movie. I loved it. The staff was great and the rooms were clean. The rooms are on the small side, but I expected that knowing it was a boutique hotel. The Four Seasons Grill in the hotel is very delicious. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjl2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This hotel is really lovely - it really is five star from the moment you walk into the lobby and the rooms are lovely too. Apparently not all the rooms are the same size (we were told this by the friendly manager ) - the ones with a double bed seem to be a bit smaller than the twin rooms. The balcony is not available with most rooms from what I could see - due to the age of the building they are very small "french " style balconys with very little room. The rooms are carpeted which is not common in Europe but it made the room really cosy. Pool is large but easily becomes full from an early time each day. The staff are all lovely and very helpful. Estoril is quiet but I found in the evening when it is a bit cooler that the walk to Cascais is only ten to twelve minutes - there is also a train for 1.20 every fifteen or twenty mins and a taxi is only four to five euro. Cascais is a busier smaller town with a lot more to offer in restaurants etc. The beach is very close to the hotel also. If you go to Sintra dont do the little train tour as it is not informative at all - its a privately run company and the tourist office do not recommend it. As you can imagine drinks are more expensive in the hotel than the surrounding area 5 euro for a beer whereas it is 2 or 3 elsewhere however you would expect this in a hotel anyway. The hotel bar is very quiet every night. You will definitely not regret it if you go to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reneyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed in this hotel as part of our honeymoon in July 2009. The hotel is located near the train station and beach and beside the casino. We spent most of our time in Cascais which is about a 15min stroll along the seafront. The hotel has a fab outdoor pool the service is second to none. The breakfast was only average for a 5 star hotel and the rooms were small and the bathrooms even smaller and our room was a superior! I would recommend this hotel to the older traveller.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicklick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

This hotel was recommended to me and it was phenomenal. The service was outstanding, the staff was one of the best I've ever experienced, and the hotel itself is a gem. Close proximity to the train station, waterfront, casino, and restaurants made it even better. If you want to stay in Estoril or close to Cascais, this is the place to be. Did I mention how fantastic the pool is? The hotel also offers a picnic service, which if I had more time, I bet would've been truly remarkable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

I stayed here on business in May 2009. As a frequent business traveller I have stayed in many hotels all around the world and this is up there as one of the best.

The hotel is beautiful, the staff friendly, and the food great.

I will defo be heading back there for a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,166 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
548 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Rua Particular, Estoril, Cascais 2769-504, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#2 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the glamorous Palácio Estoril,with its splendid classical surroundings offer the height of elegance and comfort, distinguished by our worldwide renowned hospitality. Situated in the heart of Estoril, just a 20 minute drive from Lisbon, the Palacio is a luxury five star hotel enjoying beautifully landscaped gardens and magnificent sea views. The Hotel Palacio offers its guest’s special privileges to play the Estoril Golf Course, owned by the hotel, and located only one kilometer away. Following services and facilities are available within the hotel: a 4000sm wellness centre with Banyan Tree Spa and thermal waters.Renovated utdoor swimming pool with a poolside snack bar.All facilities for reception parties, banquets, meetings and conferences in a most distinguished atmosphere. On its doorstep, a wealth of leisure and cultural activities include the famous casino, modern congress centre as well as white sandy beaches and exclusive golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf Hotel Estoril
Palacio Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing