We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Justin K” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cascais Miragem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Justin K”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've travelled to at least 15 different countries and stayed in some amazing hotels (Four Seasons, Intercontinental, etc.... But Cascais Miragem tops them all. It gets 6 stars from me. Our trip started with the car service we ordered from the hotel not showing up at the airport. I called the hotel from the airport to figure out what happened. Jose, the assistant manager got on the phone and immediately took care of the situation. He was extremely apologetic. He had another car there in minutes of our phone call. Then, he told me he'd see me when I arrived to the hotel.

Jose was there to greet us at the front desk. He not only apologized profusely, he insisted on taking us to the bar for a drink and offered us something to eat. During the conversation, we mentioned this was the last stop on our honeymoon (he asked what brought us to Cascais). He grabbed my keys from me, went back to the front desk, and upgraded us to a beautiful ocean front room that also overlooked the pool. We didn't ask for this or hint at it. This turned out to be just the tip of the iceberg.

We checked in and went to the pool. Five minutes after returning from the pool, there was a knock on the door. A bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were delivered courtesy of housekeeping and the hotel. Then, we went out to dinner. When we got back we found rose petals covering the bed and mints on the pillow.

We booked a massage which was fantastic. The complimentary breakfast buffet includes mimosa's and an omellete station. The staff make you feel like a million bucks. They're friendly, professional, and a pleasure. They made reservations at some of the finest restaurants

The pool is ice cold and so refreshing. I couldn't find a single thing wrong with Cascais Miragem. My wife and I will be back! I've never had a better experience at a hotel. You won't either if you book a vacation there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    185
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
222
431
27
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and I would definitely recommend it. The main feature of the hotel is the pool area, situated on the third floor and looking over the beach opposite. It is lovely for enjoying breakfast in the morning and lounging in the sun enjoying the views. The rooms are clean and comfortable (I wouldn't say they were 5 star standard as the hotel purports, but they are all that you would need for a beach holiday). The breakfast buffet is also excellent.

The hotel has a great position looking out over the beach. It is separated from the beach by the road and railway line, but this isn't any problem at all. It is a short walk through the underpass onto the beach and also a short walk into Cascais town. It is also close to the railway and bus stations, which makes excursions to the surrounding area easy.

We thought this hotel was good value for money and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose this hotel as we love Portugal though we usually go to the Algarve but wanted more quality time away from the madness that we normally get down there.
From the moment we arrived we were amazed at the luxury of the place. We've never been in a lobby so big and full of the most comfortable chairs which were in abundance.
We had a sea view on the 10th floor with a big balcony which was breath taking to step out onto each sunny morning. Our room was quite large with plenty of storage and free space. The staff were extremely professional and always on hand to help. Those that stood out for us were Sergio in reception, Nicco by the pool, Miguel and Nelson in the bar and Elsa the Asst Manager.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was great to relax and be spoiled.
The hotel is minutes walk from the town and a short trip from Lisbon by train. DO go to Sintra as it is amazing and steeped in history but allow a long day for there is so much to do.
We did find the hotel windy at times and the sun dips behind the hotel quite early in the evening. Guests were a mix of nationalities.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 10th floor as they are some of the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regirobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is really all about the pool... The rooms are nice, the common areas are plenty, and the view is great. The highlight for me was really two-fold. Spending a day on the patio, taking in the view and the sea air by the pool was perfect. And, you could walk to Cascais easily, so you weren't far from a good meal!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.... Any floor is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Branco, General Manager at Hotel Cascais Miragem, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Cascais Miragem for your recent stay in Cascais and for your time in writing your comments.

I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Cascais Miragem and thank you for your words.
Since you did not give any reasons for a lower quote, I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon to the Hotel and I would be delighted if we could meet for a few minutes for me to understand your feelings about the Hotel.

Thanking you for your support and preference and looking forward to welcoming you again to Cascais.

Kindest regards,
José Branco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was at the hotel for 5 days as part of a conference. It's a great hotel, with a great pool located with 180 degree sweeping views of the sea. Some thoughts

Check-in. This went smoothly, and the folks were very nice. The lobby is open and airy, and looks very inviting.

Rooms. My room was a sea-view, which I absolutely recommend. I had a room on the 6th floor, and I found it very spacious. When you enter, you have a dressing room immediately on your right before a hallway that takes you past the bathroom and to the main room. Bathroom was great with a tub and separate shower - well stocked with quality spa products. The main room is great, with a sliding door that takes you to a great patio overlooking the pool and the sea. This was the part that really defined the hotel. You could sit out and enjoy the views as the sun set to the western side of the hotel. It was great.

Others. The breakfast was great and you could eat poolside on the patio. Make sure you get under an umbrella though, even the early morning sun gets hot. It was great though. The bar is also fine - we had the styling of a great piano man for one of the nights which added a nice element to the bar.

Overall, a great place that I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband was one of the first business guests when the hotel first opened some ten years ago and we have been returning regularly ever since. It is very rewarding to see the progress that has been made since then in areas of service and cleanliness - areas I commented on in questionnaires in previous years. The creative decor around the hotel is a delightful mix of East meets West. The rooms are very comfortable with crisp linens and regular changes of towels and bathroom amenities, as well as bottled water. The parquet floor in rooms is a welcome change from the usual carpeting which so quickly gets worn and dirty. There is a well-equipped playroom specially for kids on the pool floor, as well as a separate TV room. The pool area is well-managed, and the infinity pool gives onto a fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean, as well as fabulous views of Cascais and the marina to the right and Estoril and further down the coast to the left. A tented area has recently been set up for massages affording the sound of waves in the background. There are numerous clean beaches in the area, one close by which has a special arrangement with the hotel for discounts on chaises longues and parasols.

The buffet breakfast makes provision for all kinds of tastes. Recently, freshly fried eggs and omelettes have given way to a quantity prepared in advance to reduce the considerable queue of people waiting to be served. It is one of the highlights of our stay as the sitting area, around the pool, with a view of the ocean makes you want to linger on! Despite the busy main road and railway running alongside the hotel, you really are oblivious to any noise. Another highlight of returning regularly to a hotel is seeing how many members of staff are still there. The service is very good even when there are large conferences taking place within the hotel. We don't get the feeling that there are any disruptions.

Other than the hotel, Cascais and Estoril offer numerous places to eat and drink from the very informal beach promenade cafés and restaurants (easily accessible close to the hotel by underground walkways) to the pubs in the town and first class restaurants offering pretty much everything. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a laid-back vacation with pampering in a stylish and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the Atlantic and all have their own balconies. Perhaps rooms on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

was at the miragem with friends.....and it was fantastic. Started the day with champagne breakfast, then a stroll along the walkway to the beautiful harbour in Cascais.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranger14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cascais Miragem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascais Miragem

Property: Hotel Cascais Miragem
Address: Av. Marginal, 8554, Cascais 2754-536, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cascais
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#2 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cascais Miragem 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the exclusive Estoril coast, the five star Hotel Cascais Miragem is set in a spectacular situation facing the Atlantic Ocean with views over the Marina of Cascais. The 192 elegantly decorated rooms and suites are spacious with all the modern comfort. Relax at the Cristovao Colombo Bar for a pre-dinner drink of Porto or Champagne before dining in the award winning Gourmet restaurant overlooking The Marina. Traditional Portuguese recipes with international influences create trans-ethnic cuisine prepared using only the finest ingredients. Located on the third floor the "infinity edge" of the swimming pool merges with the deep blue of the Atlantic Ocean. All guests have complementary access to the Health Club, Holmes Place, offering over 3000 square meter of cardiovascular and body building equipment studios with different classes and activities: heated pool with views over the ocean, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath and a service of personal trainers. The Holmes Place Spa at the Hotel opens the door to an intimate world dedicated to the restoration of strength, beauty and balance of the body, mind and soul. The Day Spa features 7 treatment rooms including an Oceanic Suite and a relaxing area with views over the Ocean. You can choose from the last generation of treatments, aesthetic & wellness products and Aromatherapy care. A place of Inspiration! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cascais Miragem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascais Miragem Hotel
Miragem Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing