We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half hour from Lisbon”
Review of Hotel Smart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Smart
Ranked #2 of 12 Estoril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location – a convenient 5-10 minute walk from Estoril Station, which has an efficient and cheap train service to Alges (the location of the Optimus Alive festival) and central Lisbon. There's not a lot to do in Estoril itself, but the beaches are nice and quite lively. The hotel and pool were immaculately clean and the garden was charming. Unfortunately we found the woman who runs the hotel to be extremely grumpy and unhelpful, but the rest of the staff were helpful when asked. Overall, a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paleogrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. And it deserves three stars by rating indeed. Rooms are very nice , well decorated.Beds are very comfortable to sleep, bathroom is not so big, but a very clean .
That's a family hotel, and all persons working there are very polite and ready to help . Breakfasts were very good. Three kinds of a local bread -white, dark bread like ciabata and croissans, big and tasty:) Boiled eggs, ham and cheesees . Three kinds of jam, honey, butter. fruits-apples, oranges and bananas. Coffee from coffeemachine was very good.-cappuchino[, americano, espresso, hot chocolate-quiet wide choice. Also location of the hotel is very good -only 10 min to the beach and to the railway station. 15- min walking to the Estoril Casino.and nightclub Jezebel.In Estoril there is starts promenad way to Cascais along the ocean -about 40 min walking. I can reccomend this hotel highly .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is very nice, it has everything you may need and we think it deserves 3 stars instead of only 2. Breakfast is very good and the lady who serves it is lovely and speaks perfect French. We didn't like the bed which was very hard and the fact you can hear everything that happens in the nearby rooms. The receptionists were not very friendly and didn't give us advice on restaurants and places to visit. Only the two younger ones speak some English, while the older man does not. All in all we had a nice stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Our room (202) had a sea view which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiaVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Listed as hotel. Booked ahead by 3-4 weeks since it was the 1st night in the country. No hassles with booking.com. Free underground garage parking, people at desk until 2am, friendly staff, easy to get to/from Lisbon airport for first or last night stay, Easy to find with standard map. 2 blocks from main street in very quiet residential area. 2nd floor room had a distant view of ocean, was impeccably clean, and had large breakfast included, coffee from machine. Elevator to upstairs rooms. Free WiFi not tried. Total cost 45E in May. Could probably have booked same day.

Room Tip: Such a quiet neighborhood, there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our first hotel for our stay in Portugal. Very charming, clean, beautiful ambience. Manicured grounds with beautiful flowers and citrus trees. Nice pool. Room (203) is large, but spartan furniture.Small balcony. No reading lights.Beds very hard, but we like that, some may not. Bathroom good size, large fluffy towels. Free underground parking is so nice...after having parking problems in the rest of Portugal. Also has elevator. Short walk to beach and boardwalk. Restaurants in walking distance. Breakfast included delicious breads, ham, cheese, hardboiled eggs, yougert, cereals. Coffee was from a machine and a bit not to our taste. Staff friendly, but not well versed in how to answer tourist questions in the best way. Excellent value ($60) and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seawife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This 2star property is an excellent choice for anyone travelling to the Estoril Caiscais region. Prices are great it is very clean and includes breakfast, I would stay here again. Very clean, beds are a bit hard but that is the only complaint.

Room Tip: Get room 101 or 102 they have a patio overlooking the pool area and are the only rooms with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Hotel Smart is a lovely building and has a nice pool in the grounds. It also has free underground parking. Its situated around 15 minutes walk from Estoril railway station which means you can get into Lisbon door to door in 45 minutes with no bother. The hotel itself is spotless....absolutely spotless and you can tell that its run by a proud family. Our room was small, but adequate and had a small balcony. Our deal included breakfast, and we enjoyed a nice big spread in the dining room. £45 for 2 people, with breakfast, within ample journey time of Lisbon and of course the silver coast beaches..........awesome value!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alvorada
Hotel Alvorada
#8 of 17 in Estoril
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
484 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#17 of 39 in Cascais
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#3 of 17 in Estoril
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clube Do Lago
Clube Do Lago
#9 of 17 in Estoril
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smart

Address: Rua Maestro Lacerda 6 | nr Rua Viana 63, Estoril, Cascais 2765-239, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Estoril
Price Range: $62 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smart 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Smart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing