We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic 3-star hotel but gorgeous view from rooms”
Review of SANA Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SANA Estoril Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Jakarta Indonesia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“basic 3-star hotel but gorgeous view from rooms”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

It’s a basic 3-star hotel, but the view of the Atlantic Ocean from the rooms was just gorgeous and breath-taking! The location is very strategic, within walking distance to the casino next door and the charming seaside resort of Cascais. Lisbon is only a 20-minute drive away. However, the hotel is located on a very busy road, so if you mind the noise especially at night when you try to sleep, you may want to reconsider. Some of the motorcycles like to rave up their engines late at night while driving by very fast. If you think the bedroom is small, wait until you walk into the bathroom (or more likely walk into the door of the bathroom by surprise since the door hit the toilet and won’t open fully)… it’s really tiny! The breakfast buffet that was included in the room rate was good, and the reception staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maura-SoeparjadiKwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    124
    108
    53
    21
See reviews for
60
161
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Central - friendly - excellent breakfast - bathrooms small if your tall but OK
reception staff- cleaners couldnt be faulted
Railway station 400meters away - approx £1.50 into Lisbon , 10 miles and a train every 20 mins !! - buses same location, , Cascai resort 25 mins walk - train/bus back ?
600 meters from hotel massive casino with music , live groups free each night- best and cheapest meals in there buffet, approx £14 pp including bootle wine and water.
would return to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PIPERWHITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I spent a very peasant week with my wife in the Hotel Sana Estoril, in Estoril, near Lisbon. Its chief attractions for me were the friendliness of the staff at reception, who were always smiling, courteous and helpful, and had a sense of humour, and secondly the proximity of Estoril to Lisbon, which can be reached by a lovely old fashioned train from the station at Estoril (quite close to the hotel) in thirty five minutes, with frequent timetable of trains, travelling along the coast. Lisbon is a beautiful city and we visited it several times. The other attraction of Estoril is its seaside promenade, and you can walk to the neighbouring town Cascais, which is also very interesting. We attended a concert in the Estoril Casino celebrating the Fado singing tradition of Portugal, and this was splendid and very moving. The other thing is, if you like fish, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaranodriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Bar staff were very professional and real nice. Room were clean and well stocked with toiletries.Good Mini bar. Room was cleaned each day. Room was beside the housecleaning closet, noisy from early am, indoor pool and jacussi was closed, drinks were expensive, the busy roundabout beside was very annoying, We mislaid our key (our own fault) but hotel would not replace it for 3 days so our room was left open which was very annoying and they overcharged for it, all hotels these days should have card systems. They had a very limited selection on bar food no hot food just a sandwich or a toastie. Pool overlooked the busy roundabout so not very peaceful at all.
the rooms were small, Bathroom tiny. Alright for a one night stopover, and its close to the casino. would not go again, far better out there, esp the 5 star about 3 mins away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Estoril hotels

Cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Thanks! We had a great time in this hotel! Great value! Nice breakfast and ideal location for chilling on the beach or going for a seafront run! Staff were extremely professional and helpful! Internet was a bit pricey but well stocked mini bar!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrisonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed at the Sana Hotel Estoril for four nights end of May. First the positives. The hotel staff are extremely friendly, reception, bar, breakfast room etc. The room we had on the 6th floor was nice and spacious, furnishing were new and a large bed. We did not have a balcony but were offer a change to the 4th floor which did have a balcony but decided to remain on 6th.
Downside. The bathroom was miniscule. Just enough room to open the door and get into the bathroom, so problems if you are a large person. It was supplied with a good selection of toiletries every day , so that is a plus.
However the hotel is beside a busy roundabout so quite a lot of noise, and as the pool is located here too, I imagine it would not be peaceful to relax there during the day, however, we did not use it, as it was a little too cold while we were there. It is a pity that the indoor pool and jacuzzi are not available to guests.
Breakfast was good, lots of breads, rolls, teas and coffees to choose from, plus fresh fruit beautifully presented. Had fresh orange, kiwi, grapes etc every day. I did not try the bacon and eggs so cannot comment. Lots of choice in the herbal tea lines.
The hotel is very convenient to Estoril, through it is not exactly a happening place. Suitable for a more quiet holiday. Cascais is more buzzy.
Would I stay there again, well not too sure. For a spring break it would be ideal if the indoor pool was open.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrustyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Its about 5 minutes walk from the station. I enjoyed my stay very much despite the volcano interuptions. The receptionists were all amazingly friendly and helpful. they gave us tips on where to explore and were very kind. I fell sick on my last day so they arranged for the doctor to come and provided medicine as well. The food breakfast was pretty basic; but sufficient. We had lunch and the food was good. The restaurant had a great view of the beach in Estoril. I got a very nice room with a small balcony and great view. There is a pharmacy, a little grocery shop that sells all the wine and fruits and other essentials, and next to the Sana hotel there is a nice chinese restaurant with good chinese food. Being a chinese food coinnoseur i must say it was worth the price and definitely cheaper to eat there then in the hotel. if you like chinese food you definitely should try it out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lissa2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#4 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#6 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Estoril Hotel

Property: SANA Estoril Hotel
Address: Avenida Marginal 7034 | Soc Hoteleira & Turistica, Estoril, Cascais 2765-270, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located exactly in the centre of Estoril, SANA Estoril Hotel offers the ideal conditions for both leisure and business trips. Its privileged location on the Avenida Marginal, facing the beach, offers a fantastic view of the sea and the Coast of Estoril from the hotel. In the surrounding area there is also Estoril Casino and gardens, the Estoril Conference Centre, as well as numerous bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Just 20 minutes from Lisbon, from the SANA Estoril Hotel it is easy to navigate and get to know the whole Estoril Coast, which offers everything from good food to golf, nature, sea, culture, heritage and entertainment. With a warm and comfortable environment, SANA Estoril Hotel offers 97 rooms, accommodation with sea views, a swimming pool, terrace bar, panoramic breakfast room and a pleasant, totally renovated lounge. Two rooms also allow various kinds of meetings and events to be organised at SANA Estoril Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SANA Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Estoril
Estoril Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing