We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned with a touch of glamour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“old fashioned with a touch of glamour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

wonderful experience at this hotel. We were there for a week while my husband attended a conference in the nearby Congress Centre. Rooms were tastefully decorated with a touch of Glamour. Our room was on the first floor at the back of the hotel over looking the Pool and gardens, with a lovely little balcony we could sit out on. Staff in the hotel were friendly and gave a feel that everyone was important. As one of the staff in the breakfast room said to us, "the Palacio is a 5 star hotel and the word "NO" is not one we use.
The hotel was located near the Casino Estoril and also the town of Cascais was within walking distance. The train station was literally at the bottom of the road and trains were available regularly into Lisbon. The town of Sintra was about 20 mins away.
All in all I would be very pleased if I was to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, over looking the Pool.Not all the rooms have balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    170
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
136
423
22
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Old fashioned glamour here. If you want a hotel that has all mod cons and everything is new and minimalist then don't come here! Beautiful looking hotel although it does not directly face the sea. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the (small) grounds and (large) pool. I am not sure what you could see if you were at the front but probably not much!

Plenty of free parking. Lovely doorman. Friendly reception staff. Beautiful entrance area and lovely bar (complete with interesting history). We had a room on the top floor. Lovely large balcony. Room is slightly old fashioned I suppose in the way of furniture but if you read the reviews on here then you know what you are getting. The views over Estoril and toward Caiscais and the sea were amazing. Maid service in the morning to make up the room was the most efficient we have encountered anywhere on our travels.

Bathroom was huge with two sinks, bath - but probably the smallest shower cubicle we have ever encountered. Bad luck if you drop the Molton Brown soap and want to bend down to retrieve it.

No tea and coffee making which is a shame. Also yet again no iron or ironing board. Fine, I understand a lot of people who stay in five star hotels just pay to get their ironing done but plenty of us don't! Iron and ironing board when it did arrive were useless. Chuck them both!

The room was pretty expensive so we were pleased we didn't hear of our neighbours although the doors to the balcony are not sound proofed so we did hear some noise from outside.

Buffet breakfast in a beautiful room is the best we have had anywhere. Wonderful, seamless and attentive service. Lovely china and amazing teapots! Really too long to list what is on offer each day but nothing has been left out. If you don't fancy the scrambled eggs then they will do any other egg you like, you only have to ask.

We were slightly out of season so sadly there was nothing much to do in the hotel in the evening. It seems they do have a programme as we caught sight of what was on offer for July and August and it looked really good. We ate out. The pizza restaurant at the back of the hotel is extremely good as is the lovely restaurant down by the sea which served beautiful fish. If you can do try the Port and Cheese tasting in the bar area - it is 35 Euros per person but you can share. It was amazing. Also, the waiter was very knowledgeable about both the cheese and the Port.

Enough sunbeds for us. The pool is cold, although it heats up toward the end of the day. We used the Banyan Tree Spa. Oddly it was empty. Always empty! So we had the indoor pool to ourselves..Jacuzzi...jet spa thingy...showers...everything. Brilliant! A bit like suddenly being a Euro Millionaire and having your very own personal staffed Spa.

If you have a car then there are so many lovely places which are close by. The aquarium just outside of Lisbon is interesting. Sintra is lovely although difficult to access and there is a lot of uphill walking involved. Just getting in the car and driving along the coast road was pleasant - lovely sandy beaches and very pretty.

The only slightly irritating thing about our room were the curtains. I know it sounds petty but there you have it. They need to be binned. I don't really expect to pay all that money for a room and then find the curtains have shrunk whilst being dry cleaned. They looked horrible and let in the light. They did not meet properly in the middle and there was a gap at the bottom.

Aside from that it is a lovely place and we felt relaxed, well treated and rested. As others have said, it is the staff that make it. I don't know what the management does but each and every one were helpful, polite, friendly, efficient and genuinely looked like they loved the hotel and the guests in it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights, it was a very pleasant experience. The rooms are very well decorated with a old feel to it. Good size(being in Europe), excellent breakfast, free wiifii. Also, free use of SPA facilities. Great location as it is within walking distance to Cascais, 20 minutes from Lisbon and Sintra. the staff is very helpful and courteous. There is no fault I can find with this property. But be sure to ask for a pool facing room. It has a better view.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor and facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great hotel. Very good service. Rooms are a bit older, but we had a nice view on the swimming pool with a terrace and we were in walking distance of the beach. It's a little hard to find restaurants in the neighborhood. The hotel restaurant is good though and not that badly over priced. Very nice spa also and good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orvalectiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a very nice hotel and golf course. We have stayed there 10 times and keep coming back one or two times a year. The staff are very friendly and the service fine in the restaurants it offers a fantastic breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Suites by pool have to much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
166 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a great Hotel with the flavour of of famous people who were there and you can join the situación that the Hotel has. Rooms are nice and it is good if you can afford a suite. Beautiful gardens and really near of the casino in case you want to gamble . Breafast is very good and all people working there were very nice . Sunset from the swimming pool is very relaxing.

Room Tip: Suites are the best option looking to the swimming pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Wonderful stay at Palacio in Estoril. The location is just by the Estoril beach and gardens of the Casino, but the hotel itself is an oasis of glamour and old world charm with a huge swimming pool and garden to enjoy the summers days. They upgraded us to a suite which was very nice of course, breakfast is great filled withhealthy things but also excellent pastries. Staff very welcoming and nice to deal with. Very child friendly with a kids club, so us grown ups could relax in peace. Very romantic decoration and the hotel itself is beautiful in a very grand Grace Kelly era style. Had a facial at the Spa which was really first class, cant recommend this hotel enough. Actually sitting by the pool now as Im writing this to a gloriously warm late afternoon.

Room Tip: When you make the reservation ask for a non smoking room with the request for an upgrade if availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.3 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Rua Particular, Estoril, Cascais 2769-504, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
#2 Spa Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the glamorous Palácio Estoril,with its splendid classical surroundings offer the height of elegance and comfort, distinguished by our worldwide renowned hospitality. Situated in the heart of Estoril, just a 20 minute drive from Lisbon, the Palacio is a luxury five star hotel enjoying beautifully landscaped gardens and magnificent sea views. The Hotel Palacio offers its guest’s special privileges to play the Estoril Golf Course, owned by the hotel, and located only one kilometer away. Following services and facilities are available within the hotel: a 4000sm wellness centre with Banyan Tree Spa and thermal waters.Renovated utdoor swimming pool with a poolside snack bar.All facilities for reception parties, banquets, meetings and conferences in a most distinguished atmosphere. On its doorstep, a wealth of leisure and cultural activities include the famous casino, modern congress centre as well as white sandy beaches and exclusive golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf Hotel Estoril
Palacio Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing