We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Bicuda Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oitavos(Cascais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Equador(Cascais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel da Vila(Cascais)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
133
104
22
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
104
22
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini marketbedroom villaself cateringlaundry servicenice studiosmall convenience storevillas are privately ownedguincho beachkids playgroundexcellent bakerylovely villalidl supermarketcascais town centreswimming poollisbon airportshort stayquiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 269 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2010

very nice laid-out resort with 2 nice swimming pools, but not much else to occupy 4 teenagers, and with lots of little children around they got frustrated at times. We had a T3 villa, which was very roomy, but minimalist. Lots of annoying ommisions to the kit, like 2 small saucepans and a dish for self-catering 6 hungry people! No milk in the tiny 'welcome'pack, so get some before you arrive. We had to buy everything like cleaning cloths and liquids,matches. Again,given the level (4*) this property aspires to, this was unnecessary and annoying.The upstairs verandah had no chairs to sit out on, so we had to drag chairs up from downstairs.
The maid service is daily, and excellent.
There is no washing machine, only a dishwasher. this is really incomprehensible, given the target market (families with young kids) of the resort, and that leaves folk 2 options: either pay expensively to use the dry-cleaners/ laundry onsite; or hand wash and hang stuff indoors ( you are not allowed to hang anything outdoors, so everything takes a while to dry... be warned. There is a tiny rack-thing to hang clothes on, but try washing out swimgear for hefty teenage boys and hanging it on that!!!!)
The supermarket is well-stocked but really expensive. If you have a car, there is the Jumbo store and Continente in Caiscais.
The noise levels are high at this resort, because of having so many little children there, so it would be disappointing for a couple seeking a quiet relaxing break.
All in all, this was a pleasant resort, great for touring the area, but a car is a must.
Another plus, is you get the chance to mix with other nationals, as ther are very few Brits: mostly Portuguese and Scandinavians.
Our enthusiasm for Vila Bicuda is rather muted by the irritating lack of attention to detail, which would have made the resort so much more appealing, in our eyes.

If you just want a beach/sun/pool type holiday in Portugal, and don't mind where you go, then there are similar resorts of a much better standard and quality, for the same cost, elsewhere. We stayed at Quinta da Encosta Velha , one of the Vigea resorts last year, and it was in everyway superb, better equipped,more character, than Vila Bicuda.
I would recommend Vila Bicuda to a friend, but only if they really wanted to visit this area of Portugal, otherwise there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scottieAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We had'nt hired a car. my daughter took public transport from the Airport which is not to be reccomended.My wife and I took a Taxi. The driver agreed that the fare would be Euros 35 but on arrival it had gone up to Euros 49. The rooms are large and well furnished with aTV with a few English channels. The kitchen is top class with a dishwasher (tablet provided daily) Fridge/freezer 6ft +. The terrace was facing the swimming pool but separated from adjacent villas by hedges which afforded visual privacy. Good lighting allows the reading of books outside at night . Very little noise in the evening and none after 10.30. Great little mini-market and Italian restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReaderNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Vila bicuda is an impressive complex of villas, a substantial amount of them are privately owned so the resort is largely occupied by the portuguese who use the villas as holiday homes on the coast. the complex is around 10 minutes drive to the bustling town of cascais, there are a few geographical sites to see nearby such as boca d'inferno and various others, a journey up to sintra is quite hair raising- sintra can be seen from the complex on the mountainside looming in the distance, often covered with a blanket of cloud. The maid service was exceptional, even down to the finest detail of folding your pyjamas beautifully! the villa we had was a one storey 2 bedroom, with spacious living/dining area and kitchen utility, the 2 bathrooms were also wonderful, the outside space around the villas is exceptional, with wonderful terraces to sit out on!.
We went to the pool once, there are 2 pools in the complex, I didnt find the situation of them that appealing as you have to almost walk through other peoples villa property to get down to them, there arent many private places around the pool.

The complex has a newspaper/magazine shop which stocks alot of items from around the world, also there is a bakery which does lovely cakes and bread and also a very handy supermarket.
Staff are friendly, perhaps not too great at english, but I wouldnt say this area is too highly touristy, so expect alot of portuguese people who don't understand english fully!

If you want to pay more for your own private piece of proper comfort, then these villas are worth it! The complex restaurant is pretty pricey so avoid it if you want to save money on dinner, there are nice restaurants in cascais.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This is not really an hotel by a resort that is partially exploited as an hotel. There are a number of 'villa's' (in fact they are attached or semidetached) houses and some studio's. We made the mistake of booking a studio. These are situated round a square and don't have enough privacy. After one night we paid for an upgrade and moved to a villa and this was excellent. Lots of space, large living room, terras, separate kitchen, large bedroom with balcony....everything in excellent shape and clean. We stayed here in April, and the resort was very quiet, but I can imagine that during summer holiday thing may get more noisy, as the houses and terrasses are attached.
One thing you have to keep in mind. The location is not ideal and a in my opinion a car is a necessity.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Just back from a 9 night stay in a Vila Bicuda 2 bed house - not directly owned by the resort. The complex is extremely clean, and very well attended to. Each of the two pools has it's own attendant cleaning, tidying, putting out sun lounger cushions (and picking them up again when they blow away). There is an Italian restaurant open in the evenings while a cafe serves hot/cold food and drinks all day, and the waiters are pleasant without being intrusive - unlike some in Cascais town who bombard you with their opinions once they have you sitting down..
The pools were very quiet during the week, though the local owners seemed to arrive for the weekend. Still, there was never a problem getting a lounger, and lots of room to play or swim in the pool. It is ideal for kids with 2 pools, cafe, mini market, small playground and lots of green area to run around. Very quiet at night, so again ideal for families with younger kids.
A taxi to Cascais town is approx €5, and is well worth going into for a bite to eat or a wander around - small but pretty town. CascaiShopping centre just outside the town is massive and has a huge supermarket for stocking up if you are self catering.
Overall, we have a great time in Vila Bicuda, and while we tend not to go to the same place twice, I would certainly consider this as an option in future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corkboy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews