We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
28
55
44
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
55
44
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station bread rolls hotel is located minute walk cascais prom beaches
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 160 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2017

The staff was unpollite and malorganised. Yet they asked for paying 2 fotocopies. There was dust in the room. The breakfast was very nice. The position is very nice to relax and jogging, but very far from traditional places.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vincenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

This place seemed a nice little hotel near the beach, but for the price we pay it was a disappointment. But let’s star from the beginning;

Positives points:

The hotel is located in the outskirts of Lisbon in the very touristic county of Estoril, were the Estoril Casino is located.

Very close to the Tamariz beach.

Near the Estoril Casino

Close to several restaurant’s and bars.

Decent Wi-Fi signal

All rooms (we were in) had (small) bathtubs.

Very kind hotel staff (front desk and cleaning ladies).

Negative points:

The “Continental breakfast” that is included is totally fake publicity. In fact the breakfast it’s just a regular low-end breakfast of: bread, cheese, factory ham, mini croissants (they had to be mini…really??) , some horrible yogurts, a totally tasteless cereals, coffee, milk and some really bad juice. There were no toaster, no fruit, no eggs, no pastries.

The person that worked in the breakfast area had a totally bad way of working, sometimes she dust empty/dumped the bread and other stuff in the trays. That’s no way to behave/work with food in front of hotel customers…or any other place for that matter.

The hairdryer in the bathroom was broken in our first room….but the hotel front desk (very nice and helpful people in the front desk) found us a room in the next day. Still…. for people with wet long hair, that was a pain; don’t understand how a hotel, , in this day and age, don’t have an hand hairdryer in the front desk, to cover this types of situations.

The bathroom, had no electrical outlets (!!!); according to hotel staff, when the bathroom were renovated, some years ago, the legislation did not allowed electrical outlets for safety reasons…. however the current legislation, does allow now, electrical outlets in hotel bathrooms, but they did not correct this situation.

No welcome bath utilities kit (it’s an hotel remember?)…just some low-end soap e shower gel.

No mini-bar or mini-fridge in the rooms.

Terrible TV reception in the rooms…and it was cable TV (!!!)

No safe for values in the rooms.

Another important point worthy of mention is that this hotel is “glued” to one of the major suburban train lines of the capital of Portugal, so if you are light sleeper, this hotel is not for you. Of course, it’s not like the walls shake with a passing train or anything like that, but you hear the train pass quit clearly.

Bottom line:

The São Mamede Hotel is in a decent location, (if you don’t mind the noise of the trains passing by) but is basically a B&B, charging high season 4 star hotel prices (note that the hotel is outside the city of Lisbon), even in low season.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback.
The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority.
We express It’s very pleasing that you remarked our Very kind and helpful staff.
We are also very happy that you noticed the central location of our hotel (very close to the Tamariz beach, to the Estoril Casino and to several restaurant’s and bars.)
as well as our decent Wi-Fi signal.
We take pride in our simple, fresh and delicious breakfast, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay.
Our continental breakfast is a breakfast that consists of food such as daily fresh bread and croaissants, butter, 3 types of jam, hot chocolate, coffee, milk, orange juice, pineaple juice, 2 up to 3 types of tea, ham , cheese, fruit or fruit salad, choco cereal and corn flakes. There is no cooked food, like scrambled eggs on the standard rate (but you can add it on, paying an addiction cost.)
Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and good facilities. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.
The train station and also anothers public transports are close to the hotel, this proximity is part of what attracts many of our guests. We do offer quieter rooms on our south and east side that can be reserved upon request.
We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. We do not have safe box on the Room, but on the reception is in fact available, free of charges the service from 24/7.
We were surprised to read your comments regarding our employee, who is one of our best.
We are thankful for your suggestion regaring the hairdryer. We will take note and leave a hairdryer in the front desk, to cover this types of situations.
The bathroom, problem, (no electrical outlets) will be fixed as soons as possible, is on our plans to correct this situation. As well the misunderstood of the bath utilities.
We do not offer mini-bar or mini-fridge in the rooms as everyone can consult previusly the booking process, like on our oficial webpage or on the partners webpages and brochures.
Anyway we always free to keep some guest itens on our bar support fridge.
We didn´t received any complaints about the terrible tV reception in the rooms recently, but we will check with our maintenance department what had happened .

We really hope you will give us a second chance to cut a better figure.

Yours sincerely,

Nadir Nunes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

Amazing staff special a girl the name is Vania if im not wrong.Cheaper and in a good place.
Nice for families.
Sometimes we could here the bus passing by but after sleep i couldnt hear nothing more.Very nice rooms too.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank Pi_sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Dear Sofia, Thank you very much for choosing of our hotel for your stay in Estoril and nice comments,we so highly appreciate that you enjoyed your holiday here and felt comfortable. We hope you will be back soon, Have a nice time, Best Regards , Nadir Nunes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016

What you would expect for a 2 star hotel, basic, clean but no extras like drink facilities in the small room. Although a hairdryer was provided wires were hanging out dangerously from all angles. Would have been acceptable for a 2-star other than holiday being marred by a simple, brief episode of humour and laughter shared with a member of staff, who was subsequently told off and reduced to tears, which left a dark cloud over the time in the hotel. I got the impression the staff who work very hard were not happy workers - a great shame.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsky2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others regarding you stay at the Hotel São Mamede Estoril. We are very sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations, and consequently you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.
We are constantly working to improve our services and facilities in order to welcome you again.
With our Best Regards, Nadir Nunes







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Had a comfortable night here, staff was very friendly. The breakfast was rather small, very few choices and the breakfast room is on level -1 below ground. Not a problem for me though as I am not a big eater in the morning anyways.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Dear Guest, First of all , thank you for sharing with us your stay over Hotel Sao Mamede. We sincerely are appreciative of your kind review and for commending our professional team, central location and efficient service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations with respect to our breakfast. We are constantly working to improve our services and facilities in order to welcome you again. With our Best Regards, Nadir Nunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews