We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to be peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a luxurious hotel built to the highest standards, and any little quibbles such as that there is no tea or coffee in the bedroom do not detract from the fact that it is an ideal place for those who like quiet and silence.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMD1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Cascais Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 789 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Vivamarinha complex of hotel and apartments for rent or sale lies in an exclusive wooded area above Cascais, close to a variety of golf venues and offering cycling, Segway, an elegantly landscaped pool (chilly water!) set within spacious gardens, quality dining and classically modern, large, impeccable rooms and suites at reasonable prices for 5* luxury. Cascais, Lisbon, Sintra, the Atlantic shore, many good restaurants and numerous historical and natural sights lie within easy driving distance, but you really need your own transport. Also, there is no sea view from the site. Families, groups and solo travelers, young and less young, are well cared for by attentive staff. I have stayed several times and will again. A haven of peace in touch with a vibrant environment.

Room Tip: All rooms are large, quiet, comfortable, have balcony and kitchenette. Suites are the size of a smal...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My party of four stayed here for a 2 night stay after driving down from Santiago de Compostela in North West Spain - a long drive. We arrived late in the evening, telephoning in advance to warn the hotel of late arrival.
When we finally did arrive we were very tired - I travel a lot on business and for pleasure and usually aim for 4 or 5 * hotels - and can honestly say that from the moment the porter met us outside we encountered the best staff and customer service I have ever encountered ... Consistently from the cleaning staff to the duty manager ... amazing. One of the waiting staff noticed my mother had a sniffle and offered to make her a lemon/herb drink with honey.
The location is a little difficult to find and is a distance from the beach and town but they told us they offer a shuttle service. The staff are this hotels biggest asset and I hope that what ever training program or manager responsible doesn't change ... They were happy, welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient. The only down point from me was the lack of a proper kettle in the kitchenette ... Coffee machines are all the rage but I love a proper cup of tea!
There were not huge numbers of people and being out of school holiday time not many children. But for 4 travel weary travellers they offered everything we could want. Definitely going back when next in Portugal.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BishopMead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice location but for facultative holidays, for golfers, horse ridding, etc. Relatively new hotel with very nice and spacious rooms. Restaurant, food and service are really nothing special. We had dinner once only! Breakfast day by day the same, in case u are a holiday guest not a business one, after one week you are fed up. Hotel stuff not very cooperative, we asked for a taller balcony table, as we saw some in the garden area but we got no as an answer. It was raining the whole week and at least we wanted to play cards not always leaning our back low at a small coffee table, sorry, nobody cared. No, also came as an answer when we asked for sunbeds, one day when sun appeared for few hours. Spa is really nothing special either, very small and limited and water massages were broken although every day they were informing us they just broke and will be fixed any minute. I unfortunately can't recommend this place mainly to not very client oriented service. Young drivers, waiters etc. are very polite and friendly. Reception des and manager not really very pleasant. I am glad for the second week of our holidays we choose another Hotel Villa Grand Real Italia, which made a huge difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZuerichKokoladka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Viva Marinha is a great hotel and there aren't any really negative comments to make. Since I have to write something I can note that it lacks the luxury touch of other 5* hotels but at the end it does worth the money spend. The big advantage of this hotel is the natural beautiful green external environment and the enormous rooms more like an apartment actually. Rooms are just fantastic,huge with one of the best decorations Ive ever seen. Bed/mattress/pillows/clima are optimal for a great night sleep. Breakfast just delicious. Geographically the place is very beautiful and suitable for nice walks towards the ocean. Generally a nice hotel with spacious rooms and great surroundings. Would stay there again in the future without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel is nicely designed, bedroom while not overly spacious is comfortable with good linen and lights and a balcony. A pity that the shower is in the bathtub rather than separate but nice bathroom. Wifi in the room. No coffee/tea in the room which you would expect of a 5 star hotel. Breakfast is fine. However, food in the evening is average at best, either bland or over cooked, and service very slow. Same when ordering drinks at the bar, had to constantly wait 20+ minutes to have the drinks brought to us. Van service to/fro the golf courses on time. Next door golf course hugely busy; we went to courses varying 10-30' drive away. Staff very nice and welcoming but in the case of the bar and restaurant, although they are friendly, they are not efficient except at breakfast which was efficiently served (though mostly self-service except for coffee/tea). I think it is more a matter of lack of training from management and not enough staff at diner than willingness on the part of the staff. Gym is on the small side but never busy so no problem with using the equipment.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very peaceful, very beautiful. Apartments are spacious and fully equipped with all you need.
Had few times problem with the room card. they get "decoded" if come near a phone, so have to watch out.
Was a but harder to find with a taxi. Very little signs to point in right direction.
Bed was comfortable, but pillow was too soft so wasn't supporting the neck properly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,209 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#4 of 39 in Cascais
292 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cascais Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cascais Resort

Address: Rua das Palmeiras | Quinta da Marinha, Cascais 2750-005, Portugal (Formerly Vivamarinha Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#9 Family Hotel in Cascais
#10 Business Hotel in Cascais
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $110 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cascais Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Cascais Resort boasts an enviable location on Portugal's sweeping Atlantic coast, just 30 minutes from Lisbon and 2 kilometres from Guincho Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Cascais Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivamarinha Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing