We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This was our second time at Grand Real Villa Italia and our first with our 7 month old son. Happy to say standards have not changed. Once again we were given a fabulous room and the staff were superb. The facilities are ideal for families particularly with the kids pool. Already planning our trip for next year!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rdslight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    221
    55
    19
    3
See reviews for
284
823
29
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Algarve
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a marvelous stay at this beautiful hotel. Had interconnecting rooms - good size. Lovely beds and linen. Breakfast - buffet was nice but it's really the service in their restaurants which stands out. The salt water pool is great for kids. The thalassotherapy circuit in the spa at 32 degrees celcius is a good relaxation for mother. Had a deep tissue massage - which was fantastic. They are welcoming of families but the kids club was closed. Recommended for a few days in Cascais as a family.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank crath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of June. I had read all the reviews and thought that the hotel could not live up to my expectations but I was wrong!! Everything from when we arrived was absolutely perfect and especially the staff who all made you feel special.
Our room was in the block by the pool which gave us great access to the pool and terrace. The room was very spacious with ample storage space and the bathroom was large with bath and separate shower. The only thing I would say I that it would be nice to have tea & coffee making in the room but I think this is an English thing !
We had lunch and dinner in hotel which were both good and although more expensive than the town I didn't find the bar prices too expensive and it is worth paying that little bit extra for the service and surroundings. The pool was lovely too and we didn't have any difficulty getting a lounger and the service from the pool bar was very good with a special mention for Filipa who was always smiling and very helpful.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my friends and I hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lally63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful ten days at this magnificent hotel.
The attention to detail is next to none.
The staff are so attentive and helpful, it was a delight to be greeted each morning by big smiles and amazing service at breakfast, indeed the breakfast was outstanding.
Our sea view room was a joy to be in, I loved the balcony with deep cushioned sun beds to lie on while taking in the stunning view.
The Spa is to be highly recommended too, completely relaxing, wonderful facilities,brilliant service.
We loved the fact that the pool is a sea water one, so refreshing.
I would especially say a big thank you to Sandra for looking after us so we'll.
We will be back.
Theresa Farrell Mulreany.

Room Tip: Sea view best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twiggy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just home from staying nine nights at this fantastic hotel. The staff are amazing and make you feel very special, everyone is treated equally with courtesy and respect. We did not pay extra for a sea view room but were very happy with our side facing view which did encompass the sea, facing down into Cascais bay. (Room410). The room was extremely good, we had loungers on our balcony which was great for quiet relaxation and book reding. The room was serviced very well twice a day,. The only thing I would have liked would have been the and coffee making facilities in the room. We were also slightly disappointed to find that what had looked like an indoor pool in the pictures as actually a spa area at an extra charge of €20.
Breakfast was amazing with everything you could require, if it was not there, a simple request was enough for it to be made especially for you.
Cascais itself is a lovely place to stay, the hotel being a 10 minute stroll from the main bars etc.
We would definitely stay here again and more than happy to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l_cook400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wonderful suite, with vieuw on the sea and swimming pool.
Very nice and big bathroom,
Very friendly staff,
Breakfast near the pool
We recommend this hotel without any hesitation,
we will also going back.

Room Tip: Suites in the middle on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 912Geert62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I spent an excellent week on holiday here.It is a top class hotel in a quiet setting with uninterrupted views of the ocean.We had a top floor room in the main building with a sea view balcony.The room was well maintained and a good size.Overall,an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: Go high and sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trafalgar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that your experience with us was a great stay!

Your opinion it is very special to us. Thank you for mention us as “Top class hotel”.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & Spa, we remain, with our best regards!

Sincerely,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.1 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#4 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing