We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
27
54
44
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
54
44
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationbread rollshotel is locatedminute walkcascaisprombeaches
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 157 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This is one of the cheapest hotel in Estoril, it was 50€/night/room with breakfast. The room was small but clean with a small balcony and bathroom with bathtub. The location is well. The only negativ thnig was the tedious breakfast day by day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Márton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Mr. Thmarton,

Good morning!
Thank you for your kind comment.
About the breakfast information, could you please suggest something to us?
Your opionion is very important to us.

Our best regards,

São Mamede Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This hotel is a real hidden gem. Excellent value and a great location about 4 minutes walk from Estoril beach (Tamariz). The rooms are quite small, but nicely done, with remote control air conditioning and samsung flat screens with plenty of (including some english) channels.

As mentioned the location is great, near to lots of shops and restaurants and the beach and station. It is very easy to find. You dont get much of a view from the hotel, but for the cost its still excellent value.

The train to Lisbon takes around 30 minutes and is very cheap. The train also goes to Cascais, which has an abundance of restaurants and bars and another nice beach. There is a promenade which stretches from Estoril to Cascais along the ocean and has lots of nice places to eat and drink at very reasonable cost right on the seafront. Local wine is particularly reasonable. The breakfast was fine, cold cuts and breads, crossiants etc. but all you need if you go in the summer! Book in advance for great deals!

Lovely place, nice hotel, would highly reccomend for the price. What makes this even better is that the other hotels in the vicinity of this hotel are much more expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pinnertraveller1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Hotel São Mamede at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Mr./Mrs. Pinnertraveller1986 ,

Honestly we recognized that we are responding later your comment and please apologize us for that. We want to thank you for your kind review about us.
Please don´t hesitate to contact us on your next visit to Estoril!

Hope see you soon,

Our best regards,
Hotel São Mamede Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We booked this via Late Rooms, and the reviews there were pretty good. We have pretty much decided we will be coming back as we regularly visit this area.
Location
The hotel is located adjacent to both the railway and the road so you can look at it one of two ways - you do get a bit of noise (We were by the railway but to be honest we both slept straight through both nights) or you have excellent travel links. It's perfect for getting to/from Cascais and Lisbon, and it's 2 min to the beach as well.
Rooms
Extremely clean and comfortable. This is better than you can ever expect for the money - we only paid 33Euro a night and we were really pleasantly surprised. Rooms have brand new TVs, air con and heating.
Staff
Couldn't have been more helpful, even booking me in for a pedicure. They are very helpful and Ana has a wicked sense of humour. The staff have great English and you get the impression they are friends. That makes a hughe difference to the atmosphere here. Also the owner came in both days we were there - how often do you go a hotel and that happens?
Facilities
There isn't any parking on site but there are 2 free car parks up the roa (100m) and wer got in there fine. Apparently it's not always that easy but we were more than happy. There is a lovely bar that sells drinks at sensible prices, and 2 lounge areas on the ground floor with 2 more TVs. Breakfast is on the lower ground foor- simple but tasty.

So back to the stars. We were so surprised it was only a 2 star hotel we asked why. Apparently a few years back the owner did a load of renovations. They took out the cetral heating, put in the aircon and heating systems, new bathrooms by the look of it too, and then the ratings people came back. They were then advised the hallways are 10cm too narrow to meet the 3star standard.

If you want a good budget hotel you won't go far wrong here. Top place for a cheap break.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rachy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Hotel São Mamede at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Mrs. Rachy 29 ,

Honestly we recognized that we are responding later your comment and please apologize us for that. We want to thank you for your kind review about us.
When you come back to Estoril, we hope to overtake you!

Hope see you soon,

Our best regards,
Hotel São Mamede Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I stayed with friends in Residencial Sao Mamede in 1999 after finding their website and emailing the owner directly, who was very accommodating. Ten years later I was pleasantly surprised to find it listed on a booking website as a low budget hotel and at the best price in the area and didn't hesitate to book again. I think it was the same owner who was there too.

It's well priced and very well run - it's priced the same as other 'resedencials' in the area but there aren't many of this size and quality and it's obvious from the clean luxurious reception and ongoing upgrades to the rooms that the owner wants to be considered a proper budget hotel, and from my experience this time round in 2009 it deserves to be considered as such.

It has a fantastic location just yards from the beach, beach bars, promenade and train station of Estoril (not to mention gardens and Casino) so all the local attractions are within eyesight and 2 minute walk, as is direct rail travel to other towns, beaches and Lisboa - something a lot of the more expensive hotels in Estoril and the Cascais coast cannot boast.

Hence it is a perfect base for everything in the area or just for the very lazy who want nothing more than a beacn resort on their doorstep. Which makes the pricing all the more attractive. I believe it was renovated in 2004 but by the looks of things they keep making improvements as we had a brand new flatscreen TV in our rooms with nearly 40 satellite channels.

It's comfortable throughout and has a small well kept 24 hour bar near reception and a large clean breakfast room with great all-inclusive breakfast (cereals, croissants, rolls etc) while watching the news channels on TV. Reception itself is prompt and friendly and though I grew up in the area and speak some Portuguese, they were just as helpful to my English friends.

The only criticism would be that the rooms are quite small, some of the furniture is dated and the air conditioning units in the room seem a bit weak (it was 30 degrees) but you take these issues in a budget hotel in such a great location and the rooms did have fitted wardrobes with floor to ceiling mirrors, clean en-suite bathrooms and maid service everyday.

All my friends were really impressed that I knew about this place, I believe it is the best kept secret for a budget stay in the area and would recommend it to everyone. They were doing more work while we were there so clearly this is a place that aspires to improve all the time, I just hope that as it appears on all the booking websites the prices don't go up too!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fernandesbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Hotel São Mamede at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Mr. Bristol ,

Honestly we recognized that we are responding later your comment and please apologize us for that. We want to thank you for your kind review about us.
When you come back to Estoril, and promise you to be better on your next visite!

Hope see you soon,

Our best regards,
Hotel São Mamede Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews