We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and a clean and functional hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Used this hotel to house the UK Sales Team and Product Managers for a conference at the ECC. The hotel staff were really helpful, especially as the "rep"robates can be a demanding bunch.
It was very clean and served a great buffet breakfast. The rooms are quite basic but they are comfortable and the safe could easily house my notebook.

One fault was obvious, there were only 2 very small lifts, one of which broke down one morning and some of the guests ended up using the stairs which ended in the kitchen!

With regards to the bar, it naturally proved the most popular room in the hotel, they even stayed open until the early hours of the morning, one night the barman had to call the manager for permission to close the bar as the guys still wanted to booze at 4.00am!

All in all, a clean and functional hotel, although some of the guest were a bit put out as other delegates were accommodated at the Palacio . I don't think the company could have justified the bar bills if the British sales force had been staying there!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boogiebumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for all the good critcs about our Breakfast and on behalf of all our staff I thank you for finding us helpful.

About your complaint unfortunately we had to stop one of our lifts due to maintenance works, therefore we ask your understanding for the inconveniences this situation caused during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Vila Gale Estoril
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 478 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

For a 4-star hotel, the room was very weak!Little room and old furniture.
The worst: the room smelled of dust, the tub curtains were stained and bath towels are crumbling. The internet connection was very weak.
The good: The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank POSEIDONxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments that will allow us to improve our services.

We are sorry for the inconveniences caused during your stay and we can assure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed and every issues that you mention will be sorted out.

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The positive:
- unlike many hotels I've been to there was almost no problem with the internet. Actually we raided the place with almost 100 participants of an information science related event and all were using their laptops simultaneously. The internet took it quite well.
- rooms are spacious, comfortable and in top shape.
- hotel is conveniently located. The atlantic ocean, the casino, the metro station, two shops, several bars and a gas station are all in the direct neighborhood.
- There are empty minibar fridges in each hotel room and you can stock it yourself. Very convenient. Always a nice fresh

The negative:
- the buffet food was getting a bit monotonous after a while and the waiters were not very generous with re-filling my wine glass! Come on boy, just put the damn bottle on the table. Less work for you, and everyone is happy.
- what's with those oversized tablecloths? This made me trip and I spilt a full glass of red wine over a very nice lady. It was not that funny (for her).
- The pool was closed during most of my stay there, because it was painted "red". Red? Wait a moment, why would you paint it red? Are you planning to feed your guests to piranhas? ;)
But frankly I anyway don't understand the people wanting a pool, when there is the Atlantic right next.
- the hotel doesn't really have a garden / open air common area (okay, except the crimson pool area which is kind of small)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bretthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.

We appreciate the feed back that we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve. We are very pleased with your comments about the positive and negative points.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril.

Best regards
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent a week here. Very convenient for the trains to Lisbon and Cascais and buses to Sintra. Staff very friendly. Rooms a very good size and very clean and inspite of the main road outside extremely quiet. A good place to stay if you want good transport links.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESH756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

I would also like to thank you on behalf of tall our staff for finding us very friendly . We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed at Vila Gale for 3 nights. Hotel is situated one road and one railway track from sea. The pool was under maintenance so I missed the opportunity to use. Staff at the reception desk is somewhat restrained. They should be a little more friendly and warm. Restaurant staff is very polite but food is nothing special. Hotel has a good location very close to railway station to explore Lisabon, Cascai and region. I doubt a little bit about the 4th star of this hotel. I would give them 3 stars+. Rooms are clean but somekind a little out of date. You can use free wi-fi in lobby but there is some kind of procedure to receive user name and password.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors have sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ribez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate the feed back that we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at Vila Gale for 2 nights and the hotel is well located in Estoril.
Rooms very good and clean!
Good facilities,just a shame the pool was in maintenence during our stay, but solutions were given from the reception manager.
Restaurant staff very good and very polite, very good breakfast and buffet in the evening very good as well
Reception staff could be a bit more warm and a smile is always important such as the arrival of a guest to an hotel, the first impact can make a full stay,
A few steps from the hotel lots of bars, restaurants and the the sea front - Tamariz Beach! Perfect.
All in all a good place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadeiraIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs about our Restaurant staff, Breakfast, Evening Buffet, location and cleanliness.

About your complaint unfortunately our Swimming pool was closed due to maintenance works, with the aim of improving our standards and services. Therefore we ask your understanding for the inconveniences this situation caused during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The hotel is well situated on the front, very close to the railway station. You can easily catch a bus into Lisbon, or just down the coast to Cascais. It is also an easy walk into Cascais along the sea front. We had a lovely room on the 6th floor with a fabulous sea view.
Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice.
All the staff were pleasant but Alvaro in the bar was particularly cheery, always had a happy, welcoming smile. Unfortunately the bar itself is just a bit on the gloomy side - could do with lightening up.
In fact the only complaint we had was the nightly charge for the safety deposit box in the room - come on guys this should be free in this day and age.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, its well worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sunshinegirlmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for all the good critcs about our Breakfast and location. I would also like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us pleasant.

About your only complaint, unfortunately we still charge for the safety deposit box, we hope in the near future not to charge for this service.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: $85 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing