We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Prince at the Palacio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Live like a Prince at the Palacio”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Palacio for a week towards the end of October - outside the regular season and so during a relatively quiet period for the hotel.

The Palacio is a classic - and a classy hotel. Very stylish and with a wonderful sense of itself, beautifully updated to modern standards from its 1930's origins. If you're looking for a special and distinctive place to stay in the Lisbon area, you will appreciate the Palacio.

The Palacio is in the center of Estoril, a very short walk from the beach, alongside the peaceful park in front of the Casino. Very well situated for the railway from Cascais to Lisbon and also for the local buses which serve the hinterland - and Sintra in particular. So, it's a great base for exploring the whole area, whether travelling by car or using public transport.

We stayed in a "Classic" room, which is the basic version - it was a good size, with a very well appointed bathroom. Excellent flat screen TV with a good range of channels to choose from. There is air conditioning, which we did not need to use - and the hotel location is quiet enough to have the windows open at night without being disturbed by noise from outside.

Breakfast is simply wonderful - not to be missed. The fruit juices are all fresh squeezed - the orange is good, but the apple is just perfect. There is a wide range of cold meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, accompanied by an excellent range of bread. Cakes, pastries and croissants have a huge range of jams and marmalades alongside. You can order cooked eggs in a wide variety of styes - we can recommend the Eggs Benedict and the Omelettes. There is also a buffet of hot food with bacon, mushrooms, sausages, fried potatoes. The breakfast staff were very attentive and kept us well supplied with tea and coffee - and there is also a Nespresso machine if you like fancier versions of coffee.

The front of the hotel has a magnificant swimming pool, which we're sure is great in the summertime, but was a bit on the cool side for our tastes at the end of October. Never fear - the hotel has the "Banyan Tree Spa" right next door - and connected by an underground walkway. The Spa has a large indoor heated swimming pool, plus Saunas, Steam Rooms and a range of Spa treatments. Use of the pool and saunas is included in the room rate, but Spa treatments are extra.

We ate at the Four Seasons Grill one night - and this is a classy restaurant, with some dishes cooked next to your table. Very good quality, but also pricey - you are going to spend €50+ per head for dinner. For less formal dining, you can use the terrace or the bar.

We got a special deal rate which included the room and breakfast - very good value indeed

The Palacio is well situated - we certainly recommend the walk along the promenade to Cascais, a couple of miles to the west. There is a small set of local restaurants in Estoril - Di Casa is a good modestly priced Italian restaurant, but one that we liked most is "Pastelaria Garrett", which is almost opposite the hotel. This IS a pastelaria and serves wonderful pastries and cakes - but it IS also a restaurant and we had a couple of really excellent meals there - the one drawback is that they close around 20:30, so you have to eat early. It is full of locals almost the whole day - which says a lot about the quality of what they serve.

There are some interesting restaurants along the promenade if you want to sample the local cuisine - which is generally fish, fish and more fish - and very good fish it is too. Cascais has a wider range of restaurants - and is also worth exploring.

We recommend a visit to Sintra - a lovely place about 30 minutes north by bus. There are several palaces and castles - the Palacio National de Sintra is in the middle of the old town and should not be missed. If you are feeling energetic, climb up to the Moorish Castle, set high on the mountain directly above the town - the walk is easily graded and nowhere near as formidable as it appears from below. You will be rewarded with fantastic views over the whole region from the top of the castle walls.

Visiting Lisbon from Estoril could not be simpler - hop on a train from the station only 5 minutes walk from the hotel and you're in central Lisbon in about 30 minutes. You can take a ferry across the river to visit the huge Christo Rei statue built on the south bank of the Tagus. The area of Belem a couple of miles west of the centre can also be reached by the train and has plenty to see.

Room Tip: Rooms either look out over the town or the park - the park rooms cost extra. The rooms don't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Inglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    174
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
140
436
23
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel is flawless in every way, the building, the furnishings, the service, the pool and the Banyon Tree Spa. We have stayed in many similar hotels all throughout Europe and this is one of the nicest. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good quality, with lots of fresh juices and fruit, plus the usual hot choices. The room and bathroom are comfortable and functional, with good internet, lighting and a comfortable bed. The outdoor pool is stunning but the indoor pool in the spa is AMAZING, with many different therapy jets to stimulate different parts of the body, plus great steam and sauna. The hotel is next to the casino and a pleasant 20 minute walk along the shore path to Cascais dining.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groenekan, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The Palacio Estoril breathes the grandeur of previous era's but is still up to date and equipped with excellent staff. I always stay here with a group of friends to play for a couple of days in the Estoril/Cascais/Lisbon area and we were never disappointed by any means. You might catch a celebrity of some sort here as well, but we never met Bond, James Bond. Will be here again next week and keep you posted on the latest experience.

Room Tip: Every side of the Hotel has its strong points, but will always ask for garden/pool view to the Casin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is the best classic hotel I've ever been in my life and it will be really difficult to find a better one. Large bedrooms with classic taste furniture, a large swimming pool and garden, an incredible amazing buffet for dinner and the best service you can dream from a really professional staff... Where is the side part of it? Well, that's the best part... There is not. We have had spent 4 consecutive 10 days stay during the last 4 summers and we are so pleased that we will repeat next summer. This is a place to relax and enjoy, where all you have to do is rise your head to find an amiable employee taking care of you. That's the type of service you used to enjoy when we were kids, but nowadays is gone... Well, you can have that at Palacio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grob12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed at the Palacio for 3 nights; whilst the facilities were good, the service fell short of five star service. A litany of errors included a failure to be met upon arrival, rude and intransigent breakfast staff and bar staff who didn't understand basic instructions. Clientele of the hotel are older and therefore the Concierge was hasty to suggest cab rides to destinations easily accessible by foot. Restaurant choice outside the hotel is very limited and of poor quality. Cascais restaurants are not much better and in the circumstances would suggest travelling to Lisbon (30 mins by train) for restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjmml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We loved it so much the first time that we made sure that we spent more time here the second time around.
The whole experience is so magical, from the breakfast every morning, to relaxing by the pool its pure luxury. No wonder they filmed the very first James Bond movie here. Has such a classy feel throughout the hotel. Also the port and the mini pastel de nata in our room as a welcome gift on arrival was a nice touch.
Can’t wait to come back time and time again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Good - Plush hotel, spa, service, few mins from train station

Bad - Cascais better location though not far, wait for breakfast tables, rooms bit small for 5 star, drinks expensive

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMuirNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
534 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
3.3 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#2 of 39 in Cascais
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Rua Particular, Estoril, Cascais 2769-504, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
#2 Spa Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the glamorous Palácio Estoril,with its splendid classical surroundings offer the height of elegance and comfort, distinguished by our worldwide renowned hospitality. Situated in the heart of Estoril, just a 20 minute drive from Lisbon, the Palacio is a luxury five star hotel enjoying beautifully landscaped gardens and magnificent sea views. The Hotel Palacio offers its guest’s special privileges to play the Estoril Golf Course, owned by the hotel, and located only one kilometer away. Following services and facilities are available within the hotel: a 4000sm wellness centre with Banyan Tree Spa and thermal waters.Renovated utdoor swimming pool with a poolside snack bar.All facilities for reception parties, banquets, meetings and conferences in a most distinguished atmosphere. On its doorstep, a wealth of leisure and cultural activities include the famous casino, modern congress centre as well as white sandy beaches and exclusive golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf Hotel Estoril
Palacio Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing