We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star location but questionable 5 star in other areas”
Review of Farol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Farol Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“5 star location but questionable 5 star in other areas”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed here for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year. The location is 5 star perfect just on the edge of the town perched on the ocean front, with the sound of the Atlantic waves crashing on to the rocks outside our designer room. Although the hotel is family friendly, to well behaved children, the rooms with 3 beds were a little small. During our stay there was inconvenient construction noise and smells from an hotel extension program which looks as though it will go on for a few months. I had booked and paid for the accommodation 3 months in advance and was annoyed that I had not been forewarned about construction especially as they also worked on a Saturday! When I complained nicely to the staff, I was just given, the standard response of I will tell the manager. The staff are all beautifully presented, helpful and friendly unless there is a problem, ie no seats at breakfast, staff just ignored waiting customers instead of politely dealing with situation. 5 Star hotels should offer seamless service and in my opinion the staff could only cope when things were going well. We hired bikes from the hotel and it was lovely to bike into town and along the cycle and jogging paths outside the hotel. My daughter and I ate in the sushi bar and the sushi was some of the best I have ever experienced. Overall we had a good experience at the hotel but would question if black decor and funky lampshades merit 5 stars

Room Tip: Definately need a sea view room with balcony to fully enjoy this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawninwarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    222
    75
    30
    19
See reviews for
87
476
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

They had a big party with blasting going on in the bar just below our room until 3am! We were overcharged compared to the agreed Mr an Mrs Smith prepaid deal. They said they will investigate re the overcharge and call us back and the manager will call us re the lack of any sleep. They did neither of the above!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAURE_G950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife had the good idea of booking us at the Farol Design Hotel after going over a few web pages on seaside lodging near Lisbon. The idea was that we could get some rest after traveling 6 hours from Montreal, Canada before we took off for the Porto / Douro area.
What a surprise! This was a beautiful place, right on the edge of the ocean. So close in fact that the waves were breaking in front of our eyes and spreading a nice salted spray mist on the lower section of the terrace. Beauttiful ocean in front and a quiet pool in the back.
Service was super efficient especially around the pool. On our first day, we decided to have a glass of white wine with some appetizers. Wow! What a surprise! The assorted plate of cheeses, meats and fruits and nuts was so generous, the wine so relaxing that we just decided to savor the view and the food and bypassed dinner altogether.
The next day we ate at the hotel's restaurant and were quite happy with the fish we were served and the wine that they suggested. Breakfast was as nice and we were lucky to be able to have it outside, on the patio overlooking the ocean with just a pleasant breeze caressing us while we were having a nice double espresso.
Our room was nice and comfortable and even though it overlooked the front street rather than the ocean, the price was just right and reasonable.
Overall service was top notch. (The young lady at the front desk was nice enough to help me reconfigure my GPS as I had mistakenly chosen its language as Portuguese and I did not have a clue how to bring it back to English... I was not able to read one single word!)
A great place to go back to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,193 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Set overlooking the Ocean and near the Marina. Great location, lovely pool and surrounds set into the rocks. Marvellous. Nice restaurant, well presented food, open views of the kitchen. Professional staff, well versed in local wines. We liked it so much that we returned, very quickly. !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved it, beautiful setting, great pool with chill out atmosphere, original decoration, good breakfast overlooking the sea, good service. Our room had a garden directly overlooking the rocks and the sea.
We will repeat next time for sure!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridfromMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a week in Lisbon and Cascais.
Think Farol definitely is the best hotel to stay and Cascais was a lovely little place.
Friendly staff, spectacular view and a nice pool area. All in all.. Had a great stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_traveler0171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We are a family of four (adult children) who stayed four nights at Farol at the end of July. We stayed in the rooms with ocean views. We had a very nice stay at the hotel except for one experience. The location right on the ocean is wonderful, the services all through the hotel were excellent, the pool area with open ocean views and plenty of space for the guests is great and the restaurants are good. The rooms are a littel worn down. On our last night, there was a big wedding party in one of the hotel's buildings. The disco music was loud and continued non-stop until after 5 am in the morning. As a consequence, many guests were quite upset in the morning because of a bad night's sleep. Before departure, we wrote a complaint via email to the manager which the reception acknowledged receipt of at our departure. Despite a reminder we have heard nothing from the manager. The wedding party was undoubtedly good for the hotel's short term income, however, it is poor judgment by the manager to allow such noise and it is bad management to ignore complaints. The hotel wants to be a luxury hotel but with the present management, it is not. Had it not been for the manager, the service would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
561 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
536 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farol Hotel

Property: Farol Hotel
Address: Avenida Rei Humberto II de Italia 7, Cascais 2750-800, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#8 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Farol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the absolute waterfront of Cascais’s dramatic Atlantic coastline, Farol Hotel reflects the unique charm of the township. Delightful old-world houses and cobbled streets frame a graceful bay on Portugal’s spectacular Estoril Coast to tell the story of a bygone era. The capital, Lisbon and the international airport are an easy 35-minute drive along excellent roads. A local train also runs between the city and Cascais. Lisbon is served by full service and budget airlines from all the major European hubs, which include Frankfurt, Paris, London and Zurich plus Stockholm, and Moscow. Arrive fuss-free and in style at Lisbon International Airport with a pre-arranged Farol Hotel limousine to meet you and transfer the short scenic trip to Cascais. As a proud member of prestigious Design Hotels, Farol Hotel is a wonderfully eclectic composition of adventurous architecture that embraces a remodeled 19th century private mansion that was once owned by the Count of Cabral, together with unique contemporary additions. The result is an inspire union of the old and the new. The Farol Hotel has a non-smoking policy in all its areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farol Design Cascais
Hotel Farol Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing