We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SANA Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SANA Estoril Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
cape town
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This modern hotel is situated in the panoramic and busy coastal road (marginal) in Estoril, opposite to Praia do Tamariz and very near the Casino. The train station is just a walking distance away. There is parking in front of the hotel. Very comfortable and clean accommodation. The breakfast has a good selection of cold and hot choices. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sollymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    121
    107
    49
    20
See reviews for
59
155
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I've stayed in this place twice (my work booked it, no control over lodging) and both times I've gotten a room with a really musty smell. It is like the place is waterlogged. However, the views are incredible from the rooms with balconies and the restaurant on the top floor has a great panorama of Estoril and Cascais in the distance. You can easily walk to CasCais and the beach or head across the very busy road to the boardwalk and rocky crags in Estoril. One major complaint that happened both times I stayed here.....the housekeepers clean the room even with the Do Not Disturb sign on the door (they even remove that and put it back in the room). I joked with the concierge that perhaps the housekeepers don't believe me, but it happened consistently, even after I complained about it. Hotel bar has a great bartender who speaks 9000 languages and is happy to talk about anything. Huge and well appointed multi purpose room on ground floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and for a room that doesn't smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The best thing about this hotel was that is very clean. It's about a 10 min walk to the main beach. 5 mins to the closer beach. Rooms are small and the amenities are limited. Beds are quite hard.

Breakfast is good but selection is basic and does not vary. View from the breakfast room is fantastic. No restaurant at the hotel and restaurants in the area are not great (best we found was Opipare). There is a bar and a pool but the pool is not heated and the wind is very cold so we did not use.

Some front desk staff are helpful, some are not. LIkely would not stay here again. Would recommend to stay in Cascais and that is where the most restuarants/activity happens.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the ocean have a better view but you will hear noise from the busy main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel itself is ok. The up sides include large rooms with balconies and decent bathrooms, and the location which is close to the beach. The main down side is the breakfast which is very basic. However, the staff here are excellent. We made a mix-up regarding our reservation, and arrived a day early, after midnight. The concierge went out of his way to provide a room for us - although the hotel was fully booked - and gave us an excellent rate. The reception staff then contacted the agency through which we had booked (and pain for the room in advance) and made it possible for us to leave a day early - which we wanted - thus making it possible for us not to pay for the extra, unreserved night. Throughout the process, they were friendly and efficient, making us feel good about the whole experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMilica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have had 4 days in the Sana Lisbon which was excellent. I decided to come for three days relaxation to the Sana Estoril.

I found the,place quaint and although in need of a makeover acceptable re position and rooms. Mst of the staff (except one) were very polite and friendly.

On the second night, sleep was impossible due to a bass drumming noise from a discotheque. This stopped in the early morning of the 24thJune at 05:20 exactly.

I mentioned this to th receptionist in the morning who told me it was probably the Disco???

He assured me there would be no Disco this evening. Here I am at 02;41 and the noise is banging away again. If I had known this I would have checked out. I see now why they axe us pay in advance. Another night of lying awake listening to this constant noise.

Another good reason for typing the report at this hour is that the WI Fi speed has shot up to 0.44 Mgb/ sec!

Please am or the disco timetable before you check in and do nt bother with €10 for WI Fi for a day. It s useless.

Room Tip: Certainly not in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

SANA HOTEL, ESTORIL, PORTUGAL 26-30TH MAY 2012
Drove down from Salamanca to Estoril which took approx.. 4.5 hours and arrived at @ 3.00pm. The receptionist was extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. Following previous trips reports, we booked a high floor twin room as noted, they had indeed large rooms & even larger balconies ( we stayed in room nos.. We had a 4 night stay in room which had a large balcony and overlooked the bay and promenade (all for €55.00/night ! ). The mattress was not overly comfortable, but, I guess one would describe it as adequate.
Breakfast was pretty basic, the only variety was that there were hot sausages and scrambled egg on one day and streaky bacon and scrambled egg on the next. The hotel itself was one of the first built at Estoril and its still in good condition displaying the ambience of times gone by.
The hotel is approx. a 5 min walk to the railway station, where you can catch a train west to Cascais, or east to Lisbon (€4.00 return). There is a swimming pool at the hotel, cold, but refreshing and there were a number of sun loungers scattered about.
There is a bar at the hotel, albeit, the aging bar-man does not seem well suited in dealing with hotel guests– he came over as grumpy !
There is as very small carpark at the front of the hotel and a fellow parker managed to scrape the rear of my car which caused a scratch, however, did not have the decency to stop and provide their insurance details. There is another public parking area nearby, however, I did not make a note of the parking restrictions etc.
On the recommendation of the receptionist, we ate at the nearby “Jackpot” restaurant. We found the food to be expensive for what it was and found it bland. Be aware that the waiter will put a dish of crab salad and the usual bread.butter/ cheese following you being seated, what he will omit to tell you though, it that will cost you an additional €17.00 when your bill arrives. We had been forewarned of this practice and declined the add-on’s, thereby, not being liable for the extras.

The main beach entrance is at the railway station. The beach itself is quiet pleasant, pretty safe for children and there are areas where one can hire umbrellas, sun loungers etc.

Room Tip: The rooms with twin beds have a larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Estoril is a nice quiet beach town a stone's throw away from Cascais. The Sana is conveniently located by the Estoril central square, the train station and quaint Tamariz beach. In terms of location, its great. The breakfast is more than decent and our ocean-view room was clean and a good size.
I do have a few complaints.

The receptionist misinformed us twice, in regards to what services the hotel offered and when the pool was scheduled to be open. Also, the information pamphlets left in our room were misprinted and misleading. Additionally, our hotel room was assigned to another couple approx 3 hours after we checked-in. My guess is that the staff is a little disorganized. To be fair, I did have some positive interactions with the receptionists.

Bottom line: I've had better luck with hotels but I would definitely stay here again if I received a nice rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.8 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#6 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Estoril Hotel

Property: SANA Estoril Hotel
Address: Avenida Marginal 7034 | Soc Hoteleira & Turistica, Estoril, Cascais 2765-270, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located exactly in the centre of Estoril, SANA Estoril Hotel offers the ideal conditions for both leisure and business trips. Its privileged location on the Avenida Marginal, facing the beach, offers a fantastic view of the sea and the Coast of Estoril from the hotel. In the surrounding area there is also Estoril Casino and gardens, the Estoril Conference Centre, as well as numerous bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Just 20 minutes from Lisbon, from the SANA Estoril Hotel it is easy to navigate and get to know the whole Estoril Coast, which offers everything from good food to golf, nature, sea, culture, heritage and entertainment. With a warm and comfortable environment, SANA Estoril Hotel offers 97 rooms, accommodation with sea views, a swimming pool, terrace bar, panoramic breakfast room and a pleasant, totally renovated lounge. Two rooms also allow various kinds of meetings and events to be organised at SANA Estoril Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your SANA Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Estoril
Estoril Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing