We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just this week returned from a 5 night break here; we cannot speak more highly of this hotel; of all the helpful staff; the huge, beautifully decorated room with comfortable king size bed; the spacious bathroom and large sunny (in am) balcony; there was also a small kitchen area, which was useful. The food at breakfast was delicious and the choice was extensive. We remarked that even though the restaurant doors were open to the garden, there were no flies buzzing around and everything was remarkably well organised, as the waiters cleared as soon your plates were finished. The food in the Glass Terrace Restaurant in the evening was also of a high standard, beautifully presented, and again, delicious! It's a stylish hotel, very peaceful and set in stunning grounds; the pool area is well set out and refreshment bar serviced by an efficient and friendly young lady, who brought snacks to your lounger if you wished. Both pools were very clean but the heated side was still a liitle cool; a couple of degress warmer would have been pleasant, but did not stop anyone enjoying their swim. And If you like horse riding, then there are stables only five minutes walk away; you will be delighted with the Lusitano horses available to ride and the staff there are most helpful and friendly. We used the hotel shuttle a few times, which is best booked the day before, and tthe taxis around this location are not expensive, but you might possibly benefit from hiring a car if you wanted to explore further afield. This was our first adventure using Voyage Prive and they did not dissapoint. We will certainly go back to this hotel knowing that a warm welcome would be extended and be certain of a tranquil, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan502003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 826 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Fabulous hotel, secluded private location. Approx 5 miles into Cascais town. Taxis are cheap but you may need a rental car if you wish to check out the local beaches and sights. We had a beautiful suite in the hotel, complete with mini-kitchenette and balcony. As it was our wedding anniversary, we had a lovely 'gift' left in our room, chocolate truffles and port wine. Lovely touch and much appreciated. Dinner in the Glass Terrace restaurant was very tasty - the house red wine was great value too!!
Staying in this hotel is obviously not cheap but a nice treat. The lack of WiFi was disappointing however. It is possible to purchase internet access but it is very expensive. There is a laptop in the hotel foyer which was always in use. It's my only complaint though!
Lovely pool, definitely the perfect location for some rest and relaxation!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Viva Marinha is a nice spacious resort with good suite rooms, incl kitchinette.
The rooms are modern, spacious and good with good airco systems.
The staff is helpful, but could be a litte bit more friendly.
We had a good stay. The breakfast is very good and also lunch and dinner facilities. In Cascais you can find good and small restaurants.
There is only wifi in the lobby and you have to pay for it. That is to say at the start we had to pay; at the end of the stay it was free (in the lobby),

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was the last hotel of our trip and we were continually disapointed. It felt like a factory vs. a nice hotel and at all times there was a long line of complaining guests at the front desk. What we disliked most: 1) It was HOT HOT HOT - even when we kep the AC on all day/night it never cooled down - made for a really bad nights sleep 2) When we booked we were under the impression the bike rentals were free -not only are they absurdly priced they require you to pay in cash upfront 3) they only have towels for the pool and do not provide towels when you go to the beach - we were fine buying towels but they get pretty gross very quickly when you don't have a washer dryer 4) breakfast was always a [--]...lines of people, empty dishes and flies on everything 5) there is no WiFi in the rooms - only in the lobby and they charge for it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The rooms in this hotel were phenomenal-we had a family apartment-which was a proper house! stunning decor. Be warned-the family rooms are a 10 min walk to the pool-bit tedious. The pool was loved by the children. We went to the local riding school and had an enjoyable hack on some enormous show horses.Great.
The beaches in this area are dreadfully trecherous. We attempted them with small children and it was a near death experience-never again
You definitely need a car if you stay here-then its a 10 min drive to Cascais which we exhausted in 2 days frankly. Food mediocre and overpriced sadly but try the 2 artisan icecream houses in town-try the white grape icecream from the bigger place.It was the finest ice cream I have every tasted.
Sintra is a long windy drive and is OK as a town. I think the north of Portugal has better.
Viva Marinha? I wouldnt return because it is so far from anywhere but if you just want to veg by a pool and stay in your room-its great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nnnkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have just returned from Vivamarinha and will definitely go back. The hotel is fairly isolated but if you are looking for a relaxing break in the peace and quiet then this is ideal. The hotel and apartments are fairly well spread out amongst a very natural environment full of trees.
Our deluxe room (not suite) was beautiful. A huge bed, lovely bathroom, comfy lounge chairs, well appointed kitchen area with mini hob and fridge and all utensils, crockery etc. We slept like logs because the shutters and heavy curtains completely black out the room.
Hotel staff were very helpful, professional and polite. All spoke good English, in fact many languages.
Other people have commented on needing a car to get around. We didn't find we needed a car. The hotel has bikes to hire (12 euros per 1/2 day) and we cycled to Guincho beach (about 45 mins away along a cycle path by the coast road). The hotel shuttle should be booked in advance but we found times to suit us to go both into Cascais (nearest town about 15 mins drive away) and to Sintra (about 30 mins drive away). The shuttle is free apart from to the airport which is a fixed price of 60 euros (we found it cheaper by ordinary taxi). The Cascais journey by taxi is about 6 euros each way. We took the train from Cascais into Lisbon (about 5 euros return and 30 mins). Suggest you plan where you want to go in Lisbon as we didn't find the must-see tourist spots!
Definitely go to Sintra and visit the Moorish Castle and Palace of Pena. Absolutely beautiful and stunning views. It's gets windy up there though so I advise ladies not to wear a skirt!
We got taxis into Cascais to eat in the evenings but also recommend walking about 45 mins to Casa de Guia which has three restaurants and a few shops, and our favourite restaurant Furnas do Guincho which is about 30 mins walk away. Both on the coast road to Cascais.
Pack a cardigan or jumper as it does get chilly in the evenings. It is quite breezy throughout the day.
Hotel spa is quite small but ok. Gym has quite a few pieces of equipment and free weights, balls etc. Take a swimming cap though for the hydrotherapy pool, otherwise you'll have to buy one.
There is a small supermarket about 15mins walk away which had everything we needed for breakfast and lunch (and one evening meal). There is also a lovely bakery which lots of breads and delicious pastries.
Only drawback (arguably) is no wi-fi and expensive wired internet in rooms. But if you want to get away from it all, you soon forget about facebook and twitter when you can't easily access it! TV in rooms had a few english channels but don't expect lots of choice.
Other downside was the outdoor pool was very cold!
All in all though a really great hotel and location. We rarely say we will visit somewhere again but I have no doubt we will come back here.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in May 2012. Weather was okay, water of the swimmingpool was really really cold. The room was fantastic. we had a suite. 2 big bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, really big livingroom, fantastic kitchen. the terras out side was okay. missed a few sunbeds. At the time we were there they where getting the hotel ready for summer, so there was some maintenance but it did not bother us at all. Just one thing we found stange in such a nice hotel. No WIFI. Breakfast was good, nice staff. for diner we went into town, had some really lovely diners. I would recommand this hotel, if you go for a suite. really really nice..!!

Room Tip: ask for a suite..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
2.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#4 of 39 in Cascais
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cascais Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cascais Resort

Address: Rua das Palmeiras | Quinta da Marinha, Cascais 2750-005, Portugal (Formerly Vivamarinha Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cascais
#8 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#10 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $111 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cascais Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Cascais Resort boasts an enviable location on Portugal's sweeping Atlantic coast, just 30 minutes from Lisbon and 2 kilometres from Guincho Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Cascais Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivamarinha Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing