We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel with amazing views!”
Review of Farol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Farol Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Although I didn't actually stay at this beautiful little hotel I did have a complete showround of the rooms and facilities and was very impressed.
We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant overlooking the sea - it was absolutely lovely, I could not fault anything - the best meal I had while in Portugal! The presentation and service were superb - this is the first time ever I have felt that I would take a picture of the food I was about to eat!
The bedrooms that I saw were lovely - very clean and comfortable and totally in keeping with the surroundings - very fresh and white with the most amazing views.
I can't wait to go back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your experience at the The Mix restaurant and visit to Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 826 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our expectations were more than met when we stayed at Farol Design Hotel, from the introduction to our Arkadia interior designed room with corner aspect to the Atlantic, the incredible terraces for relaxing,the bar, restaurants...the whole laid back modern and contemporary soft feel made it feel like an extension of home...with "family and guest's around for drinks"...it was that kind of relaxation, restful to in the extreme..but any quality of hotel is only as good as its staff...and every single one..from Pedro on the front desk to the young cabana lad who was experiencing his first day...just totally different class!..

Room Tip: The rear sea views although offering a fantastic sea aspect will also allow visitors to view them fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a beautiful little boutique hotel right beside the ocean (near the marina) in Cascais. We didn’t stay here and so cannot comment on the rooms. However, while walking by, my wife thought the property looked nice and so we thought we’d stop in for a drink. Little did we know that the drinks, view, and service would be so good that one drink would turn into many. :-) Our waiter/bartender, Riccardo, was the best part of the experience. He was extremely friendly, professional, efficient, and knowledgeable. The bar has a great gin and tonic menu with specialty gins, tonics, and extra ingredients. The beefeater 24 (Beefeater 24, 1724 tonic, fresh ginger, and honey) was delicious and refreshing, as was the Gin Mare with fever tree tonic, mint, and red currents (which Riccardo made off the menu). Also, upon learning that this was our first trip to Portugal and only our second night in the country, Riccardo made a special point of introducing us to some port wine styles and ages. We really had an unexpectedly fun and remarkable few hours at the Farol.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TexArcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear TexArcanada,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your visit at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I delayed few days to write this review as I did not want to add too much emotions regarding this terrible visit as my wife and I were very upset.
During our last visit to Portugal we ate at the restaurant of this hotel. From the restaurant and the pool area we could see the rooms, with nice terraces, facing the ocean that looked great and decided to stay one week end at this hotel in our next visit to Portugal.
So, we did and booked a room with an ocean view for 385€ per night, as we could not get a suite. We arrived on Friday a little after 2PM. Our room was not ready so we had lunch at the restaurant. Food was OK so as the service but champagne was warm.
After lunch we were taken to the BASEMENT to a very small room #104 facing some rocks where 30 m away there were some youngsters preparing a picnic. I rejected the room.
Tiago at the front desk said he was sorry but the only other room was on the 3rd floor. This one room 304 has a small window to the ocean. The room requires refurbishing has cheap furniture, cheap linings, terrible green décor. We also refused it. We came down saying that the room was not OK and not meeting the pictures on their site so, if not a good, clean and reasonably maintained ocean view room available we would leave.
Tiago was clear they would be charging me €770 anyway regardless if we would stay or not. Well, they did take a copy of my credit card and driving license on check in.

WE LEFT.
Needless to say that on such a sunny long week end in Cascais we could not find another hotel and were forced to drive back and stay in Lisbon. RUINED OUR WEEK END.

Credit card company was notified today by our company controller to refuse the €770 charge for the room already debited and of course accepted the €137 for the lunch charge.

WARNING: For what I have seen about 50% of the rooms in this hotel are in the basement or in level 3. The nice pictures on the site were taken on the new construction (presumably rooms starting with number 2, and do not reflect the reality of most of the rooms. If you do accept a basement room (starts with 1, and push -1 in the elevator), be prepared not only for a tiny room but with people staring at you from 30 m away and to have no privacy as adjacent rooms outside areas are simply divided by a small canvas.
On Monday Design Hotels where I made the booking sent me an email saying I would be contacted by the managing director in Portugal. Never happened.
Hotel is unsafe for children, especially if you stay in the basement rooms
I will keep tripadvisor posted on the development of this unfortunate event.

Room Tip: The only real ocean view rooms are on the first floor over the common areas. Reject the basement roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank 47carlosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We just spent five nights at this amazing hotel. We first stayed in 2006 and again in 2007 and it had been on the to do list again for a while, so finally we got there this year!
We requested a room with terrace and sea view and it was just Wow! Calming white and grey decor, large bathroom, lovely terrace with a view overlooking the sea with just a small strip of garden separating the terrace from the rocks below and the soothing sound of the waves breaking.
The general areas of this hotel are where you will find the designer touches, around nearly every corner there is something quirky to catch the eye. I reckon these areas are re done regularly as in the 3 times we have been here colour schemes and artworks have been different.
The bar is a lovely relaxing and comfortable space, serving a mean gin & tonic, perfect for a pre and post dinner drink.
We had dinner at 'The Mix' Restaurant on 2 occasions, it would be at the higher end of the price scale for Cascais, but worth every cent. The food is just amazing, the views over the sea sublime and the addition of a glass partition since we last stayed makes it possible to sit right out on the edge of the terrace when the weather is a bit cool for eating outside.
The pool area is lovely, comfortable sun loungers, towel service, bar and snack service, sea views, cool tunes emanating from the speakers dotted around the garden, set at just the right volume to make it just background music and not belting out europop!
This is a very special hotel, definitely an adults only destination as I think children would find little to amuse here. It oozes cool, calm and sophistication and it is certainly my piece of heaven by the sea.
We will definitely be back for visit number 4 in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sukiWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you for the 4th time to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I atended a friend's wedding at this hotel and had a terrible experience. I couldn't bellieve the bad attitude of Tiago the event planner towards the groms requests... This supose to be a 5 star hotel where you pay good money, therefore you should be treated accordingly!! This is a hospitality not hostility service... you should hire staff that is up to a 5 star service, clearly Mr. Tiago is not up for it... he was very rude and not acomodating at all.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Mr. Luis F,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding to your visit to our hotel. As soon as your feedback was received, the situation was immediately investigated within our team.
I have also spoken with the couple who got married in our hotel and they are extremely satisfied and gave us a wonderful feedback. I am proud to say that it has been a huge success, and I deeply regret that you as a guest do not feel the same.

Tiago, our Events Coordinator organizes several events, and the feedback is always highly positive, which makes us very proud of his work.

Hoping that your opinion of the Farol Hotel is not diminished, I would be very pleased to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ana Maria Tavares
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, just out of season, we arrived in the evening and were not that fond of our room as there was no terrace or balcony (I am a smoker). We were told that we could move in the morning, to leave our cases and they would do the rest - they did! No questions asked, I am sure we were given a better room too as we had sea view garden room!
The location is perfect, right on the waters edge, lots of space to hang out during the day by the pool, cool staff, all very friendly and accommodating.
The food is amazing, best breakfast in Europe so far! Sushi - perfect! Having such great restaurants, you would think the staff would not recommend places outside, but they do, and they know where to go!!
I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to chill for a few days!

Room Tip: The lower floors are good, the garden rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwalker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,252 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
564 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farol Hotel

Address: Avenida Rei Humberto II de Italia 7, Cascais 2750-800, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#8 Business Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $127 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Farol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the absolute waterfront of Cascais’s dramatic Atlantic coastline, Farol Hotel reflects the unique charm of the township. Delightful old-world houses and cobbled streets frame a graceful bay on Portugal’s spectacular Estoril Coast to tell the story of a bygone era. The capital, Lisbon and the international airport are an easy 35-minute drive along excellent roads. A local train also runs between the city and Cascais. Lisbon is served by full service and budget airlines from all the major European hubs, which include Frankfurt, Paris, London and Zurich plus Stockholm, and Moscow. Arrive fuss-free and in style at Lisbon International Airport with a pre-arranged Farol Hotel limousine to meet you and transfer the short scenic trip to Cascais. As a proud member of prestigious Design Hotels, Farol Hotel is a wonderfully eclectic composition of adventurous architecture that embraces a remodeled 19th century private mansion that was once owned by the Count of Cabral, together with unique contemporary additions. The result is an inspire union of the old and the new. The Farol Hotel has a non-smoking policy in all its areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farol Design Cascais
Hotel Farol Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing