We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most delicious Indian Food EVER!”
Review of Mayura

Mayura
Reserve with
Mayura is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 543 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Wilton Manors, FL
1 review
“Most delicious Indian Food EVER!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We went to find a little food late at night just down the street from our hotel. The amber lights in the window with their warm glow were inviting. The server was all smiles. We attempted to order specifics from the menu, but our waiter persuaded us to let them prepare 5 dishes for the 5 of us. We said 'please not too spicy'.
Without any comparison even remotely close, this meal was the most DELICIOUS Indian food we have ever tasted! Each dish had it's own distinct taste. Flavorful and fresh. Each bite i could not believe was so tasty!
For dessert we had 3 different kinds of homemade ice cream. Very different from standard ice cream. I was partial to the Mango variety.
As we were finishing up, and it was late, the place was still being seated with new customers. Obviously this place in a well known secret in Cascais.
Oh, and the price was way less than we expected...
Highly recommended!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noodlesonjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    47
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb Indian Food!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

As good an Indian restaurant we have eaten in anywhere! The food was delicately spiced. We selected medium hot and 4 dishes that included rogan josh, chicken in tomato and onions, shrimp and aloo gobi. Owner and waiter provided excellent and friendly service. Really enjoyable evening and break from Portuguese food. Being away from main tourist area was a positive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went for a meal here one night. It was such a good meal and the staff were so friendly and helpful that we returned twice more. The food didn't disappoint on the 2nd and 3rd visit - just as good. I recommend this restaurant if you are in Cascais

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jahoorb b, Owner at Mayura, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your time and effort you have taken for commenting.
Always a pleasure to serve guest like you and hope to serve you in future.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A really nice meal”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited the Mayura this week as we were passing through Cascais. My wife and I enjoyed excellent and very tasty main courses. The person who served us could easily have sold us twice as much rice, but he guided us to having a shared portion - which was ample and the accompanying nan bread was also lovely.

We were really impressed by the quality of the food, the very fair pricing and by the cleanliness and hospitality of the staff.

The restaurant has a character all of its own, incorporating bright colours yet managing not to overwhelm the customer. We hope we get the chance to eat here again in the future.,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raikeswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jahoorb b, Owner at Mayura, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
thank alot for all you have writen for my place it was my pleasure to serve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Indian Place!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are looking for great Indian Food then this is the place!!!! The decor of the restaurant is warm and inviting. The staff is spectacular! They are full of suggestions, and will help you find that special dish you are looking for. We brought our children to dinner as well, and they went out of their way to keep them happy. The food came out and it was delicious!!!! We live in Cascais and we will be back for our weekly Indian Food Fix!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethE509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayura also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Mayura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing