We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, proved worthy of conference use.”
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, proved worthy of conference use.”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The positive:
- unlike many hotels I've been to there was almost no problem with the internet. Actually we raided the place with almost 100 participants of an information science related event and all were using their laptops simultaneously. The internet took it quite well.
- rooms are spacious, comfortable and in top shape.
- hotel is conveniently located. The atlantic ocean, the casino, the metro station, two shops, several bars and a gas station are all in the direct neighborhood.
- There are empty minibar fridges in each hotel room and you can stock it yourself. Very convenient. Always a nice fresh

The negative:
- the buffet food was getting a bit monotonous after a while and the waiters were not very generous with re-filling my wine glass! Come on boy, just put the damn bottle on the table. Less work for you, and everyone is happy.
- what's with those oversized tablecloths? This made me trip and I spilt a full glass of red wine over a very nice lady. It was not that funny (for her).
- The pool was closed during most of my stay there, because it was painted "red". Red? Wait a moment, why would you paint it red? Are you planning to feed your guests to piranhas? ;)
But frankly I anyway don't understand the people wanting a pool, when there is the Atlantic right next.
- the hotel doesn't really have a garden / open air common area (okay, except the crimson pool area which is kind of small)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bretthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.

We appreciate the feed back that we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve. We are very pleased with your comments about the positive and negative points.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril.

Best regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    216
    114
    29
    8
See reviews for
102
187
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent a week here. Very convenient for the trains to Lisbon and Cascais and buses to Sintra. Staff very friendly. Rooms a very good size and very clean and inspite of the main road outside extremely quiet. A good place to stay if you want good transport links.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESH756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

I would also like to thank you on behalf of tall our staff for finding us very friendly . We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed at Vila Gale for 3 nights. Hotel is situated one road and one railway track from sea. The pool was under maintenance so I missed the opportunity to use. Staff at the reception desk is somewhat restrained. They should be a little more friendly and warm. Restaurant staff is very polite but food is nothing special. Hotel has a good location very close to railway station to explore Lisabon, Cascai and region. I doubt a little bit about the 4th star of this hotel. I would give them 3 stars+. Rooms are clean but somekind a little out of date. You can use free wi-fi in lobby but there is some kind of procedure to receive user name and password.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ribez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate the feed back that we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at Vila Gale for 2 nights and the hotel is well located in Estoril.
Rooms very good and clean!
Good facilities,just a shame the pool was in maintenence during our stay, but solutions were given from the reception manager.
Restaurant staff very good and very polite, very good breakfast and buffet in the evening very good as well
Reception staff could be a bit more warm and a smile is always important such as the arrival of a guest to an hotel, the first impact can make a full stay,
A few steps from the hotel lots of bars, restaurants and the the sea front - Tamariz Beach! Perfect.
All in all a good place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeiraIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs about our Restaurant staff, Breakfast, Evening Buffet, location and cleanliness.

About your complaint unfortunately our Swimming pool was closed due to maintenance works, with the aim of improving our standards and services. Therefore we ask your understanding for the inconveniences this situation caused during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The hotel is well situated on the front, very close to the railway station. You can easily catch a bus into Lisbon, or just down the coast to Cascais. It is also an easy walk into Cascais along the sea front. We had a lovely room on the 6th floor with a fabulous sea view.
Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice.
All the staff were pleasant but Alvaro in the bar was particularly cheery, always had a happy, welcoming smile. Unfortunately the bar itself is just a bit on the gloomy side - could do with lightening up.
In fact the only complaint we had was the nightly charge for the safety deposit box in the room - come on guys this should be free in this day and age.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sunshinegirlmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for all the good critcs about our Breakfast and location. I would also like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us pleasant.

About your only complaint, unfortunately we still charge for the safety deposit box, we hope in the near future not to charge for this service.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have just returned from Estoril, the holiday was excellent. The Vila Gale Hotel is superb, all the staff are friendly and attentive. The Hotel is perfectly located, close to the beautiful grounds around the Estoril Casino and a five minute walk to the Tamariz beach. Near the Hotel is a train station with a regular service to Lisbon in one direction and nearby Cascais in the other. A return ticket to Lisbon is only 4.05 euros, the journey takes about 20 minutes to Lisbon or 5 minutes to Cascais.
The buffet breakfast in the Hotel is excellent, everything is available, including bacon, eggs and sausages, and a full range of continental foods.
There is an outdoor rooftop swimming pool (not heated ), and a fully equipped gym.
They have a very good a la carte restaurant serving the best steaks.
We stayed half board and ate in the buffet restaurant each night, the range of food was varied and of good quality.
The Hotel is clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vivjen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you found our Hotel superb, and you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for all the good critcs about our Breakfast, restaurants, location and cleanliness.

I would also like to thank you on behalf of tall our staff for finding us friendly and attentive. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Easy to get to the train to Lisbon, to walk along the coast path to Cascais and to go to the Casino. Rooms are a good size with everything you need. Restaurant is a bit flaky as is the erratic food supply at breakfast especially if it is busy. Pool is nice but get there early for an umbrella.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We We appreciate your comments which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Estoril or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#4 of 17 in Estoril
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#6 of 17 in Estoril
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Property: Vila Gale Estoril
Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing