We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Opiparo

Opiparo
Ranked #20 of 109 Restaurants in Estoril
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Maybe our expectations were too high, but we were disappointed with the Opiparo. The location is very good and the food was good without being exceptional. The staff were good at there jobs and always attentive and helpful. It was no problom to move to an inside table halfway through the meal.
All told we found Opiparo only average and on a par with many other restaurants in the area. However the strong and unpleasent smell in the gents toilet was a big turn off.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    79
    36
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sesimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The food is divine - I strongly recommend the grilled steak. It was exactly how I like it and was served in an appealing manner. My husband also liked his - he tried the cod fish. For desserts we had the brownie and ice cream, which was a little too heavy and sweet, but still highly recommended.
The service was fast, helpful and professional.
We went at sunset so the view was phenomenal and because we were the only ones there at that time (it only started getting busy after about 8.30pm) it was fantastically cosy and romantic.
It is a tad pricey but definitely worth it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, Service & Location!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We found Opiparo on our 2nd day in Sao Joao and I'm so glad we did. We had a couple of full meals there as a party of 8 with 4 small children and the service was excellent. Having a particularly fussy little boy who only wanted bacon the waiter was so helpful and bought him out just that even though it wasn't on the menu. I had the tuna with vegetables and have to say it was one of the best meals of the trip! The restaurant managed to create a really relaxed atmosphere in a great location overlooking the ocean, I would recommend!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kez38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere & service. Doesn't get any better.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very nice food, our group ordered a variety of food and all were very good, Great service, the staff were very nice and spoke some English to help us with ordering. The sea view is also very nice. Also fairly cheap at around 20 euros PP. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wish we found it sooner”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Fantastic restaurant on the beach. Can't beat the view. Service was great. Food was the best we had in a week in Estoril. Went back numerous times, tried different things and was not disappointed. I recommend the fish soup and the pasta with mussels. Biggest mussels I have ever seen!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoastcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opiparo also viewed

 

Been to Opiparo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing