We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Bicuda Resort
Nearby Hotels
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$180
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$372
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Cascais(Cascais)(Great Value!)
$121
$106
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$347
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saboia Estoril Hotel(Estoril)(Great Value!)
$151
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
133
104
22
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
104
22
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini marketbedroom villaself cateringlaundry servicenice studiosmall convenience storevillas are privately ownedguincho beachkids playgroundexcellent bakerylovely villalidl supermarketcascais town centreswimming poollisbon airportshort stayquiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 269 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2008

we booked our holiday with travel republic .co.uk and were very impressed with vila bicuda as a holiday destination and would thoroughly reccomend it to anyone who wants a holiday with all mod cons, spotlessly clean accomodation and everything you need in the one place. You do however need to hire a car if you wnt to see the local area. There is a lovely restaurant on site also a really nice coffee shop and cake shop.The swimming pools are of a high standard and we did not find any problem finding a sunbed even when the complex was at over 95% occupancy.We honestly had a fantastic holiday .well done vila bicuda!10 out of 10.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank davralin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Just returned from a week at Vila Bicuda which was booked direct.

Stayed in a studio apartment, set off the main square in the central complex, but having a balcony opening onto gardens. Other studios were nearby, or on the 1st floor above the complex, and I would recommend the ground floor studios.This was very convenient for the coffee shop (superb cakes and bread), which we used every day. The shop stocked most essentials at a little above town prices.

Apartment was very clean, kitchen has good quality fridge, oven, cutlery and crockery, but basic cooking utensils. Large TV had UK news channels.

Grounds were excellent, with 2 large pools with changing facilities (but very cold). Italian restaurant was average and expensive, and only went there once. Very high class clientelle, good mix of nationalities and no tattoos/ football shirts on display!

Car hire is essential as the location, whilst quiet, is too far from the town to walk.

Cascais is a small town with a few small beaches, but there are better beaches along the coast to Lisbon. Driving was no problem, and taking the frequent train from Cascais to Lisbon was easy and cheap. Parking in town can be difficult, but found street and underground parking near the station most days.

Sintra is a good day out, and the Columbo shopping centre in Lisbon is very large. There is a very good park and museum near to Cascais marina which is well worth visiting, and free.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredd377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Just returned from 1 week at Vila Bicuda, travelling with my boyfriend and 3 year old daughter and we had an absolutely lovely time.

It is definately the kind of place that you would love if it suits you and your holiday plans. We wanted quite an independent holiday staying in a villa with all home comforts, from which we could do a mixture of sightseeing, lying on the beach, bit of culture, nice food and drink, looking round the local towns and villages with the odd hour or two by the pool.

If you want a beach or pool holiday at a lively resort, you would get bored here in a few days. If you are without children and want easier access to nightlife I would recommend staying in the centre of Cascais at one of the hotels or B&B's.

It was however, completely perfect for us.

We hired a car which if you want to look round the area is absolutely essential. It was the first time we had so we were quite reluctant, but were glad we did as it was just so easy, everywhere is extremely well signposted and the roads are good and really quiet. W we drove to Cascais, Guincho, Sintra, Mafra, Queluz, Lisbon city centre and to the Airport all with absolutely no problem.

At night though, we abandoned the car and used the local cheap taxis. You are about 3-4km from the centre of Cascais town which worked out at 4.5 euros in a taxi. Every night we went to reception and they ordered a taxi which miraculously appeared 2 minutes later and took us there in a matter of minutes. There are 2 taxi ranks in the centre of town which are always full every day of the week throughout the day and night so it was never a problem getting back.

One night we got a taxi to the train station and got the train to Lisbon. It takes 25 minutes and they run every 15 mins until 1am. We did this with no problem at all and had a very enjoyable evening out at Clube de Fado (recommened by the extremely helpful Vila Bicuda reception staff - I emailed them in advance and they replied immediately with lots of helpful information).

In regards to our Villa, we had a beautifully spacious T2 which is the 2 bedroomed villa.

Downstairs you walked into a large hallway, going off was a lovely, well equipped kitchen and a downstairs bathroom. Through from the hallway was the living / dining area which had a 6 seating dining table and 2 large and extremely comfortable sofas. Large plasma style TV with good choice of channels. Terrace with table and 4 chairs which overlooked the pool but still felt secluded and caught the sun all day.

Upstairs was 2 huge bedrooms with King Size beds and all the wardrobe space you could ask for. Both were en-suite. The master of the 2 bedrooms was slightly larger (it didnt need to be though) with built in dressing table, double sinks in the bathroom and TV.

Overall, the villa felt extremely spacious and roomy and very comfortable in a luxurious easy kind of way. We could not of asked for more.

The pool area was lovely with a large shallow area perfect for children to splash around in and was extremely safe, my daughter loved it. There was a large graduated deeper section perfect for older children and adults. Sun loungers round the pool extremely comfy too!!

On site is a bakery (absolutely gorgeous pastries and croissants), mini supermarket, bar, laundry, newsagents, childrens club (we never found time to use it but it looked good, well equipped and safe), Italian restaraunt and the reception.

The Italian restaraunt we only ate at once when we were in a rush to go out to see a travelling circus (a real laugh if you get the chance). I would say the food is average, is rather overpriced and the service was quite poor. There are so many good restaraunts in town you wouldn't bother eating here anyway unless you really had to.

Some of the other reviewers mentioned the service around Vila Bicuda. For us, the area we wanted good service was the reception and they were excellent. They let us check in early with no problems and all transactions were extremely smooth. They did their best to answer every enquiry helpfully and provided us with lots of information, from taxis, train timetables, eating in Cascias to parking in central Lisbon. They were really fantastic and made up for the fact that I didn't get a big smile and a nod from the pool attendant either as per a previous reviewer.

We encountered a wide range of people whilst away, from locals in the town enjoying themselves along the front and in the restaruants, along with a smattering of Engligh, Spanish, German and Scandanavian. Most though were other Portugese on holiday. You can get by easily on English as aside from Portugese this is the most widely spoken.

The restaruants in town are lovely and there are lots of differents streets and squares you can sit out in, including the marina, the main square in town and a beach front. Best value was Bar Iberico in the main square which was nice food and good value.

Overall I would really recommend it as a perfect holiday, as long as its what you are looking for. You really couldnt ask for better.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izzyfizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Vila Bicuda is a sort of hotel where you can cook your own breakfast and have the luxury of having a little villa at your disposal. We stayed in a one bedroom villa, sleep four. Downstairs there is plenty of space for the kids to play, an independent kitchen and direct access to the garden and pool.

The pool is perfect for children, since there is a big extension of shallow surface. You can have a swim on the other side of the pool.
It is very convenient to have a car so that you can have access to a lot of different activities around: for instance, go to the beautiful beaches in Guincho and Sintra coast, trekking in the Sintra mountain, shopping in Cascais, sighseeing in Lisbon and Sintra or playing golf in one of the many golf courses around.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MilaPrimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Great base for exploring the region. Lovely villa complex which perfectly combines the freedom of having your own villa with the convenience and comforts of a hotel. Ours was a spacious 2 bed villa, 2 ensuite bedrooms and a downstairs loo, large living area and fully equipped kitchen. (although would have been nice to have a welcome pack of at least kitchen items) Widescreen TV downstairs and smaller TV in master bedroom .The patio looked onto the pool area, but was shielded from neighbours by trellis and thick planting. Very clean, the cleaners came in a group of about 4 and blitzed the villa in about 15 minutes, and always when it suited us, made the beds, loaded the dishwasher and cleaned the floors throughout


The complex has two large pools, which are cleverly divided into a safe shallow area and a deeper swimming area. Plenty of sunbeds with umbrellas and towels provided free of charge. Also onsite is an Italian restaurant, (we went twice, charming staff, reasonable prices) snack bar/coffee shop/bakery (we had breakfast there everyday) and a very well stocked supermarket with butchers, although a tad pricey compared with outside, was very convenient. Bar open in the evening served cocktails as well as other drinks. 24 hour reception if you needed it. (Very helpful –, let us check into villa early as we had an early flight, extra pillows delivered in about 10 minutes)

Some of the villas are privately owned and there was a nice mix of Spanish, Portuguese, Irish and a smattering of English families, but everyone did tend to keep themselves to themselves. This suited us, but may not everyone! You do need a car if you want to do anything other than lounge by the pool as it’s away from the main Cascais centre (although apparantly there is a bus) where are lots more restaurants and shops, and about 10 minutes drive to the nearest beach. There is a golf course, tennis courts and spa complex within 10 minutes walk.

This is a place to stay if you are used to travelling independently, not if you need a rep or lots of other English families to amuse you! Very safe and spacious for small children and there is a kids club and play area onsite There are beautiful beaches and amazing historical sites at Sintra and Lisbon within 20 minutes drive.

8  Thank Boostie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews