We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for Lisbon”
Review of Hotel Alvorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alvorada
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Hotel Alvorada is an ideal location for the beach, restaurantes, bars, opposite CASINO de ESTORIL and local tram/ train into Lisbon centre.

Our room was on the 3rd floor it was very spacious and comfortable. Staff very friendly and accomodating. From our balcony we could see the sea and bay.

Breakfast was continental with a choice of breads, coisants, fruit, cereals, yogurts, ham, cheese and hot breakfast food as well.

I would deffinately consider staying here again and would reccommend to any one.
Great stay, Great Value for money and Great location.

Room Tip: Request a higher level room to take full advantage of the views. Also I requested a fridge in our r...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabrali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alvorada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

In a good location next to the casino, but the hotel itself is tired, and in need of refurbishment.

We visited on a hot day when the temperature was over 37c, and alarmingly a person had got stuck inside the main hotel elevator which had broken down.

The bed was small and dipped in the middle - not what we expected.

Amazingly we were also unable to buy a beer or alcoholic drink at the hotel bar, as this was "prohibited to due the owners religious beliefs".

All in all, a hotel best avoided.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very cute hotel in front of the famous casino. Clean and quiet. Very comfortable rooms and good breakfast. No restaurant inside. Great view on the balcony of the upper floor.
Easy to find, very near to the shore.

Room Tip: very good restaurant in the nearby.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from our second two weeks at the Alvorada. We enjoyed our stay so much last year that we decided to return. It was good seeing familiar faces, the Manager, Jose and the dining room Manager, Americo. Also, Elizabeth and Olga on reception. They were so helpful. The Hotel has changed over the past year, with more groups coming in from Spain and France. However, the only problem was breakfast and finding a place to sit. We were used to not using the "bar" or having meals so it didn't bother us. But if having groups is going to be the norm, the bar and dining room service should also include the rest of the guests. We enjoyed walking along the boardwalk or taking the train into Cascais to enjoy the many restaurants or visiting the little snack bar down the street from the hotel called Jackpot where Luis was always ready to suggest something good to eat.

The use of the internet is definitely a problem and should be addressed as most people want to keep in touch with family, friends or business. Free access should be available in the lobby area. Otherwise, the past reviews tell the rest. It's a great hotel for the money, and we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Front rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YorkvilleLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed with wife for one week in April 2013.
The hotel is a short walk from the railway station which makes reaching it from Lisbon Airport quite easy. For the return we took a taxi (very early flight) at a cost of around 50 euros. A bit expensive so, if your flight times are reasonable, use the bus or metro from the airport to Cais de Sodre and then the train.
The hotel overlooks the casino and we had asked for a room on the 4th floor facing the casino which afforded us fine views and morning sunshine.
Breakfast is the usual continental (bread, preformed ham, cheese, hot frankfurter style sausages and eggs, etc.) and was perfectly adequate.
The room was large and kept very clean by the staff.
Overall, the staff were very friendly and helpful although as seasoned visitors to this area we didn't need much help.
There is a bar but it does not serve alcoholic drinks (there are plenty of bars and restaurants in Estoril or a 30 minute walk away in Cascais (walk along the seafront). But do try their very good hot chocolate drinks! There is no pool but the beach and a public pool is 5 minutes away by the Railway Station.
Will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel in advance and ask for a room on the 4th floor facing the casino.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a first rate Hotel for Staff helpfullness, cleanliness and position for travel and the beach. BUT it advertises a Bar but does not state that there is NO Alcohol in that bar! or that you cannot get an evening meal unless you are a group! However there are a number of eating places within a short walking distance and a bar within a few metres. It is also just a short distance from the beach, the train station and main bus stop. Entertainment in the way of live music, also drinks and food could be had in the Casino right across the road. We had a room on 2nd floor front and were not disturb by street noise at all. Would recommend it to all travellers.

Room Tip: away from the lifts, front rooms all had balconies, unsure about the rear rooms but they do advertis...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked the Alvorada hotel with e-bookers, got a great rate for the 12 nights stay.
Hotel is Located right opposite the Casino,
When i arrived at the hotel i asked for a quiet room and was given a room on the top floor . room was very large with a huge balcony only problem was that the room was beside the lift and was very noisy, Changed room to no 309, another great room.large, clean, a small fridge was placed in the room ( noticed it was not in all rooms, you might have to ask for one).
Cleaning staff did a brilliant job as all the rooms were kept in tip-top condition, and all very friendly a big smile and good morning/evening .

No kettles or Irons in the hotel, but there is a great supermarket( Jumbo) about 10 min walk that sells kettles and irons about 12e each.

Internet connection was terrible, you pay 5e per day connection kept getting dropped after about an hour.(happened every day). i did get my money back or a free day but a hotel that is classed as a business hotel need good internet connection.

Breakfast was included in the price and was just great ,good quality food ,fresh bread, Delicious cakes, coffee machine for latte, cappuccino etc, the cook/server was the most attentive, friendly man you could meet,Excellent Staff.

People on reception were great , helpful Friendly if you had a problem they did their best to resolve it, some of the best staff you will meet.

Location is great right beside the beach, lovely walk along the seafront to cascais about 10 mins.night life and bars are more plentiful in Cascais.

have to say the Alvorada hotel is one of the best hotels i have stayed in and look forward to staying again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daft-duck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estoril hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#12 of 17 in Estoril
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clube Do Lago
Clube Do Lago
#9 of 17 in Estoril
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sao Mamede
Hotel Sao Mamede
#10 of 17 in Estoril
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alvorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alvorada

Address: Rua de Lisboa 3 | Casino Estoril, Estoril, Cascais 2765-240, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: $55 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alvorada 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1-minute walk from Estoril's casino and a 2-minute walk from the Estoril Conference Center, Hotel Alvorada offers free parking and spaciously laid-out rooms with modern furnishings and a balcony. The air conditioned rooms at Hotel Alvorada are soundproofed and decorated with colorful, modern art works. Each room includes a private bathroom with bathtub and hairdryer. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet in the spacious and light breakfast room. The Hotel Alvorada offers free parking and a 24-hour front desk. Tamariz beach and the Estoril Train Station are a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alvorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvorada Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing