We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel but slow service in restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel but slow service in restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were a party of 9 lady golfers and we had a wonderful week. The hotel facilities are fabulous, there's a great outside salt water pool which is superbly maintained and wonderfully maintained. Also an amazing spa with everything you could want. BIG PROBLEM was service in the restaurant as it was terrible. So terribly slow that we ate almost 2 hours after our reserved time! The food was wonderful but far too long to wait.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for mentioning the points that in your opinion could be better.

We regret that your experience was not the best one. Your restaurant observation is one of those that happen exceptionally, certainly because something unforeseen happened.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you soon, for another experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    219
    55
    19
    3
See reviews for
284
819
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is located near one of the less used beaches of Cascais. The center of the town and the main beach is about 10 minutes by walk. You can reach Lisbon by taking the train for about an hour. The hotel has very friendly staff. The swimming pool of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4on4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the compliments regarding our staff. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team, who will be delighted too.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at this resort on the week in September. We were greeted by the front desk staff who were very friendly. We were told that our room was not yet ready so we walked around the town center of Cascais which was a 10 minute walk from the resort. We came back an hour later and learned that our room was upgraded to a Seaview Suite on the Villa Building. What a great surprise this was to us. The room was outstanding with a great view of the ocean and the bay. Room was spotless and roomy, with large windows providing lots of natural light. Bathroom was made up entirely of marble with a stand up shower and a separate tub with room for 2. Breakfast was ok with the usual items out. Service could have been better as we had to wait a long time on a few occasions for coffee refills. We never ate at the hotel for lunch or dinner due to the higher prices and there were far too many options in town to pass up. Grounds were very clean and the natural sea water pool was great. All in all this was an excellent stay and we were very pleased. We will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms with an Ocean View in Villa d'Este are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bavaria1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how satisfied you were with our service, this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for, especially when you say you will return.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed in room 25, probably the most comfortable room and fabulous bathroom, I have ever stayed in. The bed was bliss and pillows perfect. The decor was stunning. I had four windows, all of which opened onto sea views. The bathroom was large and contained a large seperate loo, bath and shower. It was quiet, the curtains kept out the early morning light and I slept really well. It is possible to criticise over the pool being too cold to swim in and there being no indoor pool. I also think they could have replaced the water by the bed each day. The room and location of this hotel more than made up for any drawbacks. Stunning!

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ros h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score. Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Don't waste any more time looking at any more reviews for hotels in/near Cascais. We've done it all - Our 2nd stay and again in a word "MAGNIFICENT". If you are looking for 5 star facilities, wonderful staff, excellent food/breakfast and a relaxing world class SPA well this is the hotel for you. 10 min walk to Cascais and 20 min taxi from SIntra - well worth a visit! Cascais is beautiful. We stayed for 2 weeks in 2012 with a 1 year old and loved it so much came back for a 6 night stay on our own. Thank you for a memorable stay and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in 2014.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room on 3rd floor - Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happydays73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how many guests are either repeated guests or are already planning their return trip, as you are, and please forgive us for repeating ourselves, but this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for, although we have to admit that being considered the most magnificent hotel in Cascais makes it even more special.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth , England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was wonderful. We were treated like royalty on our arrival by very friendly and cheery staff, shown to the terrace with some complimentary champers to celebrate our recent marriage. Our room was amazing, stylish, comfortable, very spacious and spotless, with a lovely view. The main terrace was my favourite spot sitting in the lovely sunshine on the cozy sofas. Enjoying snacks, coffees, and lunches. Service was always great. From the salon to the bar, the TV even being tuned to England v Australia rugby match so we could sit in the bar to watch. Breakfast was always yummy. Buffet Stocked with everything you could want to eat and drink.

I was very sad to leave but we had so many happy leisure filled days to remember. Thanks to all at the Grand Real Villa for a lovely honeymoon stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for leaving your comment and for presented us with the highest score in the evaluation criteria. It is a pleasure for the whole team to know that we contributed to your dream days.

We hope you have more “honeymoons” to return again. We are here to make the difference with our service details.

Cheers and thank you once again!

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A totally marvelous hotel! Nothing was unavailable; food terrific and staff superb. I'd love to be there again, soon!!

The rooms were quite large and had beautiful patios. The bath was huge and the shower perfection!! We had a car, and had quick, no stress parking, with the staff helping us with directions, hints for parking and even directions to the pedestrian walkways that were not crowded for shopping.

The only think that could have been better was the weather. However, even this perfect staff couldn't correct that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanesMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff. We also appreciate the compliments regarding our staff. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team, who will be delighted too.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you soon, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#4 Spa Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing