We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star prices for 4 star standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Pros - Location (20 mins stroll through nicest side of town), Room size, Quietness, cleanliness and hotel layout.
Cons - Service, Staff.
Seriously - the staff here really need 5 star training. I have never come accross as bad in a five star hotel. Upon check in there is no nice welcome to the hotel, no description of facilities, etc. Upon check out you are not asked if you enjoyed your stay, if everything was ok - if you need a taxi, etc etc.
Breakfast is tasty - again though - you are not shown to your table etc.
I asked for a map on one occasion - and was given a map! Im not a crank - but "a leading hotel of the world" - never! Surely you would expect them to open it and point to where you are blah blah.
Cascais is lovely and there are not many 5 star hotels - but stay accross the road at The Farol Hotel (true 5 star) - or accross the street at The Vila Gala Cascais (4 star lower price)
Its only the service and the staff that let down this property a bit. And if it hadn't the spa it should definatley only be rated 4 star.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meath41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July 2010. Really great hotel. Staff excellent. Breakfast lovely. Spa amazing - had the Relax Massage and used the spa pool which was great - lots of jets to plummel the stress out of you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellsBells000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed in this hotel in 2008. We liked it so much we returned for a 9 night stay this month. A lot has changed in 2 years. The hotel is not as "Grande" as it once was - a huge stain on the bedroom carpet, vacuum cleaner left in middle of corridor all day and night, glass swept under a chair in the Terrace Bar, the door of room 422 dirty and not cleaned during our entire visit. This remains a lovely hotel but it is no longer a leading hotel in the world and I doubt if it even now rates as a 5 *.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for a week for vacation. Everything was perfect from start till departure.
Very friendly personnel. Rooms are very large and sparkly clean. Breakfast is extensive with almost anything you can think about.
Outdoor swimming pool is very nice.
I should go back there for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Arrived for an 8 night stay in June 2010. The really clean and fresh lemon smell and sparkling clean gorgeous polished granite tiles said it all. A beautifully well kept 5 star hotel. Rooms are big and spacious and extremely comfortable beds with a choice of different types of pillows made us feel really welcome. The swimming pool too, is sea water and kept spotless. The breakfast buffet is really nice but every day, the same menu can get a little tiring and predictable. A few 'surprises' would be nice. The hot buffet is good, but I like my food really hot and it was more on the cool/luke warm side. Lots of different types of bread, cheese, and meats plus a good variety of vegetables. They had champagne on a little isolated table with tomato juice. No-one seemed sure of that was extra and during our trip, I never saw anyone partake in this little luxurious pleasure. Poolside service and food was excellent. Spa costs were expensive and you can't even use the spa pools without an extra charge which was a bit mad, but it didnt seem to mattter as the spa was busy during our stay. The dining room at weekends is very busy and staff struggled just a little. All that said, I would definitely return to Villa Italia - it was recommended to us by a friend and I was glad she did.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank templeville3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This hotel was perfect for the first few days of long vacation, and I wish we had planned to stay there longer. Even though we had a city view room, it was large and elegant and included a terrace. You can walk to the town (20 minutes or so) and access everything easily. The hotel and surrounding area is very very quiet. Pool and breakfast were both outstanding. My description could go on and on.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia2Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Very enjoyable stay. Room was gorgeous and very spacious.
Best Breakfast buffet I have ever had.
Staff very friendly and professional.
A pleasant short walk to the centre of town.
I had a facial in the spa which was just wonderful and very relaxing
Only bad thing to mention was after having a spa treatment I was charged 40euro to use the thermal suite, which was basically a steam room, sauna,whirlpool and pool. I
thought this was a little pricey as in other spa's Ive been to,access was always free after a treatment.
Would definitely return to this hotel though, thought this was the best hotel in Cascais.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilikesnicehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
579 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $133 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing