We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag--provided no one sleeps on the extra bed”
Review of Hotel Londres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Londres
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
231 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A mixed bag--provided no one sleeps on the extra bed”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is a mixed bag--less than great accommodations and amenities, but very good service, which saves the place from the depths of the rating scale.

Stayed two nights at this place with my sweetie and her son, in a double room with an extra bed. To be fair, we had just come back from being in a much more substantial room in a Pousada, but the initial feeling was one of a lack of space.

The main bed was actually quite large and relatively comfortable, but the extra bed was an absolute horror show. Any movement on the bed, conscious or unconscious, would make a loud enough noise capable of waking up the other occupants. When unconscious, the other occupants saw fit to wake me up in response. Not entirely the hotel's fault, but not exactly restful either.

One major problem with the room was an utter lack of electrical outlets, aside from one multiple-outlet adapter of seemingly dubious safety. For a family of three with an array of electronic and electric devices, this was a a major problem, with lots of tangled cords and the rationing of outlet access.

Bathroom fan was also loud and linked to the light, which also caused restfulness problems.

Breakfast was mediocre--the beverages were not juices but "drinks" with astounding sugar contents. None of the other contents were particularly inspiring either.

Pool was ice cold the time we were there, in part because the pool is not only not heated, but in the shadow of the building itself.

As for the "free parking nearby" guidance on Booking.com, the entry does not mention that it is actually street parking, very competitive to obtain.

On the plus side, the bar staff was excellent, friendly and energetic, and more than willing to be flexible when needed (providing some service after closing). The bar area was also very pleasant, congenial, and well provided with wifi.

Overall, this place could work for a couple exploring the area, but is not particularly family friendly or good value for money.

Room Tip: Do not go for the extra bed in the double rooms unless you have really good earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    207
    134
    35
    17
See reviews for
128
197
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Londres for 10 days in early September 2012. All the staff were very friendly although the lady in the bar did seem quite brusque until we got to know her! A good swimming pool, never had any problem getting a sunbed. The food was self-service and a good selection and the bonus was that the price we had paid included a bottle of wine and bottled water at dinner. We casually mentioned at breakfast that it was our wedding anniversary. After we had finished our dinner that evening the chef brought out a cake he had made for us and three other waiting staff stood at our table with him and conveyed their good wishes. They made us feel very special! Monica and Robert both deserve a mention as they were always very polite and helpful. There were quite a few British, Danish, and Swedish coach parties for a few nights during our stay and we spent some pleasant evening in the bar chatting or watching TV. It was very relaxing, the rooms were always left spotless. No complaints whatsoever. We spent a lot of the holiday taking the train to Lisbon, Cascais or Belem and found that Monte Estoril station was slightly nearer than Estoril. Not a lot of nightlife in the neighbourhood, you really have to go into Cascais, by foot or train as some of the buses do go the long route!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

A good hotel in Estoril with a Swedish touch, i.e. clean and professional staff. Pool and a nice bar. Cloose to the beach and supermarket and the nice village Cascais. A lot of culture and other fine places to visit

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leifreidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Diretor de vendas at Hotel Londres, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Londres in Estoril, and the time you’ve spent to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to you have been pleased with our services and we hope to welcome you again at the next opportunity.

The staff of Hotel Londres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed with my family recently in this hotel. When we arrived, we were told that the room (a family suite for 2 adults & 2 children) was not available despite the fact that it was booked in February. We were offered an alternative of either two double rooms beside each other or a small family suite (For 2 Adults & 1 Child). Neither really suited so we said that they must provide us with what we booked even in another hotel. Half an hour later we were given the correct room.
In fairness, the hotel is very clean and the staff are very nice and helpful. Also the hotel is in a terrific location close to the beach and public transport to get into Lisbon. Overall, I would recommend it for a short stay (2 to 3 nights) as the food isn't great and you would tire of it quickly. Ideal base for a family visiting Lisbon for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stay at Londres hotel,everytime when we go to Portugal.
It's a very clean hotel,the staff is friendly and helpful.The beach is located 5-10 minutes walking and also Cascais city is close by.The hotel has a pool and playground for children.In summer are lots of sunbeds around the pool so you can get relax and sunbathe taking advantage of the Portuguese sun.
The breakfast is fine,variety food. I would recommend to the hotel management to purchase some modern toast makers.
Therefore,the hotel is a top level of 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crissa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I must first say I do not understand what it wrong with some of the other reviewers!
We stayed here for six nights and I cannot fault the hotel at all. For a three star it is right up there with the best of them. The rooms were clean and tidy, the tv even had good choice of English/American channels, which we have not had in some five star hotels, not that we watched it much as lots to visit. We went to Sintra, Lisbon and Belem, the home of the Portugese tart! All on the bus or train, both of which just a walk away.
The only thing was that the nightlife was in Cascais really, an easy 20 minute stroll along the front or along the main road.
The pool area was spotless and pool was lovely and clean, just rather cold, with plenty of sunbeds too.
The breakfast was also pretty good, with fresh fruit, cereal, bread, cakes, toaster, hot and cold drinks, scrambled eggs and beans, yogurts, cold meats and cheese and salad too.
So as is said, cannot understand what people want for their money, we had a great time and for not a lot of euros!!!,
One more thing, the reception staff were all very polite and very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms to back by pool quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziesuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not sure what all negative comments are about. This hotel is a wonderful 3 star hotel. The service of the front desk is great, very friendly, attentive always helpful. The food for breakfast has a vast variety, hot, cold, fruit, rolls, buns, meats, cheese, yogurts the lot. The rooms are well maintained with good size bathrooms with shower and bath. Beds are so comfy, good TV with plenty of choice of channels and lots of English ones. The pool and gardens are lovely, very well kept, lots of sunbeds and everything always clean. Rooms with pool view are best location. It is about 10 minute walk from the beach and the station and about 25 minutes from Cascais.

Lovely Italian restaurant few doors down highly recommended.

Not very near to a supermarket but little cafe in theatre across the road, that would be the only tiny negative comment about the location.

I would highly recommend this hotel to couples and families and would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoecrazybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.3 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#3 of 17 in Estoril
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#6 of 17 in Estoril
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#4 of 17 in Estoril
450 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londres

Property: Hotel Londres
Address: Avenida Fausto de Figueiredo 279, Estoril, Cascais 2765-412, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Londres 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL 118 ROOMS REFURBISHED SINCE APRIL 2015! Location: The newly rebuilt Hotel Londres is an intimate quality hotel in the heart of Estoril, minutes from the train station, beach and congress centre. Europe's largest casino, set in magnificent gardens, is a top quality entertainment centre and only 500m from the Hotel Londres. Rooms Each of the tastefully decorated 118 rooms has a balcony, free wifi by Cisco, cable TV, individual climate control, hairdryer, USB port and a safe. The hotel has no full carpeting. Restaurant and bar An open plan bar overlooks the pool area and there's a play area for children in the garden. The American buffet style breakfast is served in the restaurant where lunches and dinners are also taken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londres Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing