We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolce Vita Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Estoril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked 10 days stay, having never been to Estoril before. We wanted a beach holiday plus the chance to visit Lisbon, easily. That is exactly what we got plus the added value of free excellent local knowledge. Fernando could not have been more helpful. His hospitality and attention to detail was beyond our needs. Free advice on beaches / restaurants / train times to Lisbon and what to see. We would very happy to return and stay here again.

Room Tip: The pink room is excellent for a longer stay. More room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
87
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Dolce Vita Guesthouse for four nights at the beginning of September.
It was our first time in Estoril and Fernando, the proprietor, made us both feel very welcome indeed.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, with very comfortable beds and pillows (we stayed in the Yellow Room), and each room is very tastefully furnished and decorated as is the rest of the property. There is a lovely feeling of peace and serenity which permeates the property and it was always nice to return in the evenings to a warm welcome. Fernando was on hand when we needed anything but we also had our privacy too when so desired.
Breakfasts were taken on the balcony with stunning views over Estoril and to Cascais which were lovely and a great start to the day.
Although we had a good few ideas about our plans for our stay, Fernando was very good at filling in the gaps when needed and assisting with ideas about places to visit, transport, timings, cultural and historical knowledge which made things much simpler and I got the impression he was sincere in wanting us to make the most of our time and stay in Estoril/Portugal. It was great having all that local knowledge to hand so easily that one may not receive at a larger hotel!
All in all, it was a very pleasant and memorable stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending DV to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUZY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My friend and I spent 6 wonderful nights here in August 2013. Fernando's hospitality, knowledge and attention to detail provide everything a guest would want, it certainly exceeded my expectations. The breakfasts were splendid, Fernando provided helpful tips on sightseeing in the area, local produce and introduced me to unusual jams such as tomato and fig which were delicious. These are the reasons why I enjoy staying at a Guesthouse, the personal touch of the host provides so much more than a hotel ever could. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Dolce Vita is in a great location, it was easy to find by walking from the Estoril Sao Joao train station. Also within walking distance was Cascais town which had a great vibe and lovely bars and restaurants. The beaches in this part of Portugal are fantastic although we spent most of our time reading and sunbathing at the pool within the condominium where DV is located. Fernando's recommendations for restaurants in the area were spot on, Opiparo was our favourite right on the promenade where they do excellent cocktails:-)

We enjoyed meeting the other guests who were interesting and nice people. The balcony area is spacious and a great place to relax with a glass of wine in the evening. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susoldol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

With great attention to details (like fresh and beautiful flowers in the bathroom, fresh water next to your bed), Fernando makes sure that every guest is comfortable.
He is always available for advice and ideas regarding places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaSchaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have to agree with the positive comments that have been said. Bed and Breakfasts are supposed to be about living in someone's house and meeting other people, that said we only occasionally ran into others, the house was quiet and totally comfortable. This is an apartment in an upscale condominium. There are 3 rooms, 2 with in room baths and one with it's own bath outside the room. There is a common living area and balcony. Fernando lives upstairs but is always accessible for his guests. The apartment is decorated with beautiful and interesting objects from around the world. Fernando will give you an optional breakfast (8 euros) consisting of wonderful cheeses, breads, fruits, cookies/pastries, yogurt, juices etc. or you can walk down the hill (5 mins) to an excellent coffee shop or beyond to the beach where there are many possibilities. We chose the breakfast option except for one day when we had to leave early. Fernando strives to be an excellent host so he is available for questions, helpful hints, easiest transportation methods, etc. The condominium has a beautiful pool area which you are permitted to use but we were so busy we never had the chance to. The beach is a 10 minute walk down the hill (which means you have to walk back up remember) and there is a lovely promenade which you can walk to Cascais and pass many restaurants and beach options. Sintra, a must in sight seeing, is a 20 minute cab ride away (or bus). Lisbon is an easy 25 minute train ride from a nearby train station. In 5 days we were able to see many sights as well as enjoy some good beach time and it was wonderful to come back to Fernando's home. I also recommend looking at the Facebook page.

Room Tip: Pink room is the biggest, we stayed there and loved it. The twin bed room has the bathroom outside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

we spend two nights in apartment ,which we found very clean ,comfortable and convinient ,the major problem was that it was advertice as a apartment for rent with kitchen ,balcony ect
unfortunatelly in kitchen you can only keep mineral water or wine at fridge ,balcony you share with other guests and Fernando stay and living in living room around the clock watching if you close the door ect
generaly he rent the rooms in his flat at its not an apartment ,we completly lost our privacy
and the Fernando nick shoud be " how are you " which he use every second question
I will not recommend this flat if you like the privacy and not share this with Fernando
additionally I will not recommend the breakfest with old bread which Fernando heat at the owen and it cost 8 euro per person
for this rates which Fernando charge us you he can find very comfortable hotel

Room Tip: pink its the biggest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miroslaw B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMM56, Owner at Dolce Vita Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
After three years hosting guests at Dolce Vita Guest House, where I also live, this is the first time one guest complains about our hospitality.
Initially, these guests (a couple) reserved one of our rooms for twelve nights. Since the moment they arrived, I noticed something strange with the way they behaved, as if they were not happy with themselves.
From our side, we did the same we always do with our guests, welcoming them and trying to make them as comfortable and relaxed as possible at Dolce Vita Guesthouse.
After two nights, suddenly in the morning, while I was talking to another guest, this guest informed me they had to leave us, due to an unexpected problem with a family member, in their home country.
Surprised with this situation, I asked if I could help them, but he refused any help.
When I asked him how they would settle their account with us, he told me they would only pay for the two nights they stayed. At this point, I realized they were not serious about what they initially reserved with us and I decided to accept the two nights payment, without any discussion, just to see them leaving.
Regarding some of the comments made by this guest, they are based on misunderstands they had about what Dolce Vita Guesthouse is and also because he was not fair with what we offered them.
Upon their arrival, I showed them the house and their room, explaining all the relevant details and answering to their questions.
Because breakfast was not included in their rate, I asked if they would like to have it at home, or if they had a different idea. Because they didn't make any decision about breakfast, I invited them to have breakfast with us the next day, for free, which they accepted.
The bread they didn't like it's the same we always serve to our guests, and I also eat, everyday. Besides being good quality bread, produced on the Bread Museum of Portugal, it was not old.
Our other guests that had breakfast on that same day, they really enjoyed it.
Besides the fact these guests didn't pay their breakfast, they also had complimentary coffee and tea, a few times during their short stay.
Dolce Vita Guesthouse and I we are proud of providing our guests with a true friendly hospitality, always respecting their privacy.
The vast majority of our guests they love to stay with us. I believe this was an exception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dolce Vita for three nights in late July. Our stay there was truly perfect. When I emailed a question a couple days before our visit, I got a quick reply. After a day of travel from Porto, it was terrific when Fernando greeted us, took the luggage and gave us cold drinks. We stayed in the green room. It was beautifully decorated, and the best part was the East-facing balcony. The balcony doors had an electric shutter, so we didn't see sunrise till we wanted to, had a lovely breakfast outside, and enjoyed the fresh air in the shade in the afternoon. The bathroom was very spacious, and the shower was hot and had good water pressure. We could control the air-conditioner with a remote, and it was quiet. Though the room was small, it was fine for us. The other rooms are larger, and everything is well-represented on DV's website.

DV has free wifi, and it was fast! There is a lot of room to relax in the living room. There's a huge West-facing balcony off of it, covered by an awning, which keeps it remarkably cool and comfortable even on hot days. One can watch the sunset, and there is an ocean view. There is a tv in the living room, but we didn't use it. The condo complex is lovely, and there is a pool and tennis court to use, as well as a guard at the front gate (though the neighborhood is fine-we walked even at night).

The best part of the stay was getting to know Fernando, and especially getting his advice! His recommendations in town, from ice cream shop to restaurants on the promenade, were excellent. We told him we were planning a day trip to Sintra, and the advice he gave absolutely made our day. We would have wasted a LOT of time with our original plan.

The train from Lisbon is inexpensive, but it's a local train. If you want to spend several days touring Lisbon, you'd probably be better off staying in the city. But if you want a central location from which to take day trips to Sintra, Lisbon, Cabo da Roca, and be a 5 minute walk from the beach, DV is the place! The Estoril to Cascais promenade is lovely, and just a few minutes walk from DV. There is a grocery store nearby.

We arrived by taxi (about 5 Euros) from Estoril station (DV is walking distance to a smaller station in Estoril, but it wouldn't have been a pleasant walk with our big bags, and is easier to get a taxi from the main station).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Vita Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Vita Guesthouse

Property: Dolce Vita Guesthouse
Address: Rua Monte Leite 346 | Condominio Estoril Verde Mar, A1, 3 D, Estoril, Cascais 2765-496, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolce Vita Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Vita Guesthouse is located in a quality residential condominium in the Estoril area. The guest areas include three bedrooms accommodating a maximum of six guests. Besides the bedrooms, all with a private bathroom, our guests may enjoy a spacious living and dining room, with a fireplace, and two balconies, appropriately furnished so you can spend an agreeable time enjoying the splendid vistas, from the Atlantic Ocean to the Sintra hills. Outdoors, though within the condominium, there is a large, attractive garden, with native and exotic species, which you can enjoy in safety. You can also use the condo pool where you can get to know other residents or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolce Vita Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing