We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is in a most convenient position, being just a few minutes' stroll from the promenade and the station. We were lucky enough to get one of the few rooms with a balcony, and the view was superb. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was excellent, but the hot foods got a bit same-y after a few days. We had dinner in the hotel a couple of times: the salad course was beautiful, with masses to choose from, but ,again, the hot foods were a let-down: dry and tasteless. So we ate out at a restaurant just round the corner on the way to the casino, which was excellent.
It was easy to get to Lisbon on the train, and we also went to Cascais, which was lovely. A word of warning, however: we had lunch at a restaurant, and were served most attractive nibbles while we were waiting to order. But these appeared on the bill at the end with a massive charge! So don't assume that the nibbles are always free.....
Another slight disappointment was that Estoril has no centre that we could find. It is an up-market development of hotels, apartment blocks and villas, attractive, but not particularly Portuguese. And as for the much-advertised Shopping Mall, well, one might just as well be in Watford!! (But there was a small supermarket just up the hill from the hotel with an amazing range of supplies.)
All in all we enjoyed the holiday, and the hotel was certainly one of the most comfortable we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Only the top floor rooms have a balcony, but it is worth asking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JennyMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril, we are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I would also like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us very friendly and attentive. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We are very proud to know that you find our hotel one of the most comfortable you have ever stayed in.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 482 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

After being in Vila Gale in Porto the hote, in Estoril appeared to be a bit worse in terms of room inside: not a lot of space, no balkony (however nice view on Estoril Casino) and there was an impression of an old stuff. The location was perfect, the breakfast a la carte was excellent, the stuff at the recepetion was helpful and nice.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank VitaGmeniuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time taken posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril.

We appreciate all the comments of our clients which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a week in this hotel in October 2012, first the good points, excellent staff, we found all the staff here to be very helpful and friendly, the breakfast and service very good ,location to train and bus stop convenient. Bad points: Most of the bedrooms do not have a balcony,(we got a move to one that had) the beds creek with every slight twist and turn and the rooms although clean need updating, soundproofing between rooms is non existing, .overall we had a pleasant stay but this hotel falls a long way short of the 4 star hotels we previously stayed in Portugal, In summary 4 star staff- 2/3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have balconies and great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

First off all I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us very helpful and friendly. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us. We can also assure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed.

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned from a golfing holiday in Estoril and stayed at the Vila Gale in Estoril
Me and my group have stayed in several Vila Gale Hotels in Portugal but I must say this is the best, very friendly staff could not do enough to help always pleasant in the Bar, Restaurent, Main Desk and always said hello whenever you would meet a member of staff
Rooms very well maintained and a great location for all types of transport
Definately we got 4* treatment and once again thanks to all at Vila Gale Estoril for a great holiday

Michael Glynn
Republic of Ireland

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.
I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us very friendly . We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were there 11-18 October 2012, room 720, on a SAGA holiday. Can't fault the hotel at all although the sea-facing rooms can be traffic-noisy at rush hours, due to the proximity of the main road. Railway station to Belem and Lisbon (eastwards) and Cascais (westwards) is a two minute walk, immediately by the hotel. The hotel staff were extremely friendly with excellent English (although we learned 'tourist' Portuguese prior to our trip). Buffet meals were very good, well presented and with a good choice of starters / main courses / sweets. WiFi was flaky on smartphones but a free-to-use PC can be found in the lobby. Room was comfortable and very well maintained by the unobtrusive cleaning staff. Good bar service in the 'big cat' bar. Really we can't fault the hotel beyond the traffic noise.

Estoril itself doesn't have much going for it as a resort. The beaches are excellent and unless you like the gigantic casino - do have a walk through it, just for the amazing experience of seeing the black marble floor reflecting the ceiling lights - walk or take the train to adjacent Cascais, where there is far more to see and do.

However we heartily recommend the 'Patisserie Garrett' directly across the road from the hotel, the cakes are delicious and not to be missed. For lunchtime snacks/drinks, try the Piccaddilly Bar a couple of doors down from the hotel.

Room Tip: Forgo the sea view and take a room facing westwards towards Cascais or north up the hill towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The central location means this hotel is in rather a noisy spot (the major road at the front is extremely busy) however balance this with easy access to promenade and beach, the railway and bus stations, casino etc then convenience wins. The rooms themselves were very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and all had a very high standard of English. We were a group of 4 younger Saga tourists and had a wonderful time in the restaurant with the good food and free-flowing wine that was included in our package.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on low floors at the front which are most affected by traffic noise and the side which g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheWilkosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us.
I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us extremely friendly . We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.
We appreciate all the comments of our clients which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at Vila Gale Estoril and I loved it. I would come back anytime in Portugal, also at Vila Gale. The rooms are large, cleanning service every day, breakfast was ok, the coffee the best untill now :)
The staff were great, very helpfull and nice. You can reach Cascais by a 20 min walk. Also you can find tavervas and places to eat in the vecinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haidukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return again.

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel and for the photo that you posted.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best regards
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
1,037 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#4 of 17 in Estoril
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#6 of 17 in Estoril
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: $82 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing