We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a magical location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oba Restaurante Obar!

Oba Restaurante Obar!
Ranked #200 of 525 Restaurants in Cascais
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Oba is up above the hustle and bustle of the main square in Cascais. It is a little tricky to get to, next to the Shabu Shabu Sushi and above the Sex Shop! But once you get up to the second floor of the building behind the Hotel Baia you will be rewarded with a beautiful space, great cocktails, fine food for all tastes including 14 vegetarian options. We will give you a warm welcome in a chic, understated alfresco environment. Oba!
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a magical location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Our second time there. First time for drinks, with a wonderful selection of cocktails. I had a Long Island Ice Tea, my wife a Carparinha, but what I liked about the location was the quiet terras overlooking the architectural beauties of Cascais. Really close to the central square, yet without the noise from the square. Also looking out over the beach and the historical center.

The second time we had dinner there. A good selection of Portugese and Brazilian influenced dishes. Also the recommendation on the wine selection was excellent. A relaxing atmosphere, great service, friendly staff, certainly worth another visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    34
    11
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oba!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I would like to thank all the staff for the wonderful meal, music, cocktails and enviroment!!!! Nice time and mix of portuguese and brasilian tasting :) I strongly suggest a visit to this place with a beautiful view of cascais! Have fun like I did!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita_Soromenho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I liked everything about this place: the owner is really nice, had a great cocktail, nice location in the midst of Cascais. And the food was also wonderful. I have been a vegetarian for 15 years and must say this was one of the better meals I've had in a long time. The presentation was really good and original and so was the taste. But no worries for carnivores, they also have meat (and fish) on their menu. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AniekHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Keeps Getting Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The owners' vision for this bar was far-reaching, and continues to come into focus. A recent return visit (and we do keep returning) was prompted by a glimpse from the street of something new on the second-floor terrace. This 'something' includes new sun shades, with the entire terrace furnished with sleek, dark dining sets and cushioned chairs and couches. Oba is classic, classy and drawing people in for relaxing conversations and imaginative drinks by the cheerful mixologist whom everyone knows after just one drink, for amazing bites and full meals, and because it offers unbeatable customer care and always great music. Easy to find, easy to enjoy, easy to put at the top of our list.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craigandmicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The reataurante is very well located. On the city center near the main points. It has a spectacular terrace overlooking to the main square and the sea.
The food is very good. It has the particularity to be possible to talk with the cooker and ask for something special if needed.
Drinks wonderful !!!... always something new to try...and different
The team is very friendly and is a great for socializing. Its local very good to do a private party or possibly a special dinner. The team is open to satisfied your wishes.
I sincerally recommend to those who passing by cascais .....
You will feel at home...very good in deed!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teresarsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oba Restaurante Obar! also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Oba Restaurante Obar!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing