We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely holiday in a stunning area of Portugal”
Review of Quinta Beira-Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta Beira-Mar
Ranked #4 of 9 Colares B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our third visit in four years. Why? Because this area is stunning, the beaches are amazing, you can walk to them. The restaurants are great and it is where the Portuguese go on holiday! The house has dogs, but this is posted by the owner and the owner cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is huge and the owner is always prepared to offer advice on what to do, Obidos this time - take a trip! Horse riding for my daughter was the highlight, yes there may be things to improve, but the welcome the kindness and the generosity is second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonnyjabbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

I spent a weeks holiday in this lovely house with my kids and loved it. The room was large and clean and the house is perfectly situated with a beautiful sea view and minutes from amazing beaches. There is plenty to do around Sintra [15 mins away] and there are fab restaurants too. Susanna the host is very friendly and welcoming and was great at recommending good walks and things to do. There are plenty of animals which the kids loved....

Room Tip: The ensuites are large rooms with good showers and it has a fridge which was useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I recently visited Quinta Beira-Mar with two friends and we had the most wonderful stay. The house is gorgeous and situated in the most stunning location. A two minute walk takes you down to the beach and a 20 minute walk across the beach takes you to the local town of Praia das Macas. There is loads to do in the local area and lots of fantastic restaurants, bars and interesting places to visit.
The house is absolutely gorgeous with a beautiful garden and swimming pool. Our hostess, Susanna, was completely charming and couldn't have been any more helpful and warmly hospitable. The animals are great and added a lovely, homey dimension to our stay.
I would highly recommend visiting this beautiful home in a splendid location!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs facing the sea have balconies and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This place is fab. Its location can't be beaten and it's position and views are stunning. The beaches have a rare quality and yet the weather is lovely too. Go to Sinatra this is amazing and also just walk to the beaches. The restaurants here get cheaper as the portuguese economy suffers. Susannah has mastered the art of leaving you to do your things yet helping if necessary she goes the extra mile every time and nothing be that a wash or advice is ever too much trouble. Yes there are dogs but our kids love them. This place is like a home from home and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyjabbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We booked ourselves into Quinta Beira-Mar for 5 nights in July 2011 whilst we visited our friends who live in Colares. We chose to stay here because of the website which seemed friendly, had clear photos each of the rooms and the location was great, very close to 3 beaches: Praia Grande, Praia Pequena and the Praia das Macas.

We weren't disappointed. Our room, Chorao, was huge with its own bathroom and overlooked the garden. Breakfasts were a friendly affair with all guests gathered around a large table sharing where they have visited or were planning to visit over fresh rolls, a wide selection of cheeses, ham, preserves, cereals, juice, tea and endless coffee.

Susanna is a great hostess, friendly, generous and approachable but for us our stay there was completed by Josie and Baloo, the resident Newfoundlands and lifeguards for the lovely pool in the garden - perfect for cooling off on those extremely hot days.

We will definitely be staying here next time we visit our friends!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank Ischia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Our 2nd visit and as ever the hosts were welcoming, even remmebering our prefernecs for breakfast and staying up even though our flight was delayed. They have worked hard on improving it since last year and the pool is beautifully done. Susannah has worked hard at this and she runs the most friendly place we have ever stayed at. The beaches as ever are stunning and enjoyed visiting Cascais. restaurants were very reasonable. Will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyjabbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at the Quinta for a couple of nights. Overall it was good, but we have had better. However, the location next to the beach (Praia grande and Praia das Macas) was perfect.

Overview:

++ Great location next to beaches and not far from Sintra ( Palacio da Pena!)
Owners were friendly and helpful
Room was quite big
Breakfast was ok with fresh eggs

- - Our general impression was that the Quinta was a bit messy. For us the 3 big dogs in and around the house were not our favourite, including the smell of them in the house (though they were very calm) and the fact that they are around the pool area (and sometimes in the pool). If you like dogs, however, this may not be a big deal.
Also the towels were not changed and the room was a bit flat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Couple84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colares
0.8 mi away
Casal Santa Virginia
Casal Santa Virginia
#1 of 1 in Azenhas do Mar
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
448 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Bolacha
Casa Bolacha
#4 of 13 in Colares
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sintra Sol
Sintra Sol
#8 of 9 in Colares
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pensao Sisudo
Pensao Sisudo
#3 of 13 in Colares
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casalinho de Santo Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Beira-Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Beira-Mar

Address: Vivenda Morais Soares | Rua Da Vigia, No. 12, Colares, Colares 2705-346, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colares
Price Range: $39 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta-Beira-Mar is a spacious bed and breakfast situated on the beautiful Sintra coast-line, in UNESCO natural parkland, above the beach and with the Sintra mountains behind. Ideal for surfers, walkers or just a relaxing holiday we are two mins from Praia Pequena, 15 mins from Sintra and 45 mins from Lisbon.we are ideally situated for a relaxing holiday within easy reach of cultural and historic places of interest. The rooms have balconies and a sea/mountain view, there are extensive gardens with palm trees and a swimming pool, an outside BBQ and eating area, wifi internet and a huge breakfast with fresh eggs from the chickens! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Quinta Beira-Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing