We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

this hotel is a slice of heaven. The facility itself is stunning, and it overlooks the Atlantic. The rooms are exquisite and the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. The food was wonderful. This is by far the nicest place on the Atlantic Coast. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view. Amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethc382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,946)
There are newer reviews for Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We booked half board and are so glad we did. This hotel is simply and by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff are courteous and attentive with an eye for the details ( a waiter in the breakfast room even straightened the table cloth my husband had moved whilst he was up getting his food!) The rooms are sumptuous modern but cosy and large. The bathroom had a full length bath with shower over, separate walk in rain fall shower, twin basins and a separate glass doored cubicle containing the toilet and bidet. The evening meals were of a standard of top London restaurants and served by knowledgeable staff who actually enjoy what they do and this shows in their enthusiasm for you to have a good evening. The only complaint I can find to mention is that their were no slippers provided. Can not wait to return and will be taking more family members back with us when we do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hammers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break here along with 2 other couples. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at, the facilities are superb, matched by the efficient and friendly staff. We all agreed that this is one hotel we would definitely return to. We were upgraded to rooms overlooking the pool with large balconies.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

my wife and I are retired and have travelled all over the world and stayed in a lot of Hotels. Nothing could beat this Portuguese owned establishment where everything was superb. The staff were just so helpful, the rooms beautifully appointed and the extra amenities were all top quality.
particular thanks to Joao and Frederico on the front desk and Sandra in the restaurant who could not have been more helpful and combined this with that lovely touch of Portuguese humour.

Breathtaking!


Nigel and Carole Thompson

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pendock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We returned to the Villa Italia and it was just as good as last visit. Once again the staff were incredibly helpful and attentive. This visit I had a different room with a sunken bathroom. Very unique! Unfortunately the balcony was not large enough to sit out on however if you stand on it, you can enjoy the sea view (room 505). If you're looking for a balcony - this wouldn't be a good choice. The food was excellent and the staff in the restaurant are very attentive. Feel free to ask them for their wine pairings with your meal as they are quite capable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I visited the Grand Real for the third time for 6 nights early May. We got a very good deal with Bookings.com. Check-in was very positive and efficient and we had a lovely room with a large balcony. The receptionist said he would send us some cushions for the balcony furniture but they never arrived. The room was spacious and housekeeping was of a very high standard. Even though it was off season the hotel was busy throughout our stay. The terrace bar remains a lovely aspect of the hotel and dinner was reasonably priced and very good.
BUT, the hotel now needs a make over. Paintwork on the "Vila d'Este is peeling, the black colonnades are whitened with salt from the sea - nothing fresh paint wouldn't cure. But for us the worst aspect was that there was so much bird pooh - on the deck chairs, the poolside, the terrace. We really wanted to use the balcony but it was covered in pooh and unusable. If this is so because it is off season then a hotel that accepts guests is never off season. Moreover, the pool was freezing and very few patrons were brave enough to use it.
Breakfast is good but not exceptional. Coffee has to be requested. Since such "delicacies" as smoked salmon, prosecco etc. are freely available why not coffee? It would also free the staff up considerably.
The Grand Real maintains its poise and charm but a bit of spring cleaning would improve it further.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in The Grande Hotel in August 2012.This is an excellent hotel.From the moment we entered the hotel,the staff were attentive and helpful.The rooms were serviced twice a day and the decor was modern and fresh.

The pool area was relaxing and comfortable, even at peak times of the day.

The breakfast buffet was varied and any special requests could be ordered from the staff.There was a fine selection of fruit,cereals,meats and cooked breakfasts on offer.Champagne was available for an early morning drink!However,we did not eat evening meals in the hotel as we were close to many other restaurants.

The hotel is situated in a great location.Just a few minutes walk from the busy town of Cascais.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Grande Hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doireann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
793 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $136 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing