We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Halloween Dinner”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colares
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estalagem de Colares
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Colares
Reviewed November 3, 2011

With a menu revolving around the pumpkin theme the halloween dinner was somewhat disappointing. The food was uninspiring except for the soup, with salted cod fish lasagna and a custard cream for dessert.
Too little to be remembered!

The service is nice and the premisses are very comfortable and cozy, with a bar to start your night and a large second floor saloon with a nice fireplace.

Some say that the friday's menu is what counts, but I have never tried it.

As far as I can say not worth the visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for two nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Not having a car, the bus stop just outside the hotel was very useful for trips to the beach and Sintra. The room was clean and spacious with a good bathroom so we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frommydesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at 'Estalagem de Colares' in February 2010. The place is managed with a personal touch, that ads a special friendliness to a great location and value. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Room was cozy, simple but ample, private, clean and very quite. The Estalagem also has a great and cozy restaurant with inviting fragrances at lunch and dinner. We'll definitely come back to visit again and try the menu on that table by the fireplace where we took our great breakfast every morning.
On top of it all we realized there is so much more to the village of Colares than just being close to Sintra. Loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carmelmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We were recommended the Inn by a family member and prior to that we were going to book at the hotel Sintra Golf. We were so glad we chose the Estalagem de Colares as the location is perfect for sightseeing in Sintra yet only 30mins by car from Lisbon.The Sintra Golf may be a nice resort but it's location is near an industrial area not far from Lisbon- no where near as beautiful as Colares. The other bonus is the fantastic hotel restaurant and the friendly and very helpful staff.Every one from the manager 'Hui' (sorry if I've spelled it incorrectly) to the waiting staff and cleaner went out of their way to make our stay a happy and comfortable one. Our daughter is 12yrs and loved everyone! The restaurant is very reknowned in the area and popular with wealthy people from Lisbon who have holiday homes in Sintra-(The fillet steak was absolutely delicious and the chocolate dessert sublime!! Best food we had in Portugal.) You need to hire a car from Lisbon airport or getting to all of the amazing places in Sintra would be difficult.There is parking just across the road from the hotel which was very useful- There is no pool at the hotel but the location more than made up for it and there is a lovely public pool at 'Apple beach' 5-10 mins drive from the hotel- you can easily spend a day there. Over all a fantastic holiday location for history, culture and great food.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzieQ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

I've contacted the property trough email. They answered promptly. We booked our stay and only payed for it there. No credit card asked to book. It's a very romantic and nice play, great rooms, large, clean. They also have a restaurant (a little expensive but worth it) where you can have dinner by the fire and served by very gentle and nice people. It's almost a familiar place. It's a place close to great spots to visit: Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and others. Would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persejonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: il faut un moyen de transport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank amelie1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colares
2.1 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
410 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
370 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
3.7 mi away
Penha Longa Resort
6.4 mi away
Hotel Quinta da Marinha Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem de Colares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem de Colares

Address: Avenida Amilcar Augusto Gil 142, Colares 2705-199, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Colares
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLARESThe origins of Colares date back to immemorial times, even before the Foundation of Portugal. Some old chronicals refer a few legends, one of them being probably the true source of the village’s name: a german Countess used her own jewellery (Colares means necklaces)to buy this land, as she could not afford to pay for it with gold.THE INNThroughout the centuries, Colares became famous due to its vast plantations of fruit trees and mainly to the vineyards growing among pinetrees. In the early years of 1900, Domingos José Camarão selected this ancient village to open his small tavern, which nine decades later would become the Colares Inn. Today, we are proud in preserving its gourmet tradition along with a good service. With a cosy and confortable atmosphere, the Inn has a total of 13 rooms. One restaurant, a bar, a large sitting room, pleasant garden and private car parking are additional facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing