We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 night stay”
Review of SANA Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SANA Estoril Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 night stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in sana estoril for 5 nights. The location is great a few minutes walk from a lovely beach, bars, resturants and the casino. Our room was a bit dated but the bathroom was fine and the rest of the hotel was lovely. We lost a camera while we were away and rui who was working on reception couldn't have been more helpful. I passed our thanks on to the manager. Also the bar staff were very warm and friendly. All in all we would recommend this place for people wanting a base to explore estoril. It's under 10 euros in taxi to cascais and it is easily walkable. Close to train station also.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ailsa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    129
    113
    56
    24
See reviews for
62
166
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horta, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

About a 30 min. drive from the airport and close to the beach.
Rooms vary in size and need some remodelling, especially the bathrooms, althouh there were toiletries. Very clean
Average breakfast with coffee from na automatic machine.
Staff very friendly.
I'm sure that there are better 3 star hotels in Estoril, but if you can get a good rate, then it might be worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, as some are faced to the main traffic street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and chose the hotel due to its vicinity to the station as we were going to the Rock in Rio Festival.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but like many reviews state there are some areas of the hotel that need updating ie the bathrooms. They were small yet had everything we needed (powerful shower, hot water) but difficult to get in and out of due to the way the door opened... That was the only niggle although we would've liked a balcony...

Breakfast was included and there was plenty of choice. Staff we're very friendly and the maids were lovely. The reception area and bar were also very nice and clean.

Recommendations if on a short break like us...

1) Travel...
Taxi from airport is approx €35 (we got this on the way as our flight arrived around midnight). From Lisbon airport this was about 25 mins.
We got a train back which is €6 for 2 ppl and takes around 1.5hrs using train and metro and allows a plod in Lisbon. (Before getting the metro). The Train station is a 3/4 minute walk from the hotel.

2) Beach -The beach behind the station is lovely... Calm sea (cold!), yellow sands and toilet facilities if needed. As well as a few bars, shops and ice creams!

3) Casino - Well worth a visit. Cheap wine if you like that sort of thing... Buffet looked good too.

4) Cascais - 2 stops away on the train (5 mins) or 20 minute walk. Lovely little place, nice cobbled streets, restaurants, harbour etc. A good evening out/day trip.



Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KimberlyClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location is great in Estoril close to the beach, the beach walk to Cascais, the casino and the train station. The hotel is in a great need of refurbishment! The rooms vary in size and most of them have a balcony. The beds are as a rock. The breakfast buffet offers some basic stuff and some hot dishes. The staff is friendly but it took me several of times of telling them that the safety box didn´t work, but they didn´t fix it! An average hotel, nothing more. I would chose another hotel next time in Estoril.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have recently returned from a 5 night stay in the Sana which was fine for what we paid. We had a room on the 6th floor which had a fantastic view of the sea, the downside been from 6am the traffic starts and it gets very noisy. The room itself was fine comfy bed and plenty of wardrobe space but the bathroom let it down, the door opened against the toilet so it was very cramped and the shower over the bath had a mind of its own , on a plus side big fluffy white towels were changed every day. Even though it was noisy I would recommend a room with a sea view as I noticed the rooms on the other side seemed a lot smaller. The buffet breakfast was well stock , plenty of everthing that you needed and everything was fresh, the staff were very efficient and helpful. The reception staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel is very close the the train station and bus stops ( the transport service is excellent) which is great for trips to Lisbon and Cascais, We were disappointed with the choice or lack of restaurants around the hotel , we did eat in the Chinese around the corner 1 night and have to say it was excellent value , we ate in Cascais the rest of our stay, we stayed there in October and loved it.
Overall the Sana is fine as a base for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you get the train from Cais de Sodre get off at Estoril station. Go out the gate turn left up a steep hill for 5mins and hotel is directly in front of you across a busy road. There really is only the Casion and beaches in Estoril to be honest no supermarkets at all and one Telepizza next door to the hotel which you need as no food in the hotel after breakfast unless you want a sandwich. On arrival to the hotel receptionist was pleasant, you will get a piece of paper with Wifi codes on it and its free so dont pay extra for free wifi room like I did. The connection is woeful though. On entering corridor from the lift on the 5th Room (504) floor its very dark and the doors to do not fit the surrounds and with the winds in Portugal all year round you hear the whistling wind all day and night because of this. The rooms are not sound proofed at all so you can hear the taps and anyone even peeing in the adjoining rooms very noisy during shower times etc. The room was small but it had a balcony with table and chairs and another window so it was bright with a view of beach and the pool. There was pubic hair on the toilet and hair on the bathroom floor. It takes about 10mins for hot water to come in so turn showere/sink taps on beforehand to heat up. Shower head is down on bath and would not stay up to shower very inconvenient. The tiles are all cracked also as in my pictures. The main room issue is there is no sockets, the only one you can use is for a lamp which is at the far end of the room and on the floor so again not suitable for any laptop work etc. Ii wouldnt stay in Estoril again as its so boring stay in Cascais is 2 more train stops away and a fab town with everything in it. This hotel for the price I paid was not worth it, its very oldfashioned and really needs modernsiing for todays standards.

Room Tip: Room 504 Double bed overlooking pool and beach, very high up. Very small room suitable for one, less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shezsharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

A great hotel to base yourself when in Estoril. Spitting distance from the sea front and beach, and walking distance from a number of good restaurants and cafés, catering to several different cuisines. The hotel is exceptionally clean, and quiet, and the staff are friendly, very helpful and knowledgable, especially about the local area. The continental breakfast is excellent, and the breakfast room overlooks the ocean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WaltzingSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#6 of 17 in Estoril
522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Estoril Eden Hotel
Estoril Eden Hotel
#7 of 17 in Estoril
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Estoril Hotel

Property: SANA Estoril Hotel
Address: Avenida Marginal 7034 | Soc Hoteleira & Turistica, Estoril, Cascais 2765-270, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located exactly in the centre of Estoril, SANA Estoril Hotel offers the ideal conditions for both leisure and business trips. Its privileged location on the Avenida Marginal, facing the beach, offers a fantastic view of the sea and the Coast of Estoril from the hotel. In the surrounding area there is also Estoril Casino and gardens, the Estoril Conference Centre, as well as numerous bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Just 20 minutes from Lisbon, from the SANA Estoril Hotel it is easy to navigate and get to know the whole Estoril Coast, which offers everything from good food to golf, nature, sea, culture, heritage and entertainment. With a warm and comfortable environment, SANA Estoril Hotel offers 97 rooms, accommodation with sea views, a swimming pool, terrace bar, panoramic breakfast room and a pleasant, totally renovated lounge. Two rooms also allow various kinds of meetings and events to be organised at SANA Estoril Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SANA Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Estoril
Estoril Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing