We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found paradise”
Review of Quinta do Corvo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colares
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta do Corvo
Ranked #7 of 9 Colares B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Quinta do Corvo is a collection of charming, individually decorated apartments set in a magical oasis in the hills overlooking Sintra.

The wild, rambling gardens will take you a full afternoon to explore, offering surprises at every turn and there are countless intriguing sculptures hiding in delightfully overgrown fringes. The rooms are simple, comfortable and classy and there is also a swimming pool as well as chickens, sheep, goats, cats and dogs to make friends with.

This is wonderful place to holiday and would be perfect for either couples or families with small children who will be able to safely explore the gardens on their own. The beach is 10 minutes’ drive away and there are numerous restaurants within easy reach to suit all tastes and budgets.

Quinta do Corvo is located in a national park, with many interesting walking and sightseeing opportunities, including the beautiful, eccentric winter palaces where the royal family and their court used to spend the summer.

The owners and hosts, Ben and Manuel will make you feel part of the family for the duration of your stay, and the twice-weekly barbeques on the terrace are a relaxed way to get to know your hosts as well as other guests.

We’ve been visiting Quinta do Corvo regularly for many years and would recommend it to anyone looking for something special and quite different.

For us, Quinta do Corvo is a little paradise and we hope you find paradise here as well.

Room Tip: Give Ben a call and he'll recommend something to suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Quinta do Corvo provides the perfect balance for a holiday. There is seclusion without the isolation, privacy with easy company and a relaxing garden atmosphere with convenience as well. Shades of Shangri-la in a converted old farming quinta.

QdC is within easy reach, 40 mins or so by car, of Lisbon airport, so your holiday begins without a tiresome trek. On arrival rooms are clean and tidy and we have always been welcomed by Ben, the owner, who has built QdC up over many years. Ben and his small number of helpers are unfailingly friendly and helpful.

We have been returning now for 4 years and tried most of the rooms all of which offer the same comfortable formula; bed, sitting area, kitchen and bathroom. Decoration is eclectic but blends in, local pots and pictures with simple furniture all of which is just right for the converted farmhouses which form the basis of the accommodation. Best part of the arrival is small offering of port in a decanter that begs to be drunk after the journey. Small detail but a signal of Portuguese flavour of the stay and the ambience.

Ben will provide breakfast at time which suits each morning which involves fresh local bread, pastries, jam and tea/coffee. Always good start in sunny mornings and presented on fresh linen.

QdC has gates to go in and out which provide a sense of privacy whilst inside there are a superb range of little areas with a rich mix of garden and rambling areas both around each apartment and the pool area. There are a small numbers of farm animals in QdC which provide real eye opener to our urban children in that they can be up close with live sheep and chickens.

With Sintra and its fabulous palaces and gardens within 15 mins drive, a range of beaches as close and short hop to Caiscaes for the train to Lisbon QdC/Colares provides a great location to get some culture, local flavour or just a tan. The pool on site is great when you just feel like doing nothing. The Sintra sites offer something to everyone of all ages be it castles, follies, superb gardens or contemplative monastery. These were a genuine surprise on our first visit and there interest has not dulled with each further visit.

Cooking is easy with small supermarket open everyday for pretty much everything you need to cater for a family. Superb butcher in the local village allows even passable barbequers to look good and the local fresh fruit and vegetables taste marvellous.There is a convivial evening meal up at the main house twice a week. This a welcome break from the cooking and a great opportunity to chat late into the evening with other visitors there.

We have still to see Mafra and other sites a bit further afield. Our boys are still small but surfing and body boarding being is available to older kids and the Atlantic breeze keeps the temperature more bearable than the say Algarve, which works for us.

Overall QdC works so well and there is not much that prevents adult relaxation whilst keeping children stimulated. Ben's attention to detail and easy nature have made it a firm favourite with us and we cannot but recommend it most highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence_vKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jackbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Sabrina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Proprietário at Quinta do Corvo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baepraun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank annaschmalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Owner at Quinta do Corvo, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Coco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben W, Owner at Quinta do Corvo, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colares hotels
1.6 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
420 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sintra Sol
Sintra Sol
#8 of 9 in Colares
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pensao Sisudo
Pensao Sisudo
#3 of 13 in Colares
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Vigia
Quinta da Vigia
#9 of 13 in Colares
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Bolacha
Casa Bolacha
#4 of 13 in Colares
6 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#1 of 13 in Colares
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Corvo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Corvo

Address: Caminho do Corvo | Caminho do Corvo 2705-032 Colares- Sintra, Colares 2705-032, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colares
Price Range: $88 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta with in de rebuilt farmhouse for rent: 8 selfcatering apartments/cottages/studios each for 2-5. Max cap 32 pp. Idyllicly nested in a lush valley in the protected area of Parque Natural Sintra-Cascais at 3 km from the beaches. Big romantic garden with shared heated pool. Good public transport connection with Sintra, Cascais and from there to Lisbon. Startingpoint for walking&tracking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing