We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay here. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, room clean and large with a great sea view, super breakfast selection - everything you could want! We had dinner twice - once in the Inevitavel restaurant and once in the bar and both were really good meals with good service. Nice walk to Cascais via the promenade. Not much open in the way of restaurants / cafes in Estoril or along the promenade, as it was not peak season. Hotel very conveniently situated to get the train to Lisbon - very regular and smooth service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparklew64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our hotel.

It is rewarding to the whole team the recognition of our daily effort in order to provide a good experience to our guests and encourages us to improve continuously.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril

Best regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    191
    102
    25
    7
See reviews for
87
167
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel over the New Year. Great location for visiting Cascais (enjoyable walk along the promenade) and easy to get to Lisbon on the train and Sintra on the bus). If you hire a car then the hotel will charge 7.50 Euro per night for use of their parking facilities. The hotel is quite basic for a four star and although the room was a reasonable size the bed was uncomfortable with plastic bed protectors which became rucked up during the night which made the bed even more uncomfortable. The en suite was a good size with a bath tub and shower over - the shower was average. As the hotel was very quiet for part of our stay the buffet restaurant was closed for all but one evening and for some breakfast sittings when breakfast was served in the Inevitavel restaurant with waiter service and a better choice of breakfast than the buffet breakfast which is quite samey and uninspiring. We ate dinner in the Inevitavel restaurant on two evenings - New Year's eve and New Year's day - (as everywhere else was closed) - On the first evening, the two soups arrived about five minutes apart and on the second evening the soup was forgotten altogether (although the waiver was very apologetic). Okay dinner menu and okay food in the restaurant. We did not eat dinner in the buffet restaurant as it was only open for one evening during our stay and we were not made aware that it would be open for that one evening.
The hotel could do with some more (and inviting) public areas. Both the lobby and the bar areas are quite dark and lacking in atmosphere.
During our stay we booked a massage in the hotel spa. The spa facilities are basic and the massage room was next to the spa reception area where you could hear all conversations going on - not really conducive to a relaxing massage!
This is the third Vila Gale hotel I have stayed in and would probably not stay in another out of choice.

Room Tip: Had a land view room on the 7th floor - good view towards the Casino and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorp861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We only regret the negative points that you mentioned, of which we take due note.

Thank you for selecting Vila Galé Estoril Hotel for your stay and we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Best regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went for the new year's eve and it was a fantastic experience. We booked with two months in advance and so the prices were quite cheap. We stayed in the fifth floor with a sea view and it was incredible. First we had a nice gastronomic dinner in the Inevitavel restaurant with a great menu (Prawn soup, salmon with mash potato and vegetables, beef streak with rosti potatoes, iogurt mousse with strawberries) and with wine and water, which finished just in time to get ready for the new year. from the room we could see the fireworks from 3 different places (all the way to the Cascais Bay) and then we left for the Estoril Casino which is less than 5 min away for the rest of the night. The hotel has wi-fi, rooms were very comfortable with a bathtube, tv.. In the morning it was amazing to wake up a observe the sea, and the breakfast was very nice (had everything u could think of).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our hotel.

It is rewarding to the whole team the recognition of our daily effort in order to provide a good experience to our guests and encourages us to improve continuously.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril

Best regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a four night last minute stay at this hotel. It's a typical tourist type hotel and really a case of you get what you pay for. Our room was clean and comfortable and the beds allowed a good nights sleep. The negatives of this hotel is the public areas which really spoiled our stay, the main lobby area which has large sofas and some chairs is very uninviting and cold, a few subtle table lamps and some flowers would make all the difference the same for the bar area which although well set out and furnished just lacks that cosy atmosphere, little wonder no one was in there during our visit. The buffet breakfast was very ordinary with the same old things every day. Tip: Go to breakfast early as the food is not changed or topped up so you can end up with scrambled eggs that have been under a hot light for hours and as for the bacon don't even attempt to eat it. The reception staff are reasonably helpful but you get the impression they are not really interested in customer service. Finally we had to pay €15 for WiFi in our room for the duration of our stay,when will hotels realise that charging for this service is turning customers away.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulN007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We only regret the negative points that you mentioned, of which we take due.

Thank you for selecting Vila Galé Estoril Hotel for your stay and we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Best regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated on a busy road but great for getting about, including strolling on the sea front. All the staff at the hotel are helpful and friendly and although the hotel rooms are basic, they are clean and large and good value for money. The buffet breakfast has lots of variety and we tried the Resturant one evening which again had a good variety, large portions and friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradleyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us helpful and friendly. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I loved this hotel .
I had a large well appointed room ,the flat screen tv had many English channels and the reception staff were very patient with tecnophobe difficulties with tv and wi fi
The breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent,offering a great selection of well presented dishes.the reception staff were well informed about the local attractions and provided maps,leaflets etc.
Unlike other critics I found there was no disturbance from the road.The walk to cascais is convenient and there is ample public transport by bus and train available.

Room Tip: Choose aroom on higher floor for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annyounis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our hotel.

It is rewarding to the whole team the recognition of our daily effort in order to provide a good experience to our guests and encourages us to improve continuously.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril

Best regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Villa Gale Estoril as a family holiday.
The location of the hotel is on the front with a busy road running by and our room was at the front of the hotel but did not bother us at all even though the traffic was busy and fast especially the motor bikes who seem to travel at any speed they like. The sea view was superb all you could ask and the room was spotless and the bathroom all you would need for a short holiday.
The food was very good with plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meals,both were buffet style which could always be hotter but chose was excellent different every night.
The staff at the hotel were at all times professional and polite but always helpful and smiling they were a credit to the manager who herself was charming.
The resort itself had a great promenade which went for miles which we used every day which was a big bonus but there is not a lot else in Estoril but Cascais was a 20minute walk along the prom where there were parks and shops.
Overall it was a good week with lovely warm weather and NO rain which in October is what you want.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken posting this review and specially for all the great comments about us and our hotel.

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and for being able to provide you a good stay with us.

We hope that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Estoril in a near future.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.6 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#6 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Property: Vila Gale Estoril
Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing