We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food , good prices”
Review of Big Al's - CLOSED

Big Al's
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the historic centre of Cascais, we are a restaurant / sports bar that serves fresh homemade burgers and good North American inspired appies. We only serve fresh local foods. Friendly Canadian hospitality, cold beer, and greats eats with a variety of sports games broadcasted is always a good combination.
manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food , good prices”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went on Trip Advisor reviews , we were not dissapointed , good wholesome food , good portions, absolutely would recommend . Try it for yourselves

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7379selsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good choice and very nice place!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

It was simply great! We enjoyed a huge burger, that was really good and absolutely home made vegetables lasagna that was very tasty, but the best thing was absolutely creamy, soft and delicious home made coffee cheese cake!
We recommend this place because of very friendly hosting, nice atmosphere and place (after the meal you can enjoy little streets of Cascais) everything on the menu is home made, delicious and the prices are good too! Also portions are very big and you need to save the space for the cheese cake- definitely the best we have ever try! They have nice vines too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ausiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Friendly & relaxed”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had lunch at Big Al's and were not disappointed. Lovely burgers, very tasty with friendly atmosphere from the host. Great value too.
We will return before we leave Cascais.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best joint in town”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to try Big Al's after the raving reviews on ta. We were not let down. It's a great easy going restaurant with some fabulous food and some good ol' boys from Canada and the US running the place. It was great to have an easy conversation and good food a small feeling of home!!! I highly recommend it. Better than any of the main square touristy spots just a few blocks away!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trendy-Traveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

If you love burgers (the real thing), you can't miss it. I don't need 100 characters too say this: great burgers, great service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aqpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing