We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with all the mod cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Old world charm with all the mod cons”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great old hotel with regal splendor that has been renovated to the highest standards. Room and furnishings all first class..bathroom complete with all necessities and much more. Ambiance and service from days gone by. Breakfast was perfect. Service first rate, both in the restaurants and from the entire staff. Would go back again. It is a bit dear. Old world charm with all the mod cons

Room Tip: Look out over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-GCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    182
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
150
451
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited for a conference and then stayed for a couple of days. The staff were extremely helpful and very polite, Rooms were really nice. Food was excellent. Only fault was the pool was very cold but the spa was exceptional. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was on two floors really nice room over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for five days and had a room on the top floor. By pure chance there were several weddings during this time and as we had windows toward the garden and pool, the partygoers woke us many times during the night, despite our being on the top floor. The room was fairly large and had ample wardrobe space and the bathroom was also large (although got quite wet when you showered).

Other than that, it was very quiet and had a lovely view. The pool area was pleasant, the breakfast was excellent and service was helpful. I'd advise against asking the concierge for advice, though, as the recommendations we got were more expensive and less value than what we could find ourselves (e.g. the taxi they called up cost almost twice what a taxi off the street did). Service at the pool area was slow, but we found this was general for Portugal - much slower service than in Spain or France.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and worth the money - although not for the younger clientele. This is a hotel for adults on business or who want to relax. I saw four children in total during five days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I am well travelled and have stayed in many beautiful hotels but this place was in a whole league of its own. The hotel is gorgeous the food is beautiful but the one thing that stands out above all the rest are the staff. During our 5 day stay, there were social gatherings including a work function, a wedding, and a banquet attended by Prince Albert of Monaco. None of these functions impacted on our stay in any way, in fact the courtesy shown to us by all the staff during these busy times made me write this comment. I was blown away by the fact that every member of staff that I spoke with treated me with the utmost courtesy even when I ran down their red carpet in my beach wear as they eagerly awaited Prince Albert and his entourage. Well done,a sign of good decent people.Thank you to all the staff. The pool attendant laying out my towel was a classy touch, my friends and family can't wait to experience same.

Room Tip: Our room was in the corner overlooking pool and gardens. The room is gorgeous but we didn't stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from six nights here. It is a lovely hotel, and lying by the pool each day was heaven. The breakfasts are fabulous, but to be critical, the pool was rather cool, and should be heated for a hotel of this standard. Likely the water will be warmer in the next week or two as Lisbon heats up,. Round the corner there is a wonderful Pastellaria, number one on trip advisor for the area, which gives great lunches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHarbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I rarely feel strongly enough to actually bother writing a review myself! However, Palacio Estoril was just so wonderful, I had to share our experience with other travellers. My husband and I came back from a week's stay in the hotel last weekend. We treated ourselves to a wekk in the sun before our baby arrives in September. It was the perfect way to relax and unwind.
From the moment we arrived, it was pure luxury. We were treated like royalty by the amazing staff. The buffet brekkie is to die for (make sure you request your eggs how you like them: omlette, eggs benedict etc are delicious). You know you're in a nice hotel when there is free flowing champers on the breakfast buffet!
The location is perfect. Over the road is the famous Patisserie Garrett - a beautiful and very up market cafe/bakery. YOU MUST GO THERE! You are 2 mins walk from the beach and the tram stop. We got the tram into Cascais most nights (approx £3 return and 3.5 minutes!) or you can eat in Estoril. We also really enjoyed walking along the coast to Cascais. We loved this area of Portugal - not at all 'Brits on Tour' like some other European holiday destinations.
The Banyan Tree Spa is also a really lovely feature and a good retreat if the weather is a bit dodgy.
Hope you get the chance to stay here - we will definitely be back if we can! Enjoy!

Room Tip: We e-mailed the hotel before and let them know it was for our first wedding anniversary (which is Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iloveholidaysone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at the Palacio in 8 months. An even nicer room this time, and the service was impeccable in every way. We didn't eat in except for breakfast, which is wonderful: the dining room, the range of food, and the friendly attentive wait-staff.

We can't wait to go back - as soon as possible.

Just one recommendation for the management. The English newspapers in the lounge are all tabloids. I think this is a misreading of the hotel's clientele!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timperley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 39 in Cascais
1,181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Rua Particular, Estoril, Cascais 2769-504, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
#2 Spa Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the glamorous Palácio Estoril,with its splendid classical surroundings offer the height of elegance and comfort, distinguished by our worldwide renowned hospitality. Situated in the heart of Estoril, just a 20 minute drive from Lisbon, the Palacio is a luxury five star hotel enjoying beautifully landscaped gardens and magnificent sea views. The Hotel Palacio offers its guest’s special privileges to play the Estoril Golf Course, owned by the hotel, and located only one kilometer away. Following services and facilities are available within the hotel: a 4000sm wellness centre with Banyan Tree Spa and thermal waters.Renovated utdoor swimming pool with a poolside snack bar.All facilities for reception parties, banquets, meetings and conferences in a most distinguished atmosphere. On its doorstep, a wealth of leisure and cultural activities include the famous casino, modern congress centre as well as white sandy beaches and exclusive golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf Hotel Estoril
Palacio Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing