We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, ask for a room overlooking the ocean”
Review of Estoril Eden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estoril Eden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Reviewed September 28, 2011

A beautiful hotel with great views over the Atlantic Ocean. The room where we stayed, is very large with a balcony and a kitchen. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, satellite TV. If possible, ask for a room overlooking the ocean.
In the towns of Estoril and Cascais, beautiful sandy beaches with a long promenade along the shore.
The hotel also has a railway station Monte Estoril. On the train ride to the center of Lisbon and 40 minutes.
Estoril is an expensive resort, but not far in the direction of Cascais is a large supermarket and the prices there are much lower than in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank olegkravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 487 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

Rooms clean, Service good, elevator unreliable, wifi only in the lower part of the Hotel working, they charge you anyway
Breakfast ok, Pool good, but a lot of wind
View great, setting good

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darwinist2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed 2 weeks on business. The lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms (no matter what they tell you... it is a weak signal and you won't get any work done on the internet!) is a serious drawback. However, if I were to be so lucky as to return for a vacation, I would stay at the Estoril Eden.

Rooms are fine -- yes, outdated, but roomy and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was fine, my favorite part of it was the fresh fruit and toast. The views from the room's balcony (Lucky me... 12th floor!) are priceless. The 25-minute walk along the seaside promenade to Cascais is a great way to start the day.

The kitchenette is adequate. 2-burner stovetop, small fridge. There was a microwave in the closet... not sure where I would have plugged it in if I had wanted to use it. The JUMBO supermarket is a 10-minute walk away for groceries. One night I wanted room-service but no one answered the phone. ?? However, another night when I called, I had good food and excellent service from the room-service waiter.

Due to the hilly nature of the location, I would not recommend this hotel to guests with difficulty walking or climbing.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonomaNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Breakfast full and sufficiant. Bacon, eggs, susages, yoghurt (both low and full fat available), cereal, buns, toast, hot and cold milk, coffee and tea - everything was there! Pool area very nice. Free pool towels. The toilets in pool area VERY nice, modern and clean. Room was a bit old fashioned. No kettle for hot water, had to boil water in a pot. Terrasse OK for three persons, but only furnished for two. Bathroom a bit small, but modern and bright, with tub and shower. Free internet access only in lobby. Only 10-15 minutes walk from Cascais by very nice boardwalk. But very steep path to and from boardwalk and beach. Train to Lisbon 5 minuntes from hotel, down the steep path.

Room Tip: Get a sea wiew! Cascais bay very nice to look at at all times of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Familiemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

excellent breakfast included in our price which was not bad considering high season

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed here for a week with my son (hotel was reserved as part of a group trip). I use tripadvisor extensively, so the reviews did set the expectations prior to arrival.

I would say the reviews accurately describe this hotel (poor). The initial impression was bad, but having spent 5 nights, there were a few positives also. In summary:

Positives:
1) Location. It's a 5min (max) walk to the train station and beach. It's a 10-15min walk along the promenade to Cascais (which is much nicer in my opinion).
2) Staff were helpful. The few requests I made were dealt with politely and efficiently (so long as they were within hotel "hours", see below!).
3) Small store adjacent to the hotel, able to buy newspapers, etc at very reasonable prices.
4) Bathroom was clean (if dated).

Negatives:
1) Very dated hotel. Really needs a refurbishment badly.
2) Carpets in room dirty....this was very obvious (although strangely bathrooms were clean).
3) Pillows hard polyester type....and beds lumpy...difficult to get a good sleep.
4) Requests need to be made during hotel "times"...so before 4.30pm...I requested different pillows at 5.30pm and was told staff had gone home. I did receive new ones the next day.
5) Breakfast chaotic....not enough staff and the ones there seemed to be lost....hard to find a clean cup for coffee. Breakfast was very simple, but adequate.
6) Room had a small kitchen, but no kettle or coffee/tea, etc.
7) Room included a small safe but you had to purchase a key for the safe. Not a high price (2 euro per day as I recall), but what's the point in charging?!
8) Pools were cold (but clean).

Overall I would say trust the reviews!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MPHILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

After reading the mixed reviews of this hotel on trip advisor, we did not know what to expect from it. However we were pleasantly surprised on seeing the hotel location and the rooms. We stayed on the 7th floor room which was not a sea facing room. But it had a good view from the balcony. The room was spacious, clean and airy. It had a mini kitchennete complete with an electric hob, microwave, mini refrigerator and all the basic necessary utensils and cutlery. The bathroom was good sized and clean. There was a flat screen TV in the room which had english channels like CBeebies (a boon for our 3 year old son) , ITV 1, 2, 3, CNN and BBC 1. The upholstery was good, certainly not "dated" like the other reviews state. The staff was very helpful and polite. The hotel restaurant has a limited menu but whatever we ate was good in taste and quantity and served lovingly. The chef even made a custom fish dish for us which was delicious and this was at night closer to the restaurant closing time. The hotel has two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor. We could not go to the outdoor one as it was cold to swim outside. The indoor pool was cold at first but when I asked the housekeeping to increase the temperature it was promptly done. The Gym in the hotel is just an exercise bike and a treadmill. There is also a spa in the hotel which we did not get a chance to experience. Breakfast is ok, not much choice but the view from the restaurant is so good , the overall ambience more than makes up for the lack of variety in food.
The hotel is a 10 minute trek from the Monte Estoril train station. If you have many bags or a buggy , it can be quite daunting to walk from the station to the hotel. Monte Estoril train station is 45 minutes from Cais De Sodre metro station (Central Lisbon).
Beautiful sandy beach with fine white sand is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There is a well maintained promenade from the hotel to Cascais, a very beautiful area full of restaurants, water sports activities and other entertainments. There is also a supermarket in Cascais where you can shop for your necessities and grocery if you are in the mood to cook something at the hotel. There is a mini supermarket near the hotel as well. A taxi rank is right outside the hotel. It is better to go to the taxis directly rather than through the hotel as there is a good 15-20 Euros difference between the price quoted by hotel and the taxi drivers.

We will definitely revisit this hotel if we visit Lisbon again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chloe065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.1 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#4 of 17 in Estoril
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#7 of 17 in Estoril
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#3 of 17 in Estoril
548 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estoril Eden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estoril Eden Hotel

Address: Avenida de Saboia 209 | Monte-Estoril, Estoril, Cascais 2769-502, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Price Range: $87 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estoril Eden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estoril Eden Hotel is located in the sea front, in Monte Estoril between Estoril and Cascais. The Hotel has 162 studio suites sound proofed, with balcony, air conditioning, TV LCD, phone, safe, mini bar and kitchenette. It also includes a panoramic restaurant, bar, pool bar and Disco Bar (only open on requset and for groups. Also 2 swimming pools (indoor heated and outdoor), jacuzzi, fitness center and Health Club with Sauna and Massage. The Hotel also has garage and parking places. Excelentconditions for Congresses, Meetings and Banqueting. The Hotel is vey well located concerning the Golf courses (special rates). FREE WI-FI available througout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estoril Eden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing