We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Student Experience to Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Student Experience to Remember”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Situation: Booked twin standard room in June= £120 (cheap given overall experience), 2 nights

Positives:
+ROOMS: Very large (~ 45m2), clean and modern design. Comfy beds.
+SERVICE: Staff very polite, smart and helpful.
+LOCATION: 10 minute walk to Cascais centre (quiet town, beautiful in parts, rish coast, poor suburbs).
+EXTRAS: Breakfast included-great selection of foods. Beautiful interior of hotel. Spa seemed reasonably nice for what it is. Electronic blinds an interesting add on.

Negatives:
-Room Service menu on the expensive side if you have childen. Perhaps some food in the mini bar selection.Getting to Lisbon central is a little akward on the trains. Had a small misunderstanding about taxis-they charged us 4 euros when they wrongly ordered a taxi for us.

Overall: An incredible experience that was amazing value for money (June) and will certainly be returning again if visiting the area again. I recommend to everyone already wanting to visit Cascais.

Room Tip: Looking at the fire escape map, one side of the corridor has larger rooms than the other side so ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    268
    64
    19
    4
See reviews for
375
949
38
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent 10 days here in May and enjoyed our stay very much. Great reception service, bags taken to the room on arrival. Did not get a double room as requested but the twin beds were huge and very comfortable. The room was enormous and the bathroom was the best. The most luxurious I have seen, all marble, twin sinks and two showers. Robes and slippers were provided but toiletries were not replaced frequently. The room was quiet being sound proof and only a slight noise could be heard from a bar across the road but with air conditioning on, you couldn't hear anything. The room service was good but the food very expensive for what you got. It was something more than double the price you would pay in Cascais. The wine was reasonable enough and priced adequately. The main gripe we had was with the carpet as it was stained in a few places and being very light coloured carpet, it showed up more. It should be replaced with something that looks clean. Breakfast was extensive and a good choice of everything although things ran out and were not replaced. I had to ask for things a few mornings such as English breakfast tea and bread. A good supply of fresh fruit and a cooked breakfast. It was lovely to sit out by the pool and enjoy breakfast with the friendly ducks! The staff were always smiling and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The poolside bar was lovely and although the drinks were expensive, they came with some very tasty snacks. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: maybe a pool view room would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoondanceMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We recently spent 5 days here on our trip to Lisbon / Portugal. I had originally booked a hotel in Lisbon but about a month before traveling I decided to change to Cascais and I am so glad I did. I was thinking that the weather might be pretty warm mid-May and staying in Cascais would give us some pleasant sun time. It turned out to be near 90 the first two days of our visit so we recovered from our jet-lag at this beautiful hotel.

If this hotel were in Miami Beach it would be twice the price - it is absolutely gorgeous! Marble, marble everywhere, mosiacs and lovely tiles, luxurious, LARGE bathrooms. The pool area is so inviting with again, lovely tiles and flowers. Great water view terrace for an evening drink. The breakfast buffet covers almost every option you could want including bloody marys! The staff is very gracious and helpful (and speak flawless english). It is the nicest place I have stayed in a long, long time and I so badly want to return but Portugal is a far place for me!

Besides really liking the hotel I want to add that I loved staying in Cascais. I do think some of the other guests were staying there as more of a resort vacation but it works well for Lisbon sightseeing as well. It is an easy and cheap train ride (30 minutes) into Lisbon. We enjoyed Lisbon but it is a gritty city, again, so much nicer to stay in Cascais. Sintra is also easily doable by local bus. There are plenty of restaurant choices without being overwhelming - our favorites were Casa do Largo - 5 Sentidos and B & B. We had such a delightful time, it makes me sad to think I may never get back but so many great places to go in Europe!

Room Tip: We went cheap and did not get a sea view but it would be a nice splurge. We just went down to the te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SueC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Returned to the Hotel after a two year break. Nothing has changed it's still a brilliant hotel . Attentive service, beautiful rooms. You just can't fault it. If you want that luxury break in Cascais this is the place for you.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Was here May 2008 and was already impressed by the setting, service level, etc.
So just spent another week and can confirm with pleasure it is still a jewel :
(a) extremely high service level
(b) beautiful/spacious room & bathroom with all gadgets, etc.
(c) lovely swimming pool and efficient gym
(d) impressive and top-quality breakfast
(e) and so on, .....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank No_Belgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We went to Cascais for a late spring break end April/beginning May. The hotel was grand, clean, comfortable. On arrival there was a wedding party in full swing utilising the foyer area, which was a bit of a shock for us whilst trying to check in as we couldn't hear a thing that was being said to us. However it quietened down by the next day until the Ducati team turned up later in the week for the Moto GP!

Our room (a sea view) was very nice although not as big a room as we are used to for the price. Housekeeping were very clean and tidy but lacking in provision of the little extras like shower gel, eye make up remover pads and tissues, which we had to request be topped up. There were no slippers to go with the robes provided however they appeared miraculously on day 4.

We were surprised that the fine dining restaurant was not open at all during our stay and that it wouldn't be until 19th May. There had been no mention that this was not available prior to our visit. Also, the spa whilst offering lovely treatments, seems a bit mean that guests cannot use the pool unless they book a hydrotherapy session. We went on a couple of occasions for treatments and would have liked to chill out in the heated pool especially as the weather was so bad that we couldn't use the outdoor pool.

Breakfast was good with a wide selection and the bar food (which was the only option available for meals during our stay) was very good.

Concierge staff extremely helpful and courteous. My husband has mobility problems and they were very good at advising us where to go for dinner within easy walking distance and suggested trips out that would be suitable. The only downside for Cascais as a whole is that if you are mobility impaired the cobbled streets and pavements are particularly difficult to negotiate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have recently returned from an EXCELLENT stay at VILLA ITALIA hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We only stayed for one night but we loved it!
It was certainly the best decision for our 25th marriage anniversary!!!
We were very comfortable and relaxed in all aspects, with high quality and excellence, and the most important for us was the kindness of the reception, Spa, Bar, and Lounge staff … they were all very friendly, helpful and always with a big SMILE that made us feel welcome and cherished. We would classify their efficiency and kindness as 100%! The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast is delicious and the SPA is superb! And of course, we have to congratulate the Manager for his kind attention of a distinctive welcome! Our special thanks to the Manager, with superb surprises to celebrate our date! Excellent work!
We would definitely stay here again! Next year we will repeat it!!! For a longer stay!!! We would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PEREIRAS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
1.9 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#3 of 39 in Cascais
242 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#2 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing