We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Estoril walking distance from Cascais”
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Estoril
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Nice hotel, great location. Very spacious rooms, however, lacking in warmth and charm. Room was slightly dated. Great breakfast buffet, large variety. Staff was very nice. In walking distance from Train Station, ocean, and nearby Cascais. Hotel had tour options to Sintra, and Alcobaca, which is a must when visiting Lisbon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank USAPascual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Cascais

Best regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 494 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

great location and views, rooms spacious, clean but a little outdated style, the staff incredibly friendly there are also many atractions and little restaurants around this location, just next to the beach and little train station if you want to go to lisbon ( 20 mim )

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We were pleased to learn that you found the staff helpful and that you enjoyed the the stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Kind Regards.

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Nice little hotel near the ocean between Cascais and Estoril.
Generally as advertised online. Service is good and helpful, and registration desk speaks English exceptionally well.

Breakfast buffet is fantastic. Everything from omelets/bacon to fresh fruit, many kinds of pastries, variety of juices, 5+ kinds of sausages/ham etc. Even homebaked cake.

Only other comment is that they seem to charge for some amenities you might expect for free. Internet is 16Euro/day or 2.5/hour, and you even have to pay for your inroom safe to work (2.5E/day).

Beds are pretty typical for European hotels. Didn't bother me, since I had a lot of jetlag.

Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ravenben75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I was in Portugal about 20years ago,and then I thought that this was a nice,and interessant place,of course I only went to the Capital city,Lisboa,and i find that the people ware very friendly and very courtese,the city was very interesting and quite reasonable for shopping.So my wife and I decidet to com back and trye a different part of the country.We went last month for 10days to Estoril a sea side resort,we steh at the hotel Vila Gale`a 3 star hotel only 50m from a lovely and very busy beach. The transfere from and to the airport,was first classe same with the welcome at the hotel,very friendly,and very obliged.we were alf board,and the Breakfast in the morning and the evening diner at night where just first classe,nothing was to mouch for the staff,in the restaurant,and the same for the room service.the only disapoint was that there was nothing goin on in the evening not in the hotel,and not in the town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pizzamaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Rooms with balconies are noisy -on a busy main road.Rooms are spacious ,tho'.Air con creates condensation which,in turn, soaks the pelmet.But,hey-ho,not our problem.
Location excellent.Breakfast v.good.Beds v.hard and a little 'meagre'.Staff friendly.Rooms clean but a little dated.Bathroom nicely appointed,shower good if somewhat tired.
Swimming pool on roof
Plenty of bars ,shops around.Tip: kiosk by the station for good value sarnies

Room Tip: You can ask for a balcony but bring ear-plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

stayed in this hotel for a week in a group of 16. Rooms spacious,beds hard,air con a bit noisy,breakfast buffet adequate,lifts limited ( especially for 16 guys needing to bring golf clubs to/from rooms at the same time ). On the plus side, friendly staff,ideal location on main road across from train station and the beach,good pool,didn't use leisure centre.
In general a good hotel, but would consider staying in cascais next time where this a wider selection of restaurants,shops and bars

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockycullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Well positioned near to the sea front and rail station to Lisbon. Staff very friendly and helpful but noise transmits through the building too easily and the beds are rather too firm. The rooms are a little spartan for 4* but generally clean. Meals, couldn't fault them either in the restaurant or the buffet. Excellent choice for both buffet and breakfast.
We wouldn't like to pay full rate but yes we would recommend it otherwise.

Room Tip: Avoid those above the front door. Too much noise from late revellers using the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fsmjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 40 in Cascais
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#3 of 18 in Estoril
359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 18 in Estoril
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
2.3 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#15 of 40 in Cascais
740 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#4 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: $76 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing