We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vila Gale”
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Vila Gale”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned from a golfing holiday in Estoril and stayed at the Vila Gale in Estoril
Me and my group have stayed in several Vila Gale Hotels in Portugal but I must say this is the best, very friendly staff could not do enough to help always pleasant in the Bar, Restaurent, Main Desk and always said hello whenever you would meet a member of staff
Rooms very well maintained and a great location for all types of transport
Definately we got 4* treatment and once again thanks to all at Vila Gale Estoril for a great holiday

Michael Glynn
Republic of Ireland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.
I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us very friendly . We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    216
    114
    29
    8
See reviews for
102
187
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, Shropshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were there 11-18 October 2012, room 720, on a SAGA holiday. Can't fault the hotel at all although the sea-facing rooms can be traffic-noisy at rush hours, due to the proximity of the main road. Railway station to Belem and Lisbon (eastwards) and Cascais (westwards) is a two minute walk, immediately by the hotel. The hotel staff were extremely friendly with excellent English (although we learned 'tourist' Portuguese prior to our trip). Buffet meals were very good, well presented and with a good choice of starters / main courses / sweets. WiFi was flaky on smartphones but a free-to-use PC can be found in the lobby. Room was comfortable and very well maintained by the unobtrusive cleaning staff. Good bar service in the 'big cat' bar. Really we can't fault the hotel beyond the traffic noise.

Estoril itself doesn't have much going for it as a resort. The beaches are excellent and unless you like the gigantic casino - do have a walk through it, just for the amazing experience of seeing the black marble floor reflecting the ceiling lights - walk or take the train to adjacent Cascais, where there is far more to see and do.

However we heartily recommend the 'Patisserie Garrett' directly across the road from the hotel, the cakes are delicious and not to be missed. For lunchtime snacks/drinks, try the Piccaddilly Bar a couple of doors down from the hotel.

Room Tip: Forgo the sea view and take a room facing westwards towards Cascais or north up the hill towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The central location means this hotel is in rather a noisy spot (the major road at the front is extremely busy) however balance this with easy access to promenade and beach, the railway and bus stations, casino etc then convenience wins. The rooms themselves were very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and all had a very high standard of English. We were a group of 4 younger Saga tourists and had a wonderful time in the restaurant with the good food and free-flowing wine that was included in our package.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on low floors at the front which are most affected by traffic noise and the side which g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheWilkosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us.
I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us extremely friendly . We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.
We appreciate all the comments of our clients which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at Vila Gale Estoril and I loved it. I would come back anytime in Portugal, also at Vila Gale. The rooms are large, cleanning service every day, breakfast was ok, the coffee the best untill now :)
The staff were great, very helpfull and nice. You can reach Cascais by a 20 min walk. Also you can find tavervas and places to eat in the vecinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haidukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return again.

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel and for the photo that you posted.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just had a week at vila gale and we were all pleased at the value for money we got. Our room was pool level and a decent size (kept immaculate by the chambermaids) air con was good and not noisy,TVhad a better than average choice of enlish spoken progs for any insomniacs, beds were firm to hard but that suited us fine, although some problem on frame meant that it really squeaked if you or your partner are fidgets
Lifts are small with capacity of 4 or 5 but apart from incoming and outgoing days was no problem.
Breakfast had a good selection of food ,but we kept hearing the usual 'english' complaints about streaky bacon not best back , toaster is really slow etc whilst ignoring the fact that these were the nicest 'hotel' scrambled eggs that i have ever eaten and the bread and rolls were gorgeous. A special mention must be made of the staff who are all efficient and friendly and for whom nothing was too much trouble, this went from restaurant to reception and bar and cleaners , all acredit to their business.
the pool is still red (it does look strange admittedly) but no longer smells of paint.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our break and would deinitely go back again

.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views and back of hotel is furthest from the road which is generally busy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel.
We are pleased to hear that you evaluated the stay with us as good value for money and we look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for a week at this hotel from 19th August 2012 on a bed and breakfast basis and could not fault the friendliness and attitude of the staff. My daughter has a wheat and dairy intolerance and the restaurant staff ensured that there was gluten free bread and soya milk available at breakfast. Rooms were spacious and clean however they could have benefited from having more storage space for clothes. Quality and choice of food was good however by the end of the week it got a bit repetitive.
One other minor criticism was the pool bar. Prices were high and they offered limited choice of snacks.
Excellent hotel to use as a base for travelling around as was very close to the train station.
Three staff in particular who stood out were Manuel who worked in the restaurant, Bernardo, Duty Manger on reception, and the hotel porter. They were all very attentive and went over and above what was expected to make our stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllisonJFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us very friendly and attentive. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We appreciate all the comments of our clients which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Been in this hotel a couple of years ago. Needs some improvements, rooms are a bit dated. Great breakfast (as usual in Vila Gale hotels), nice views over the city. There was a little incident with our bedroom (it was infested with ants), and the way the manager handled the problem was not nice at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anamourao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time taken posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the incident you mention during your stay. We appreciate your comments which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day.

We sincerely wish to welcome you again in a near future to demonstrate you that this situation was an one time only experience.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#4 of 17 in Estoril
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Property: Vila Gale Estoril
Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing