We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price paid”
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just returned after a four night last minute stay at this hotel. It's a typical tourist type hotel and really a case of you get what you pay for. Our room was clean and comfortable and the beds allowed a good nights sleep. The negatives of this hotel is the public areas which really spoiled our stay, the main lobby area which has large sofas and some chairs is very uninviting and cold, a few subtle table lamps and some flowers would make all the difference the same for the bar area which although well set out and furnished just lacks that cosy atmosphere, little wonder no one was in there during our visit. The buffet breakfast was very ordinary with the same old things every day. Tip: Go to breakfast early as the food is not changed or topped up so you can end up with scrambled eggs that have been under a hot light for hours and as for the bacon don't even attempt to eat it. The reception staff are reasonably helpful but you get the impression they are not really interested in customer service. Finally we had to pay €15 for WiFi in our room for the duration of our stay,when will hotels realise that charging for this service is turning customers away.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PaulN007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We only regret the negative points that you mentioned, of which we take due.

Thank you for selecting Vila Galé Estoril Hotel for your stay and we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Best regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 482 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is situated on a busy road but great for getting about, including strolling on the sea front. All the staff at the hotel are helpful and friendly and although the hotel rooms are basic, they are clean and large and good value for money. The buffet breakfast has lots of variety and we tried the Resturant one evening which again had a good variety, large portions and friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bradleyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us helpful and friendly. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I loved this hotel .
I had a large well appointed room ,the flat screen tv had many English channels and the reception staff were very patient with tecnophobe difficulties with tv and wi fi
The breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent,offering a great selection of well presented dishes.the reception staff were well informed about the local attractions and provided maps,leaflets etc.
Unlike other critics I found there was no disturbance from the road.The walk to cascais is convenient and there is ample public transport by bus and train available.

Room Tip: Choose aroom on higher floor for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annyounis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our hotel.

It is rewarding to the whole team the recognition of our daily effort in order to provide a good experience to our guests and encourages us to improve continuously.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril

Best regards
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Villa Gale Estoril as a family holiday.
The location of the hotel is on the front with a busy road running by and our room was at the front of the hotel but did not bother us at all even though the traffic was busy and fast especially the motor bikes who seem to travel at any speed they like. The sea view was superb all you could ask and the room was spotless and the bathroom all you would need for a short holiday.
The food was very good with plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meals,both were buffet style which could always be hotter but chose was excellent different every night.
The staff at the hotel were at all times professional and polite but always helpful and smiling they were a credit to the manager who herself was charming.
The resort itself had a great promenade which went for miles which we used every day which was a big bonus but there is not a lot else in Estoril but Cascais was a 20minute walk along the prom where there were parks and shops.
Overall it was a good week with lovely warm weather and NO rain which in October is what you want.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken posting this review and specially for all the great comments about us and our hotel.

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and for being able to provide you a good stay with us.

We hope that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Estoril in a near future.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days following a tour of the pousadas of Portugal. I guess anything was going to be a bit of a disappointment after that experience. First of all the location, only a few metres from a junction on the main (and busy) road from Cascais to Lisbon. There is no garden and even if there were it would be noisy, as is the pool which overlooks the road junction.
The food is pretty indifferent too.
On a practical note, particularly for those less athletic, there are no grab handles nor rubber mats in the bathroom. Also, access to the pool is only via 2 flights of (quite steep) stairs.
Estoril unlike Cascais, doesn't seem to have very much to offer, unless one is into gambling at the Casino, and if I were returning I'd be much more inclined to stay in Cascais which has many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were very disappointed to know about your review but we always take every opportunity to improve.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Estoril or in any other Vila Galé Hotel.


Best Regards,
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our third time in Estoril and second time staying in the Vila Gale (both times in early September). It is a great location - 5 mins from the train station and Tamariz beach and about a 25 minute walk along the seafront to Caiscais (depending on how fast you go and whether or not you stop to enjoy a drink and the view on the way). Staff are very friendly and helpful and remembered us from the year before which was nice. The breakfast buffet is very good - wide range of breads, hot food, fruit etc and a special 'light' corner with low-fat cheese, yoghurts etc. Very good value. The rooftop pool area is quiet and makes a nice change from the more lively Tamariz beach. It has a lovely view down the coast. Our room was a decent size, also with a lovely view down the coast. We don't often go back to the same place but I'm sure we'll be back here again!

P.s. one bit of advice - you need to get a lock for the safe from the reception so ask for this when you check in to save time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la_viajera_constanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you once again and we thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel.

We hope that you can keep your promise and visit us again.

It will be an honor to welcome you again on a near future.

Best regards
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It is situated 100 m far from railway station. The interior design is a little pathetic and not modern. This hotel i would call intened to be luxary, but it's not. Anyway the staff is freindly. The hotel is absolutely not suited for families with children. There is no fun exept the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We regret the negative points that you mentioned, of which we take due note.

We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us.

Our staff is grateful for the comments made about them.

We hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Estoril or in any other Vila Galé Hotel.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
1,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#3 of 17 in Estoril
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#4 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: $84 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing