We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful & unique property”
other travelers have booked this property
Azenha patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Azenha patio
detail pool pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Azenha patio
detail pool
pool
The watermill
Azenha/ the watermill
gate to private patio
strawberries on the patio
cosy living room
fireplace in bedroom
cosy bed
Bedroom
gorgeous bathroom
dressing area
pool and lounge area
shady woods
Original Watermill grinding stone
The kitchen patio
Kitchen
Garden
Summertime
Perfect rose
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Colares, Sintra Municipality, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
LRL212
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful & unique property”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We thorough enjoyed our stay at the watermill. Paola greeted us on our arrival and had helpful local knowledge of the area. The property is beautifully finished to a very high standard and there was more than enough room for two of us. The bedroom is located at ground level, with a living area above and the bathroom on the floor below. The kitchen area is separate to the property and there is a small eating area outside. The kitchen was very well stocked including coffee machines etc; we cooked all of our meals and sat out on the the patio at night. The garden area and pool area is shared with the neighboring property but we did not use it during our stay. The watermill is situated about ten minutes from the beach, with many beaches and towns along the coast very easily accessible by car within half an hour. We would definitely stay again- it is a beautiful, peaceful property which is a great base for exploring Sintra. Thank you Paola.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful interior, totally unique.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Thank you for your kind words Laurel & Joseph
I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and it was a pleasure to meet you.
Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes
Paola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fireflyOx...
oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“NEGLECTED, DAMP AND MOULDY”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived to a property which did not bear any resemblance to be pictures on Holiday Lettings or reflect the reviews on Trip Advisor. I could give lots of detail but you will find the photos speak for themselves. Whilst the bedroom was clean, we did not expect it all to be so damp, including the bedding.To summarise the property is dilapidated, rundown, dirty and not maintained. The kitchen is a health hazard, mould, algae and check out the fridge. Lots of damp, mouldy cushions, torn sunbeds, dirty paint peeling pool and an indescribable BBQ area. A romantic watermill it is NOT!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: leaving
Liked least: everything - a total dump
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
I am very sorry that the property did not suit the needs of these guests
On one hand they say the the cottage was clean and then contradict saying it was dirty.
There is no BBQ in the Watermill!
The pool is cleaned weekly and is certainly not dirty although it is true that during this summer some of the paint did peel off.
It was impossible to contact or communicate with these guests before, during and after their stay.
They never announced their time of arrival and then arrived an hour before check in time, just let themselves in, locked the door and left without having the courtesy to wait.
They never complained while they were there although I sent messages to know if all was well.
I have had consistent good reviews throughout the summer and very happy guests. Sadly you cannot please everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisella44
Riethoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Romantic hideaway”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This beautiful and nice decorated old water mill is a very romantic place to stay. A few steps up is a beautiful flower garden and small hidden pool. We had a wonderful stay in this house with its outside kitchen and pretty outside dining area. Paola, the owner, is very helpful and really did a wonderful job in making this place one to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The romantic character
Liked least: I would prefer the bedroom upstairs instead of on the main floor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words.
It was a real pleasure to meet you both and hope to welcome you back soon.
All the best,
Paola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhawkx2
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful, romantic location”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The historic cottage was in peaceful, beautiful surroundings. It was nicely decorated and had everything we needed for a relaxing and romantic getaway. Paola was welcoming, friendly and helped coordinate dinner plans for my wife's 50th birthday. The bed was comfortable and the wood burning fireplace was perfect for one of the chillier nights. The location was close to everything -- yet felt a world away. We walked to Colares to buy wine from the cooperative and the market near Almocageme on the weekend for fruits and vegetables. The kitchen was stocked with a few essentials when arrived, which was a much appreciated welcome. The towel warmers in the bathroom were a nice touch - particularly because it helped dry our towels. Loved our stay!

Only minor suggestions - although we figured out how to get to Colares through the path in the woods and down the roads, a map or directions would be helpful to future guests. The directions to the cottage were very good. We found it without any problems, but we didn't know there was a neighboring property owned by someone else. We contacted him by mistake, so it would be helpful to have this clarified when booking. Although we had a travel iron, an iron would be a nice addition to the otherwise, well-stocked cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hostess, quiet charming location, natural beauty of area, nice decor, privacy
Liked least: It was to be expected being next to running water - challenge to find the right balance of fresh air with windows open while not having damp
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
Thank you for your kind review and suggestions.
There is in fact an iron and ironing board in the laundry that I neglected to point out to you.
It was lovely to meet you and I am glad you had a good time.
Warm regards
Paola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, it was a real pleasure to meet you and I hope to welcome you back someday.
All the best,
Paola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paradise...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A sensation of reward once you arrive.”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Charming watermill set as secret in the southwest hillside of Sintra. The narrow path taking you there, slowly introduces you to the traces of exceeded expectations to come.
House(s) perfectly framed in the slope, charming, with impeccable interiors where you can find all the amenities you need for a wonderful stay – a perfect combination of comfort and good taste.
You can go far in a few minutes, but you can stay close as well, forgetting the world where you came from.
You imagine quietness you'll get peace.
The swimming pool is the major reason for staying around. Read, take a swim or a nap, while the senses rest in the gentle murmur of the afternoon breeze passing through the long oak branches. Take the front door path and go for a walk along the course of the waterway towards the center of Colares village, a chance to meet the botanic world of the region and spot butterflies species that will cross your way.
But still you can go far in a short while: the beachs, 5 minutes; Palace of Sintra, Palace of Pena and Castelo dos Mouros, 10 minutes; Lisbon, half an hour.
After dinner, try to lie down in the kitchen roof top, you’ll easily read in the stars you next visit to this amazing place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Thank you for your poetic description and kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richel87
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Refreshingly Different!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our first TripAdvisor booking so we were quite apprehensive. Would everything be as detailed in the information? etc etc?

We need not have worried. Delightful "hippy-chic/extremely chique" owner Paola greeted us on arrival and made us feel right at home in her beautifully restored water mill residence.

It's a truly special space for a couple. Or book both properties for privacy. Or share with friends. We were lucky enough to have booked only the mill but had the place to ourselves on this occasion.

It's a little more expensive than most, however Paola prides herself on providing a boutique style stay - providing a daily maid service and a fridge full of fresh local produce to kick start the vacation. We are used to having to clean our rentals before we settle in and then again on departure - so this was a service that is definitely worth the extra euros!

The fantastic local beach is just a fast paced 30 mins walk down hill. Don't forget that you need to walk back up! However, stop off in the village en-route and reward yourself with a refreshing beverage - at local prices i.e. no rip off tourist prices here! If you're adventurous use google earth to discover the scenic off road route rather than the standard road down!

We expected the water mill to have a good source of stream water - obviously! However, it is a good strong flow. The constant tune of which I found most relaxing and comforting. However, should you have super sharp hearing like my husband bring a pair of ear plugs to aid sleep! For us - the adjacent property a little further away from the water source will probably be our first choice next time . And there most certainly will be a next time!

Thank you Paola - you are a charming host and your villas are beautifully designed and comfortably furnished, in a beautiful secluded part of this truly outstanding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
Dear Helen,
Thank you so much for your very kind review and am so happy you enjoyed your stay.
it was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope to see you again someday.
Kindest regards,
Paola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing