We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
275 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Large, lovely rooms with big bathrooms (two showers!). The most amazing breakfast we have ever had. Very service-minded staff. Great pool area where the staff surprises you with different kind of fruity shots (non alcoholc, of course). It's a 5-10 minute walk into Cascais' center with many shops and restaurants. For us (a couple), this was a perfect and relaxing hotel. If you are travelling with younger children, I would recommend you stay somewhere else where they can play around a bit more and the pool is more shallow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us.
We are always very grateful to receive positive feedback which we immediately share with our team.

Kind regards,

Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    253
    60
    19
    3
See reviews for
344
901
34
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited his hotel in Aug 2012. My wife was 4 months pregnant at the time. Our criteria prior to booking was a luuxury hotel, not too far from a beach, not too far from the town centre and a relaxing pool. This hotel ticks all the boxes.
Delightful hotel, massive rooms and a short walk to the marina and town of Cascais. The food was good, the hotel lobby impressive and the pool was very relaxing. Our hotel room was one of the best that I have ever stayed in. Very large, impressive bathroom and large balcony, although the view to the pool was slightly obscured.
The only negative I experienced was the spa. Most five star hotel spa's that I have been to, do not charge to use the facilities if you are a guest of the hotel. Considering my wife was pregnant and could not use most of the spa treatments, I was disappointed that they wanted to charge a full price for the both of us to use the pool.
Aside from the cover charge to the spa, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Regarding our Thalasso Treatment Pool our policy is to charge because it's a Treatment facilitie not just an indoor pool.
We are sorry that it was an inconvinience for you.

We look forward to your return to the Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel with your baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I loved:
- the location
- the views
- the super service, every one was really very helpfull and friendly
- great food
- beautifull spa
- good massages
- the business centre & service

Will return here for business meetings combined with pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendrikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback about our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Villa Itália Hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed everything, from the moment we entered the hotel... Staff were really friendly and extremely helpfull, we were also upgraded to a sea view room (which was amazing, thank you!!!), breakfast on each morning was really really good.

Spa was amazing, girls know their job..

We didnt get to use the pool, but we are planning next time..

Cascais is a really beautiful place and local people were really friendly.

It was the best choise for our engagement mini vacation!

We are already planing to come back for our Wedding!

Thank you again - Darren & Guoda

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guodulyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel, nice sea view, nice pool, and excellent restaurants. Near downtown Cascais (the walk is very enjoyable and Cascais is a cool little town with lots of restaurants and nightlife).

The only problem is there is a road between the hotel and the sea.

We very much enjoyed our stay there; Lisbon is only an hour away by car and is a beautiful city to visit; and again, if you don't want to go that far, Cascais itself is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therealbambax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel and for all the nice coments.
The only problem you mencioned "the road betewen the hotel and the sea" it's a little complicated to solve, but we always try ;)

Kind Regards,

Diogo Fonseca Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a really nice and well balanced 5 star hotel! managed to keep the essence of de luxe hotel by the beach without letting "the beach" atmosphere decrease the quality and service. the rooms are ok for a 5x however the TV and radio service should be better (i.e. no radio on rooms and the TV actually doesn't work properly). Reception service is above standard.
The awkward thing in this hotel was the bar menu ... really nice tea selection... nice 5 o'clock tea cookies, however the spirits selection is just on the average basics and the prices of this list seems to have been done like all are expensive and very expensive... making any of these 2x or 3x more expensive then in any other 5x hotel in the region on even in some European 5x... really something unexpected...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Afonso_TheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank very much for the glowing review provided to tripadvisor.
We trully apreciate all the details you noted including the service.
We are now changing our Bar concept and we hope you will have the chance to try it soon.

Kind regards,

Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I came here on business and wished i was here for pleasure. One of the nicest business hotels I have stayed in and Cascais was a lovely place to wander around and eat at night. If you get a chance to stay here, you should enjoy it.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room, I booked a land view room and they gave me a sea view as it want busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Gavin,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
Next July is the perfect month to return in holidays, good temperature and lots of sun!

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Diogo Fonseca e SIlva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,137 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
1.9 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#2 of 39 in Cascais
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing