We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just... wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just... wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

We managed to grab ourselves a promotion for this hotel. We got a deal of paying 26€ for 2 nights on this luxurious hotel!
The reception is wonderful. They park your car in a private underground parking. Check-in is pleasant and fast.
The room is gigantic and spacious with very good views, even those that are facing the city.
I must congratulate the front-office employee, because during the night our car battery died and they went to greath lengths to give us a jump start!

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hmirpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    234
    57
    19
    3
See reviews for
311
852
33
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

I am writing this lines from hotels pool. Ordered late check-out, to spend more hours here. I even booked one extra day, so wonderful is here. Never thought, thet Portugal van offer such kind of service for reasonable price. Weather is beautiful, it is warmer and warmer every day.
Every word in all reviews are true. Let me share my opinion. Villa Italia is much better than other options in this area. Nice location, quiet. All things are very clever and up to date.
But you can not go to the sand beach, you must drive ( we rent a car here). Our favorite beach was at Guincho, close to hotel Fortaleza do Guincho, which is also 5* property with famous restaurant ( we visitid it also). Despite mid-October water was not cold, and yesterday (Sunday) it was a lot of people. Must seen!
Another attraction, Boca do Inferno, is very close to Vila Italia, 200-300m I guess. It is also a sefood restaurant, Mar do Inferno nearby, with a fresh and huge selection of all kind seafood. Very strange that nobody mentioned it before. Highly recommended! I see, that number 1 here is Latitude 38 in the Cascais Marina, we found it in the day time, but at our opinion it is very noisy music.
We visited city beach in Estoril, very bowring, "regular" beach comparing to the Guincho.
So, no doubt, go for Grande Villa Italia.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smiazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakes, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Just returned from a 4 day conference stay at the hotel so writing this more from a business travelller's perspective. Inside and out the hotel is beautiful and has been decorated very lavishly and expensively. It has a real quality feel. The bedrooms were very spacious and very well equipped. Because my company had about 100 rooms booked I saw quite a few different types and all were very good. I would say you need a balcony though.

There is a but though.... I'm used to staying in 5 star hotels and used to the prices they charge, but this was getting a little bit on the expensive side. In fact some costs were way over the top. 8 euros for a small beer; 7 euros to have a shirt ironed (they wouldn't supply an ironing board); 20 euros for a small hamburger.

Also, and this may seem a bit trivial, but if you position yourself as 5 stars (plus) then service has to be exceptional. Turn down service was not - they missed my room 2 out of 4 nights.

The spa is beautiful too and I had a great massage. No indoor pool though, just a hydrotherapy one which you need to pre-book. I didn't used the gym - it was smallish, but looked well equipped.

Breakfasts were ok - buffet style and had a decent choice. No egg chef though.

Would I come back as a leisure traveller. Yes, probably.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

I stayed here last week with my Husband and it was absolutely fabulous.We arrived early but room was ready.Itwas huge and luxurious plenty of wardrobe space drawers large comfy sofa beautiful light and airy decor. Bed was to die for big comfy pillows and option of several different kinds lavender., support,aromatherapy to name but a few.Large bedside lamps and extra reading light buttons beside bed to open heavy blackout curtains and 1 for lace curtains great way to check the weather each day without moving which was scorching by the way.Bed was kingsize need I say more.Fully stocked mini bar but room to put in your own drinks. Bathroom fabulous huge big fluffy towels bathrobes powerful shower andlots of lovely toiletries We received a complimentary bottle of wine on our 1st night which was a lovely touch.Our beds were turned down every night and a chocolate left on nightstand with a sweet dreams note and our towels would be replaced and bathroom tidied when we were out at night if it needed.Breakfast was plentiful and lovely large selection of cold and hot foods breads cereals cheeses special corner with soya products which were delicious and Pastries to die for we also got fresh oj not concentrated and staff accompanied us to table and took tea/coffee order straight away never had to wait even though hotel was very busy moto gp on.You could dine in our out by pool.Staff were excellent couldnt do enough for you Michael, Vera to name but a few I also got complimentary treatment in Spa On the day we were leaving our flight was late but our room was already booked so staff held our bags and a fresh change of clothes and when we came back were given robes and towels and were able to shower and change in the Spa .Hotel also has a hairdressers which is great.Cascais is about 15 min walk to centre and we did this at night out and back 1st night but got taxi back other nights as we were lateonly 4euro and we didnt find it dark Want a good night out try O'Luains pub great little place..Even though this hotel is more expensive than others we have used it was our 30th wedding anniversary and it was definetly well worth it.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in September and thought it was wonderful. As someone who generally sleeps really badly I was amazed to sleep 12 full hours the first 2 nights - the beds and pillows are so comfortable.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are lovely with the most wonderful smelling toiletries.

The town of Cascais is a short walk away and we found it to be a really friendly place We also visited Sintra and LIsbon which are both within easy reach.

We probably wouldn't go to Cascais again simply because it is so small and there is not that much to do but if we did we wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

We chose this hotel on the basis of reports in Trip advisor and in general weren't disappointed. The Reception staff are very welcoming and helpful, i'd booked a seaview room but was upgraded to an executive seaview ( this seems to be a common experience at present) The room itself was fine with a huge bed nice bathroom and alovely terrace overlooking the pool. But it was seriously lacking in cupboard and drawer space and what there was was partly filled with bedcovers pillows etc Why do hotels do this? you'd think in a newly built hotel they would have a chest or something in which to put the over elaborate cushions and covers when the bed is turned down. Lovely pool and helpful poolside staff Breakfast included in our rate was generally good but I do expect fresh orange juice in a hotel of this class not the awful stuff made from concentrate.I have no idea about the rest of the food as after a couple of bar snacks and beers on the first day cost 61 Euros we didn't eat or drink in the hotel again. THe situation is niceish if you have a seaview although the "quiet " road in front can be a bit of a race track at times. I think this hotel sets out with the pretensions of being top notch but despite the comfortable rooms and great service doesn't quite make it because the situation isn't that great. It s a pity but I think if they lowered their bar and food prices a little then the turnover might increase> I also think that hotel guests hould be able to access the spa at reduced prices

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Indiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

I never write reviews on hotels, but I loved this hotel and felt compelled to let others know. Firstly, it's a beautiful, clean, fully equipped property that is within walking distance of downtown Cascais. They upgraded us to a seaview room with extremely comfortable beds. The spa is high end with a complimentary thalassotherapy circuit and all the services you need. The price was also very reasonable in light of the "resort" like atmosphere of the hotel. For the breakfast buffet, champagne and bloody marys were included and the spread was magnificent. One downside is that if you go out for dinner, you would want to take a cab as it's dark. However, a cab right to most restaurants is less than 5 euros. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.9 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#4 Spa Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing