We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Good location in Estoril near the beach and train station, nice walk to Cascais along the promenade about a 25 minute stroll away. Only the rooms on floor 8 have balcony's, no tea or coffee facilities in room, fridge was handy,the single beds were ok. Pool was not very inviting as it was not heated nor was the area around it very appealing, the annoying jazz music didn't help the ambience. The hotel bar closes at midnight and has no entertainment,however the barman was excellent. Breakfast was pretty standard, eggs cold meats, cheese, etc. Estoril is very quiet with few bars and restaurant's the casino had various dining options from cheap buffet to pricey Chinese. Cascais has more options for eating drinking and entertainment a cab to the hotel from Cascais was about 5 euro. Cant help thinking villa gale Cascais would have been a better option, if you want a livelier resort

Room Tip: request balcony otherwise you will have no outdoor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril.

We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Estoril.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    218
    115
    29
    8
See reviews for
103
189
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just got back from a 4 day break at this lovely hotel. Requested and got a lovely balcony room.
Breakfast was great, plenty of choice, even bubbly if you wanted to make a bucks fizz for brekky.
Staff are very helpful and the place is kept spick and span.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a sea-view and ask if you can have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were very glad to know that you had Lovely 4 day break in our hotel and that you did enjoy our Breakfast.

I would also like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us very helpful.

We hope to welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Friendly reception and efficient check-in. We had requested a quiet room at the back of the hotel and this was provided. However only twin bedded rooms were available, no doubles. The room was clean but suffered from a lack of storage space. A chest of drawers or bedside cupboards would have been useful. The shower was ineffective - very little water emerging from the shower head and variations in temperature whilst in use.
The food was reasonable but bland. Roast meats including sliced pork almost every night, and a very limited range of vegetables. The chips were the processed type served in burger bars. Rice was provided on 3 nights - why not provide a curry, or chili con carne as an option on these nights? Also how do restaurants justify charging Euro 2.50 for a 50 cl. bottle of water. It should be no more than 1 euro for a bottle this size.
The seating area in reception is in a dark corner, and there is no guest friendly place in the hotel to sit and mingle with other guests during the day. We went to the Piccadilly Circus cafe just outside to the right of the hotel for our coffees and snacks as did many other hotel guests. Efficient friendly service and good prices.
Estoril doesn't seem to have a town centre or if it does we didn't find it! We did however walk along the seafront promenade to Cascais on several occasions and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of small cafes along the way and plenty of interesting things to see in the centre of Cascais.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hand10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril.

We appreciate all the comments of our clients which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day. We can also assure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed.

We hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

travelled with friends, we had very pleasant stay at vila gale, estoril, the location was perfect, across the road fro m the beach, the staff were excellent and so helpful especially Alfonzo in reception, and the barman, the buffet breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, would recommend this hotel for value, location, and the staff, hopefully will go back at some stage

Room Tip: we stayed in room 614 with lovely sea view on the 6th floor very spacious room, and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian1234265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us excellent and helpful. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is excellent, near the beach and the Casino and in walking distance from Cascais (a very nice city to visit - You can go by the see until reach Cascais)

This is the 4th Vila Gale hotel that we've been and in this one, the breakfast is the best of the four ... despite being very similar, the food taste better and the staff handled very well with a overcrowded room. (still, no fresh orange juice in a country loaded of oranges :/)

The room was clean and because we had the "sea view room", the view was very pretty :)
It could be a little bit more care with some maintenance (I've posted some pictures about it)

The bar by the swimming pool should have some kind of lounge music because it could "gather" some ppl by the pool despite the weather is not the best.

The wifi is free only in the public areas. I think it could be free for everyone because, for a Portuguese tourist it's easy to get free wifi (PT wifi, Fon Zon, etc) but for a foreign tourist it's not so accessible.

Overall a very nice stay and a hotel to recommend.
- wifi pros turistas

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril, we are pleased to know that you had a very nice stay with us because we try to do our best ervery day and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us.

Thank you for selecting Vila Galé Estoril Hotel for your stay and we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last week for 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. I was looking for a room for one person and this was definitely the biggest room I have ever stayed in. The hotel is a bit old fashioned but spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel is excellent, next to railway station, beach and casino. The breakfast had a huge selection of food including a fry and all that I tried was very good.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a great stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great hotel in a very convenient position in a few minutes from the promenade, close to beach & train. The staff were so good and friendly. They were all excellent.The bedroom was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Great choice at breakfast, even champagne is available. Down point : noise from the road. I would return and stay again at Vila Gale, if have to stay in Estoril

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiseleRoosLaDiosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a great stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us friendly. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 39 in Cascais
1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Property: Vila Gale Estoril
Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing