We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Craving a curry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal Restaurante Indiano & Italiano

Taj Mahal Restaurante Indiano & Italiano
Reserve with
Taj Mahal Restaurante Indiano & Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 524 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Cordial Welcome to You at ♥TAJ MAHAL♥ RestaurantWe look forward very much to welcoming all friends of the refined traditional Indian cuisine - and to everybody wishing to join - in our TAJ MAHAL restaurant.Our restaurant is named after the world-famous TAJ MAHAL monument in the Central-Indian city of Agra. Built by Great Mogul Schah Jahan as mausoleum for his beloved wife Mumtaz more than 370 years ago, this extraordinary building has gone down in the annals of history as "Palace of Love".With loving care, in remembrance and with appreciation of old traditions as well as with solicitous Indian hospitality, we would also like to spoil you in our TAJ MAHAL restaurant and tempt you to experience a dream world with wonderful flavours and exotic delicacies.Enjoy deliciously marinated and most tender Tandoori barbecue specialities with meat, fish and vegetables out of the original charcoal-clay oven Tandoor, a great variety of vegetarian dishes and traditional fine Indian cuisine with exquisite sauces and mixed spices in a stylish and comfortable atmosphere.Our menu will certainly get you already in the right mood to expect upcoming culinary delights.We will be glad to pay attention to all your individual wishes and requirements. Please let us know whether you would like your meal very hot ("hot as in India"), less hot or not hot at all or e.g. salt-free, should you be on a special diet.We are at your service 365 days a year and look forward very much to welcoming you soon.Enjoy your stay and thank you most sincerely - Yours, TAJ MAHAL team !
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Craving a curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

After over a week of, quite frankly, mediocre food we thought we'd give one of the numerous curry houses in Cascais a try.
We were not let down. A good tasty simple curry with attentive service. The waiter provided an extra side dish of green chilli sauce as we said we liked it hot. Garlic nan bread was great ( suspect it doubled as pizza base as the restaurant also did Italian food).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IjeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    93
    27
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Risotto massala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The combination of the Indian and Italian cuisine must be something typical to Cascais, because we saw at least two other places that have both pizzas and curries on offer. I can only comment on the Indian specialties of the Taj Mahal and those were more than adequate. The butter paneer was very tasty, as was the chicken jalfreezi. The chicken itself was a bit dry though. Oh and do order a lassi. You get about half a litre and it's yummy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doncaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We love Indian food and cannot resist trying an Indian restaurant when ever we visit a new town. I have to say we are often disappointed, however this restaurant was a gem, and we think it was the best Indian food we have ever had in Europe. I would go back again if I am ever back in Lisbon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hardyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food and banter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We noticed this restaurant, with its unusual combination of Indian and Italian cuisine, which suited my family's tastes.

The waiter was very chatty and we appreciated the fact that he advised us not to order too many naan and rice dishes, as the portions were big. He also asked if we liked spicy food and threw in an extra dip for the pakora, to test our palate.

The service was a little slow, but we were in no hurry. My wife's salmon was a little overdone and had different vegetables to those shown in the menu, but we all ate and were stuffed at the end.

Overall, a very good restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A good family meal, with lively banter from Mani.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We walked around Cascais saw an Indian flaunting the Trip Advisor badge, but the food didn't look that inviting( we had had Portuguese cuisine for four days). Mani said that they were recommended on trip advisor, we looked at the menu which was extensive also Italian meals were included. The food was not cheap although we did have quite a few drinks, but it was very good quality. We sat outside under the sunshades, it was a very hot week in Portugal rising into the upper 30's. The Chicken Jalfrezi and the prawn Rogan Josh were excellent. We were advised we were ordering too many Nans and too much rice, so we cut back our order. We left feeling very full indeed, I would have no qualms about recommending the Taj as I eat Indian food very often, probably my second favourite after Indonesian.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal Restaurante Indiano & Italiano also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Taj Mahal Restaurante Indiano & Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing