We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not accept a room on lower ground floor”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
lausanne, switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Do not accept a room on lower ground floor”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I was fairly happy at this hotel. Friendly staff, very good breakfast, good location, clean. My three traveling companions all had rooms on the first or the third floor and had no complaints. I was given Nr. 14 which means that you have to go down with the lift. It was very damp and the smell in the bathroom was terrible. It took ages to get a bit of hot water and when it did come, it was brown. There are no Kleenex either.
One morning, I was awoken by a loud noise outside my room and realized that it came from the gym where people were running on the treadmill and the TV was on. Conclusion: Overall, the hotel is ok but insist on a room on one of the upper floors!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacklab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    142
    51
    26
    11
See reviews for
59
148
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We stayed 3 nights in May based on a last-minute offer of €85 per room including breakfast. On checking in asked for room with view and were told there were none left. The hotel did not seem very full so presumably we were given smallish room at back because of the rate. Too bad because we if had had a nice room we would have rated hotel higher. Location is good, breakfast was surprisingly good and pool area is very good.
At €85 it was good value for money. A higher rate would change the equation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We were in Estoril because my husband was attending a scientific conference here. The conference people booked the hotel.
We were even in the same room as Jabdog--#304. I really like the way the hotel and our room are decorated----dark wood trim, a warm yellow on the wall and a classic wall paper on one wall. The photos the hotel posted are accurate.

By even American standards, our room is quite large with a desk, plenty of closet space and a nice chair and lamp for reading---in addition to the lamps on both sides of the bed. The bathroom was not elegant, but functional. Our room was well cleaned every day. The bed is comfortable.

This is my 6th hotel on a two week trip in Spain and Portugal. I agree that the breakfast could use some tweaking---especially the coffee which is self serve and tastes like instant coffee. But, a selection of teas are also available so I went with that.

No one told us about the safe charge, but we figured there must be one when we could not open the one in our room. We paid 5 euros a day for a cable computer hook up. There were problems (apparently hotel wide) with the internet connection yesterday. Supposedly, there is free wifi in the comfortable lobby, but I wasn't able to connect to it (could easily be my problem, not the hotel's). We never tried the hotel restaurant for anything other than the breakfast.

We found the front desk staff to be helpful and responsive.

The hotel is convenient to the main beach side promenade which you can follow all the way to Cascais (2 kms. north). I happened upon a nice city museum and park in Cascais, near the fort. There are beautiful residencial streets to explore if you get out of the main shopping district. (All this can be done on foot---if you like to walk).

The high season doesn't start until Easter and apparently things are quite busy in Estoril and Cascais throughout the summer.

It is easy to visit the lovely town of Sintra from the hotel. The #418 bus stops hourly in front of the hotel and it's about a 45 minute bus ride. As others have reported, it is also a very easy 15 minute train ride into Lisbon.

Two restaurant recommendations in easy walking distance from the hotel:
*The Inevitavel Steak Lounge in the Vila Gale Hotel (Avenida de Nice, No. 3).
*Also on the Avenida de Nice, on the same side as the hotel is a Pasteleria which is good for lunch and afternoon coffee.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustOneBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

i stayrd here about 5 years ago, and although the rooms were very nice the staff made it feel like faulty towers, this time however it was great, staff very friendly at reception to bar area, hotel was spotless and although the weather was not great the place was lovely and warm, what it does lack is an indoor pool even a small one would be good as the outdoor one is not heated and on 2 days was just to cold to get into, i reaily like this hotel as does my family

  • Liked — rooms are very very nice
  • Disliked — pool not heated
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaanderen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Booked with Jetair-Tui. In their brochure rated as a ****. Local brochures indicate ***. Even this is exaggerated. Don't book half board. Dinner consists mostly of tinned goods. Don't as foor the duck on the limited menu. They don't have any. Don't expect the can supply everything of the wine list Don' book a balcony. You don't get one. And if you sue for it like we did, you don't use ist because of the construction noise and the icy north wind Don't ask for a breakfast before 7.30 am, because you have to pay room service and get no coffee nor tea. Don't expect any entertainment. Don't expect luggage carrier.
A save costs 3.5 euro a day. A coke at the swimming pool costs also 3.5 euro. Bring along your air freshener, because the leaking airco spotted the carpet. Don't expect to take a handsfree shower And now the good things:
- a TV in de bedroom + another in separate living room
- fresh fruit and the ice cream

  • Liked — Beautiful antique building with separate living room
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PianoVlaanderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

A lovely big old hotel with super rooms and a lovely pool area. You walk down the steep hill to the beach, which is full of locals and has a great atmosphere. Fab train service that takes you along the coast and to the capital Lisbon. Caiscais is also a good beach, mainly locals when we were there (I know this because when it rained we stayed on our loungers which had 'roofs' on them, while all the locals fled to the safety and dryness of the cafe!
Lots of bars and restaurants - would recommend this hotel and this area of Portugal.

  • Liked — The large clean airy room
  • Disliked — Steep climb back up to the hotel after a day on the beach!
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allliemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I am surprised that some folks rated this hotel as "terrible." At the very worst, its "average." However, my wife and I loved this place. The room was big and spacious. The view was great (Rm 403) and we had great interactions with the staff. They were helpful and, at times, even went out of their way to meet our request.

It is true, that the food and drinks are some what expensive, but that is to be assumed for most hotel. We both thought that the breakfast was great. Eggs, bacon, cereal, toast and breads, fruit, tea/coffee, sausage, juice, and more. It was all you need in a breakfast. It was not a gourmet meal by any means but it was still well catered. If you want to grab some great food and save some cash, there is a great little market about 100 yds away from the hotel (going toward the beach).

The grounds of the hotel are quite nice as well. There are some great out door seating areas and a pool. The little town of Estoril is pretty quiet with the biggest attraction being the casino. However, you can walk about half a mile or take a 1 minute train ride (1.15 euro) to Cascais which is a great little town. Cascais has many great restaurants, beaches, shops, and charm. We found that the Indian food restaurant near the train station was superb!

Also, the hotel is 20 minute train ride to lisbon. Its a great place to relax and you're not far from anything.

  • Liked — Charm and comfort
  • Disliked — Weight Room was weak
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jabdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#6 of 17 in Estoril
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Property: Hotel Inglaterra
Address: Rua do Porto 1, Estoril, Cascais 2765-271, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and charismatic Hotel Inglaterra is located in the centre of famous Estoril walking distance to the rail station, casino and beach. The building of great architectonic beauty is a palace dating back to the start the 20th century with a personalized decoration in perfect balance of classic and contemporaneous comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Estoril
Best Western Estoril
Estoril Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing