We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view away from the crowd”
Review of Farol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Farol Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great view away from the crowd”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here in July for 5 days. The hotel is beautifully designed and furnished set on the edge of a low cliff with beautiful white sleek outdoor furniture dotted around the pool facing the Atlantic. Had cocktails at the bar and the food at Japanese restaurant. The best thing about the hotel is it is near enough to go into town or to the habour for decent restaurants, but far enough from the crowd. Once you get into the hotel it feels very removed from everything albeit it is the main route to a brilliant walk/cycle along the coast. The hotel provides a motorised bicycle and its great for long distance cycling. Recommend cycling all the way to Guincho Beach amazing scenic ride! And the beach is worth the effort (or lack of if you use the motorised bicycle). We got a room facing the Atlantic worth paying that extra for the view. Thumbs up for to room, service, food and drinks. Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuesday4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    222
    75
    30
    19
See reviews for
87
476
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Farol is in general a beautiful and stylish hotel with an amzing view and a nice surrounding (garden, terrace, pool, bar, resraurant). The breakfast selection was good and it was also no problem to get it half an hour earlier than the normal 07:30 AM (as we had a large event in the nearby Posada and needed to leave earlier). My second room was quite spacesous, comfy and clean. The staff at the hotel is outstanding. Everybody very friendly and helpful wherever they could.

But there are a few points that bothered me. As I said my second room, you can guess that there was something wrong with the first. Room no. 217 is actually more of a closet. The room is, I would guess, around 2 m x 3,5 m. A queensize bed, a wardrobe, a little table (not a desk!!!) and a minibar with the TV-set on top are stuffed into this tiny room. Between the Minibar and bed was not even nough room for me to lay open my suitcase. The bathroom fitted this size. Approx. 2x1 m including the shower. Washbowl with a diamter of maybe 30 cm, a toilet directly next ot it, so that the toilett paper was actually on the other side of the washbowl. No space for my toiletries and no hairdryer (as there was simply no space for it as well as I guess). The shower was really high-tech with a rain shower and various horizontal jets, but only separated by a shower curtain. And I think there is nothing more unhygienic than such a thing. But the worst of all was the smell. The room itself smelled musty and the bathroom stank out of the drain. Oh yeah - small as the room was it had a terrace probably 2,5 times the size of the room...
However, the next morning when I asked for another room, they were more than willing to provide one. Seems to me a bit like they were booked out with real rooms the first night and gave me this one. But since I was travelling with a bunch of colleagues I could compare...
Second thing is the price. think this place is overprized for what you get. Sofia G. said before she would rate it 3*. I do not agree with that but 4* would be my rating.
Overall seems the Farol has seen better times. Some carpertry in the corridors is terribly worn faded and in general the whole place looks a bit faded.
To make a long story short - with a bit of good will I could have rated it with four points here, but...

Room Tip: Don't let them give you room 217 and if you can, get a room with ocean or at least garden view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benson1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Close to Cascais center this is a perfect lacation to enjoy the region and start many activities from. Mountain biking Sea kayak quad and buggy tours.
Just 8 kms from Guincho beach wich you can easily reach by the beatiful bike lane. many interesting spots on the way (rock formations caves fortresses museums and the mighty atlantic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuinchoAdventours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I chose the restaurant in the hotel to celebrate my birthday because I am a huge sushi fan and there are no better sushi all over the world, than there. My expectations where not only met but far exceeded, as I tried the delicious scallops and absolutely unbelievable foie gras. I tried a lot in my life, have been all around the world, but The Mix Restaurant is for me now in top 5 restaurants on this planet. Service is excellent, you feel really welcomed and the view doesnt let you breathe calmly... really breath catching... Good job, Farol team, continue like that!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina Ley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I especially liked the restaurant and the bar, and the fantastic view over the atlantic. There are few rooms that make us feel a design hotel, important to choose the right room. The staff is five star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Xflatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Potteries
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Cascais has a number of comfortable and well-equipped hotels, but the Farol is unique. Located on the very edge of the Atlantic Ocean, alongside the iconic Santa Marta lighthouse, the Farol has an ambience and identity all of its own. It is centred around a late 19th century villa, originally built for an aristocratic Portugese family, with a bold, modernist extension. It is relatively small, with 33 rooms, each decorated individually. The hotel restaurant opens out onto a terrace, where you can enjoy the constantly changing sounds, sights and smells of the sea. In the grounds there are a sun terrace, saltwater pool and rock gardens. The overall effect is stunning.

The rooms are very comfortable (bathrobes and slippers are provided), the facilities are good, breakfasts offer a good range of fruit, pastries, cold meats and cooked options, and there is free wi-fi throughout. Hotel staff are friendly, responsive and helpful.

The hotel is only a short walk to the marina, local museums (including the Paula Rega Casa das Histórias), the park and the town centre. A walk in the opposite direction takes you to the spectacular Boca do Inferno (where the occultist Aleister Crowley once faked his own death by drowning) and along to the Casa da Guia, a pleasant, wooded clifftop enclave close to the Guia lighthouse.

We had a last-minute problem with our booking, which the hotel management pulled out the stops to solve, ensuring that we had a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday once we arrived. We have stayed at the Farol a number of times in the past, have already booked again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate-and-ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The place is extraordinary and the view to the sea is fantastic.
The hotel staff was very professional and warm.
The room was very good and although it is and old building the interior was well decorated and functional.

Room Tip: garden view is quiet and very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ruivinhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 39 in Cascais
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
560 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
536 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farol Hotel

Property: Farol Hotel
Address: Avenida Rei Humberto II de Italia 7, Cascais 2750-800, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#8 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Farol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the absolute waterfront of Cascais’s dramatic Atlantic coastline, Farol Hotel reflects the unique charm of the township. Delightful old-world houses and cobbled streets frame a graceful bay on Portugal’s spectacular Estoril Coast to tell the story of a bygone era. The capital, Lisbon and the international airport are an easy 35-minute drive along excellent roads. A local train also runs between the city and Cascais. Lisbon is served by full service and budget airlines from all the major European hubs, which include Frankfurt, Paris, London and Zurich plus Stockholm, and Moscow. Arrive fuss-free and in style at Lisbon International Airport with a pre-arranged Farol Hotel limousine to meet you and transfer the short scenic trip to Cascais. As a proud member of prestigious Design Hotels, Farol Hotel is a wonderfully eclectic composition of adventurous architecture that embraces a remodeled 19th century private mansion that was once owned by the Count of Cabral, together with unique contemporary additions. The result is an inspire union of the old and the new. The Farol Hotel has a non-smoking policy in all its areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farol Design Cascais
Hotel Farol Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing