We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really warm portuguese experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alquimia Guest House
Ranked #11 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a really nice time staying at Alquimia; the house is really unusual and very modern in design, with rooms themed to the different elements (earth, fire, water and air). Colour schemes are very attractive and the whole place is very spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is really fresh and tasty with the best of Portuguese cheeses, fruit, juice and homemade jams - and the most important ingredient is the wonderful personal service from the always good humoured and friendly Sara, Mario and Susanna. They really want guests to have the best possible experience of Cascais and go way beyond the call of duty to provide it. They give advice about places to visit and will book fabulous and really good value restaurants. We ran into complications trying to book a rental car and Sara resolved it all with great ease. The house is only ten or twelve minutes walk from the centre and is nice and quiet compared to noisy hotels. We would thoroughly recommend it; we chose it on the basis of reviews on this site and were more than delighted with it.

Room Tip: Have a look at the website and see which room suits you best, we had one with a balcony which was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Alquimia guest house for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. This guest house is certainly great value for money as the price included not only a lovely, clean and well furnished room (we stayed in The Pepper Room) but also breakfast every morning. Breakfast was especially enjoyable as each day we were given a different Portuguese delicacy to try in addition to homemade jams, cheese and the buffet breakfast which consisted of bread, ham, cheese, cereal, etc. We even had a daily maid service which also provided us with a replenished bottle of water every day. Alquimia is in a perfect location as it is only a 10/15 minute walk away from the centre of Cascais where the beach, supermarket and numerous restaurants are situated. Moreover, Alquimia is easily reachable from Lisbon airport as you only need to take a train to get there. The train station is also about a 15 minute walk from the guest house. Many thanks to Mario, Susanna and Sara for making our stay so satisfying. They were very welcoming and helpful in regards to telling us about which beaches and restaurants to go to!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Pepper Room which was a lovely room, beautifully decorated and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Situated only 10 min walk from Cascais centre in a quiet neighborhood, this exellent guest house offers great value for money. The place is even better than the website tells you. The hosts, Susana and Mario, is very friendly and helpful. Beautiful breakfast with fresh juice, homemade jam and small sweets. I stayed her for 5 nights participating on a congress in Cascais, and I can give my varmest recommendations.Very relaxed. Feels like staying at home!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terjpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Alquimia isn't your run of the mill B&B. The place oozes style and class. The building is a recently renovated villa from the sixties that looks like it could be the set of a Miami Vice episode. Lots of great little details, both in the rooms and in the common areas in- and outside the house. The owners are very friendly and welcomin. They provide a lot of information about Cascais and try to help you where they can. The breakfast deserves a special mention, especially the homemade pumpkin marmalade.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doncaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have spent 5 days in this marvellous place, where I went for a kite-surfing trip to the nearby beach of Guincho. The house is superbly rennovated, the great taste of Suzanna and Mario is evident from the first moment you set foot on the place. The service is excellent, these guys make you feel at home immediately. The cleanliness, the ambience, the services (such as super-fast, reliable wifi), the great breakfast, all constitute little details that make your stay a very enjoyable experience. I can confirm all the positive comments I have read from other visitors of the place, and I should also point out that while I had planned another week in the south of Portugal, I chose to return to Alquimia for another day, before leaving Portugal. And I was fortunate enough to find a room available! This is how nice a place this is!

Room Tip: Any of the 5 rooms is worth visiting, you are gonna wanna go there again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achilleas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This casa is wonderfull!!
The place decorated in tasteful,warm and cozy!!
Really clean and inviting!!
MARIO AND SUSANNA WERE really helpfull and made our trip much better with there recommendations.
Dont hesitate- RESERVE A ROOM..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at Alquimia for a couple days beginning of July. The place is new and apparently not so known yet. But no doubt Mario and Susana will soon be very busy and victim of the success.
Decorated personally by them, the rooms and living space are uncluttered and elegant with a touch of freshness and peace throughout the house. Breakfast was copious and delicious (specially home made jam). And more importantly the service was great. Mario and Susana have a true sense of hospitality and customer service, they are available and willing to help (advises, recommended spots, etc). Will go back for sure. Raul

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1 mi away
Casa Vela Guest House
Casa Vela Guest House
#1 of 42 in Cascais
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
1.2 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 18 in Estoril
491 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alquimia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alquimia Guest House

Address: Rua Engenheiro Jose Ulrich 13, Cascais 2750-629, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range: $57 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alquimia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 min walking from the town center, ocean and train station, a charming Guest House is opened in the coastal town of Cascais, Portugal. A traditional Portuguese villa from the 60's has been reconstructed and transformed into a cozy and contemporary home, with 5 suites and a pleasant outdoor leisure space. The desire to travel, to know new places, people and cultures, has always been one of our passions. This has led us to create a cozy and comfortable place that will make you feel at home while you discover and experience the best our region has to offer. From the furniture, which combines traditional and contemporary elements, to the small handcrafted decoration details, with items that have been repurposed, the idea of transformation is present. This philosophy gave rise to "Alchemy". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alquimia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing