We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
geneva
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what a lovely hotel!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed 2 days here in July 2012 on a business trip.
Fantastic traditional old-school hotel.
My room looked out over the swimming pool
I only had one breakfast but that was excellent, very filling, with a wide choice.
The hotel is in a great location, very close to the Casino and 2 minutes away from the beach, easily reached via a tunnel under the main road and adjacent railway.
Staff very helpful and attentive.
Didn't use the spa but did use the pool a few times.
Will certainly try to visit again.
It is not a budget hotel though.

Room Tip: room overlooking the pool suffers from no local traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    182
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
150
451
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Palacio Estoril. The hotel is truly a classic, beautiful in every way. The room was very clean and comfortable, with excellent maid service. The breakfast was lovely. Easy walk to the beach, the casino across the street, and the buses and trains literally across the street. Staff overall was very warm and friendly, particularly the front desk staff. Only complaint was the concierge staff, who ran hot and cold and sometimes appeared to resent our questions. One concierge recommended a small local restaurant that he took his friends to, which turned out to be a greatly overpriced restaurant with a reputation of being the premier tourist trap in Lisbon. I would not expect that type of behavior from a hotel of this calibre. Other than that, we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARKHROTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is first class! Elegant without being "stuffy". The front desk, doorman and Concierge are all first class professionals. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel has a wonderful pool to relax in the afternoon after sightseeing. Great location; near Lisbon, Sintra, etc. I highly recommend this hotel....facilities and service like the Palacio provides is hard to find!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here last month for four nights. It's about a half hour by taxi from Lisbon airport. There is also a commuter tram/train that goes from Lisbon to the beach front. The Hotel itself is just 5 minutes from the beach front which boasts a long promenade walk dotted with small coves, and sun loungers, and little cafes and great facilities, like WCs, drinks kiosks and showers along the way. It goes from Estoril to the marina down the coast.
The hotel itself is a very smart classic hotel which was a regular for royalty in the 60s and 70s, and also featured in the James Bond movie On Her Majesty's Secret Service. You can see a gallery of royalty pics along the corridor to the breakfast room. The bedrooms were large and cosy with a nice mix of modern facilities - power shower, cable tv, safe, wifi, etc and warm jacquard duvets over clean crisp cotton bed linen. The buffet breakfast was wonderful and the restaurant - the Four Seasons - was very welcoming at night, with top class food and service and a jolly piano player playing international 'hits' from past years.
The spa is one of the highlights of the hotel - it's in a separate building which can be accessed from the hotel, and is on several floors, with thermal pools, exotic showers, a dynamic pool which means you can practise your swimming against the current, a nice juice bar and coffee patio and very smart treatment rooms. The outdoor pool on the ground floor has a very active pool attendant who is very helpful with cushions and helping you sort out your seating, and the hotel overlooks a local park which had some lovely family events and concerts while we were there. Estoril is quite pretty and upmarket so expect to pay a bit more here than in other resorts, but if you are not into the disco nightlife and just want a relaxing holiday with beach and pool options, a luxury bedroom and great food, I would highly recommend it. Oh, the staff were lovely too. The concierge apologised so much for not having a sea-view room ready by our early arrival that I almost waited to help him out but when we saw our lovely pool-view room instead, we were more than happy.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room, as the other side of the hotel overlooks buildlings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cailin1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel in June and have no complaints to make! The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful (particularly Stephanie in the bar and trainee waitor, Julius, in the breakfast room)! The pool area was spotless with thick mattressed loungers and baskets of towels from which you could help yourself as often as you liked. The sun umbrellas were bolted to the ground so there was no danger of them being blown over. The hotel is located in a quiet area with a lovely beach within a 5-10 minute walk, there are a few restaurants and 2 supermarkets close by and the busy little town of Cascais is only 5 minutes away by taxi or train (which runs between Lisbon and Cascais until 1.30 am). Cascais is a pretty little town with cobble streets and plenty of shops and restaurants. There is also a very large shopping centre on the outskirts called 'Cascais Shopping' which is open until 11pm and houses a food court which is open until approx 1 am. We definitely hope to return to the Palacio which in our opinion provides the perfect location for a top class relaxing holiday away from screaming children yet within easy reach of Cascais in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneBCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Palacio Hotel is a very plush 5* Hotel. The decor is fabulous and you really feel like you are staying in a palace, especially when you see the photographs of the royalty that have previously stayed in it. The rooms are lovely if not a little small and there are no balconies. The beds are turned down every evening with a little note on the following day’s weather forecast and a little chocolate sweet. The pool area is beautiful and the even have a gentleman to put down your towel on the sun bed and but up the parasol if required. If you want a top of the market hotel this is the one to stay in. The only negatives would be is the prices the charge in the bar and pool side bar its very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinedoran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
711 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at The Palcio for a week at the end of June and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We splashed out and went for a suite which was a mistake on my part as the extra cost wasn't worth it for us personally. There's an additional room with a sofa, armchairs and table but to be honest we didn't use it at all. Some would I guess..

The rooms are very well appointed and everywhere has high ceilings and is decorated stylishly, it reeks of 'old school' and we liked that for a change (for us).

Breakfast is not 5 star. As previously mentioned, I have had better breakfasts in many hotels, including 3 and 4 star. It is ok and at one stage I counted 10 white coated staff milling around with coffee, eggs etc but it's a bit of a scramble and the quality of the offerings wasn't up to 5* scratch.

I must mention the spa attached to the hotel - The Banyan Tree - where my wife and I had 3 Thai massages and used the indoor pool and steam rooms nearly every day, absolutely top class.!

Would we stay here again.? Probably not, Estoril is a pretty quiet place with few decent bars and restaurants - we'd probably choose to stay in livelier Cascais further along the coast (a 15 minute walk along the promenade). If we had to choose Estoril (or indeed if you're a fan of Casinos as there's a huge one practically next door), there's no doubt that this is the best available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 39 in Cascais
1,181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Rua Particular, Estoril, Cascais 2769-504, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#2 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the glamorous Palácio Estoril,with its splendid classical surroundings offer the height of elegance and comfort, distinguished by our worldwide renowned hospitality. Situated in the heart of Estoril, just a 20 minute drive from Lisbon, the Palacio is a luxury five star hotel enjoying beautifully landscaped gardens and magnificent sea views. The Hotel Palacio offers its guest’s special privileges to play the Estoril Golf Course, owned by the hotel, and located only one kilometer away. Following services and facilities are available within the hotel: a 4000sm wellness centre with Banyan Tree Spa and thermal waters.Renovated utdoor swimming pool with a poolside snack bar.All facilities for reception parties, banquets, meetings and conferences in a most distinguished atmosphere. On its doorstep, a wealth of leisure and cultural activities include the famous casino, modern congress centre as well as white sandy beaches and exclusive golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf Hotel Estoril
Palacio Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing